Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Impulse (now check the 2002 remaster/live edn.)
What can be said of Coltrane's transcendent 'A Love Supreme' that hasn't already been spoken or written? A great deal, I'm sure. But first you have to enter its extraordinary sound world. That is by far the most important thing: to take the suite on its terms, and to be prepared to alter your expectations and presuppositions accordingly. For, as Robert Fripp would put it,...
Published on 2 Dec 2002 by Simon Barrow

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointed!
Cam just as i expected but in my opinion it is a little over rated but obviously this is to my tastes
Published 15 months ago by MR J E EVANS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Impulse (now check the 2002 remaster/live edn.), 2 Dec 2002
By 
Simon Barrow (Exeter, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Love Supreme (Audio CD)
What can be said of Coltrane's transcendent 'A Love Supreme' that hasn't already been spoken or written? A great deal, I'm sure. But first you have to enter its extraordinary sound world. That is by far the most important thing: to take the suite on its terms, and to be prepared to alter your expectations and presuppositions accordingly. For, as Robert Fripp would put it, it is a music that invites you into its presence. It is there way before you are. And its transformation of jazz is still not finished.
As most reading this will know, the studio version is tracked by a full live rendition (issued independently on CD in 2000) from the Antibes jazz festival 1965. You need to check that out too, and the remastered Impulse recordings -- based on new master tapes released in October 2002 -- are perhaps the best place to begin. But you might be intrigued by this, dense compressed version, which is all we had from the studio until more recently.
Wherever you start, 'A Love Supreme' still retains the capacity to surprise, entice and delight even the most over-taxed ears; surely a true testimony to its greatness. Winnowing sax, uncomplicated melodic sophistication, subtle modal delights, percussive ingenuity (not just from the drummer) and a spirit of blazing but well-tempered spiritual passion make these inter-twining tracks what they are: wholly entrancing.
To add to the delight of discovery there is also a new book which helps to fill in the background to the album, the era that witnessed its birth and the creative force behind it. ‘A Love Supreme: The Creation of John Coltrane’s Classic Album’ by Ashley Kahn (Granta Books 2002 (ISBN: 186207545X), has a Foreword by percussion legend Elvin Jones. It is full of information and insight, of course. But it is best to begin with those magical notes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still supreme after all these years., 30 Nov 2004
By 
R Jess "Raymond Jess" (Limerick, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Love Supreme (Audio CD)
It's a testament to John Coltrane's artistic vision that a piece of uncomprimising music such as a 'A Love Supreme' can be heard for the universalism it stands for. Recorded in a studio in New Jersey in late 1964, Coltrane had spent a week alone in a room in his house away from his wife and children. During that time of contemplation and isolation, he put pen to paper to bare his soul to God and the essence of 'A Love Supreme' was born. I don't think it was a coincedence that at the time this album was recorded in the mid-60's, a new philosophy of spirituality and peace & love began to prevade popular music in general. The Church of St. John Coltrane still resides in that bastion of hippiedom San Francisco.
The music on the album itself is powerful not just for Coltrane's playing itself but also for the fanatical interplay of the quartet. 'Acknowledgement' opens with Garrison's passionate bass line, leading into Coltrane's dynamic and ingenious playing, the quartet's spirited performance like a fervant, untamed emotion that has gripped them all. 'Resolution' blazes from the record with Tyler burnishing the track with some brilliant playing of his own. Jones's frantic drumming comes to the fore on the opening of 'Pursuance', a track where the meaning of 'Chasin' The Trane' becomes self-evident as Garrison, Tyler and Jones follow in hot pursuit of their leader's furious joy. Tyler's playing is again compelling as the quartet trade notes with such alarming velocity before