Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Two CD Edition
I have to admit that, when I first came across this on Amazon, I thought someone was taking the mick. But, no, it really is 'No Pussyfooting' played at different speeds and backwards.

The track listing is not very clear, so let's try and clarify it a bit.

CD 1 has got:

1 The Heavenly Music Corporation (20.52)
2 Swastika Girls...
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by Diziet

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Experimental
Eno has done a hell of a lot of better stuff than this since and although perhaps a landmark in experimental music it wasn't as far as I'm concerned more than a blind alley. Or hall of mirrors.
Published 4 months ago by P. A. Nethercott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Two CD Edition, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Diziet "I Like Toast" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (2 Cd) (Audio CD)
I have to admit that, when I first came across this on Amazon, I thought someone was taking the mick. But, no, it really is 'No Pussyfooting' played at different speeds and backwards.

The track listing is not very clear, so let's try and clarify it a bit.

CD 1 has got:

1 The Heavenly Music Corporation (20.52)
2 Swastika Girls (18.58)
3 The Heavenly Music Corporation (reversed) (20.52)

And CD 2:

1 The Heavenly Music Corporation (half speed) (41.49)
2 Swastika Girls (reversed) (18.54)

So, does messing about with these two classic electronica tracks work? Does it add anything?

I have to say that I first heard 'No Pussyfooting' when it came out in 1973 and I have been listening to it ever since, so I do know both pieces very well.

'Swastika Girls' backwards (CD2, track 2) is very similar to Swastika Girls forwards. The differences are mainly subtle, being the reversal of the attack and decay (obviously). In one or two places, where the original attack was pronounced, it's quite scary, almost animalistic. But, overall, it doesn't really add very much.

'The Heavenly Music Corporation' at half speed (CD2, track 1) is more interesting. Again, it does get quite scary and I'm sure there are loads of sub-sonics there. Certainly, I could feel the vibrations through the floor. It becomes much more solid, like sonic icebergs, or sound volcanoes. Fripp's guitar still slides over the top, but kind of comes across as, well, elephantine. Elegantly elephantine. It definitely feels like there is an aural elephant in the room. After listening to it, the original (CD1, track 1) sounds positively skittish.

'The Heavenly Music Corporation' reversed (CD1, track 3) starts out sounding remarkably like the morphing monster from John Carpenter's 'The Thing'. But, after a while, it settles down and sounds quite affective. It reminded me a bit of Phil Manzanera's 'Lagrima', from his 'Diamond Head' album. Overall it does sound pretty much the same as played forward. But there are enough little differences to make me keep listening. It's kind of a subtle re-interpretation of the original.

So, overall, the most 'interesting' track is 'The Heavenly Music Corporation' (half speed). But it's hard work. And, honestly, I don't think any of these versions improve on the originals sufficiently to really make it worth it.

If you do not already have the original two tracks, buy this as it contains the originals plus these 're-interpretations'. If you already have the originals, well, it's up to you. I mean, they're interesting but I'm not sure how often they'll get played. The originals get five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the Fripp do Eno, 7 Oct 2008
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (2 Cd) (Audio CD)
I agree with much that has been said about the excellence of this album but surely Amazon have scored 1 star agian for lumping all the old reviews for the original CD version of this album into the page for this new version. I looked this up to try to get a handle on the "reversed" and "half speed" versions that are included in this 2 CD edition. Sadly there does not seem to be any.

To my ears the half speed version of Heavenly Music Corporation is very heavy and dense. You will not want to play this on anything that can not cope with very deep bass sounds. The reversed Swatsika Girls version sounds very similar to the forwards version. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fripp and eno: THE heavenly music co.!, 31 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (Audio CD)
1973's 'no pussyfooting' is a classic example of two artists at the top of their respective games collaborating to create something magnificent.
in this case it was king crimson guitarist robert fripp (inventor of the famous 'frippertronics' technique) and brian eno, legendary roxy music synthesizer twiddler.
it's a majestic minimalist experiment that has little or no concern with the typical elements of rock. no rhythm section and no vocals, just a black gibson les paul guitar and some machines. it's ice-cold, eerie, sophisticated cover photo gives clues to the music within.
the entire album consists of two side-length pieces, entitled 'the heavenly music corporation' and 'swastika girls'. 't.h.m.c' is a grand, sweeping piece that shows off the stark contrast between the two artists. it's like hot and cold: the icy, relentless pulsing of eno's revox tape reels and synths, and the dense, earthy rumble of fripp's extended solos. it's stunning.
at first, 'swastika girls' seems like a bit of a let down compared to the last twenty minutes, but it's not. again, the contrast is startling. eno's synths glitter and sparkle like the sun on water, twinkling until the last second. fripp's gibson enters quietly after around seven and a half minutes, building in intensity until it sounds like the turbo-charged turbine engine we heard on the first track.
admittedly, the thought of an album with only two tracks each lasting twenty minutes and being entirely instrumental puts a lot of people off. i know that my parents and my mates hate this album, and that a lot of people dismiss this kind of music as wallpaper music, but i was stunned by it straight away. i love 'no pussyfooting' and you need only listen to a few seconds of the middle section of track one (the part where fripp almost paraphrases hendrix at woodstock '69) to know that this is anything but background.
'no pussyfooting' is apparently not the easiest cd in the world to get hold of, but it is well worth seeking it out, as is fripp & eno's second effort, 'evening star', which follows in the same formula but is a bit more concise.
five stars, without a doubt. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking ambient guitar soundscape record, 18 Jan 2007
This review is from: No Pussy-Footing (Audio CD)
Eno and Fripp developed a tape loop feedback system to apply to the guitar work of Robert Fripp. This recording shows the system off to its maximum potential and consists of two long tracks that explore a soundscape entirely invented by their unique musical talents. Swooping guitar sounds combine with synthesised textures in what can sometimes begin to feel very dense. There is a lot of detail in the treatments as well and these maintain the listeners interest. Despite the age of the record it does bear repeated listenings and my copy gets a regular airing at home. An essential Fripp & Eno recording and one of the better examples of Fripp's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic., 9 Dec 2008
By 
Ted Maul "Ted Maul" (Cowsick) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (2 Cd) (Audio CD)
Robert Fripp and Brian Eno, both pioneers of slightly left-of-centre music in the 1970s, collaborated on this in 1973. All it consists of, in layman's terms, is Fripp playing guitar and Eno manipulating the tapes. It, along with the slightly less fashionable Tangerine Dream's Phaedra, is one of the major ambient releases of the 70s, and paved the way for Eno to record classics like Ambient 1: Music for Airports and the especially beautiful Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks. This particular reissue is extended to a second disc,and contains slightly different versions of the two tracks (Heavenly Music Corporation & Swastika Girls)that made up the original album.An exemplary remaster provides excellent sound for what was essentially a low-fi recording. One slight negative though-no sleevenotes. It would have been nice to hear Fripp & Eno's perspective on this 35 years on. Essential nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music!, 10 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: No Pussy-Footing (Audio CD)
I have never been a big fan of ambient music, but this was absolutely incredible... the long, low slides at the end of the album made my speakers rattle... I recommend this music whole heartedly to anyone interested in ambient or electronic music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars was great, now even better, 10 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (2 Cd) (Audio CD)
I bought No Pussyfooting on vinyl many, many moons ago and struggled, but sticking with it learned to love it. This CD 'of the same name' is even better with extra bonus tracks, Slowed down and backwards,the idea of that making me smile.But it works well.Eno can do little or no wrong as far as I'm concerned, and Rob Fripp's guitar whistles and cry's beautifully. Relax and let No Pussyfooting wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking ambient guitar soundscape record, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Pussy-Footing (Audio CD)
Eno and Fripp developed a tape loop feedback system to apply to the guitar work of Robert Fripp. This recording shows the system off to its maximum potential and consists of two long tracks that explore a soundscape entirely invented by their unique musical talents. Swooping guitar sounds combine with synthesised textures in what can sometimes begin to feel very dense. There is a lot of detail in the treatments as well and these maintain the listeners interest. Despite the age of the record it does bear repeated listenings and my copy gets a regular airing at home. An essential Fripp & Eno recording and one of the better examples of Fripp's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublime experience...there's an x factor here that cant be missed., 30 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. S. R. Dhain "shekhardhain" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (2 Cd) (Audio CD)
This album is groundbreaking on many levels. This is mainly down to the first "track", the heavenly music corporation, which is almost palimpsest-like, in that the reverse and slow speed incarnations are both here (there are explainations given as to why..chortle away at the history), and its the same piece of music...yet it sounds different enough to warrant inclusion.

Being a composer/producer, I noticed a sizeable difference in the audio quality of this master compared to the previous incarnation of the album. Everything is crisper, and more punchier, WITHOUT losing the ambient remit which this album perhaps inadvertantly ended up setting (eno's truer ambient works started later). Swastika girls is more raucous and simmery/ glittery depending on your auditory/ kinasthetic disposition, and quite a volte-face to the first "track". It still works well, but isnt so immediately accessible. There's more trickery here, and obvious overdubs, compared to the first, which was just the dual revox and pedalboard set-up.

24 bit mastering, coupled with lots of extra tracks, track markers/indents to make it easy to get to your faveourite parts, crisp repackaging...every boy needs this album. Especially if your an affecianado of electronica AND guitarwork.

Classless, if no longer peerless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stranger, experimental, but very GOOD., 11 July 2014
This review is from: No Pussyfooting (2 Cd) (Audio CD)
One of the strangest albums ever released by rockers. Like its predecessor Evening Star, No Pussyfooting is a icy funeral masterpiece. The tone of the music is dismal, a tangle of loops from high level volume guitars and frozen synthesizers bent to the fullest until the reach of the goal: in a minimalist sound. Many called the songs start of ambient music. The result is not quite confusing, and it can be said that the union between the two musicians was something that could be imagined, in view of the experimentalist touch the discography of both. Interesting the option to listen to music from a slower tempo and one another reverse tape. The perspective is the same in the end. Mandatory for fans of King Crimson and Brian Eno's solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Pussyfooting
No Pussyfooting by Brian Eno (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews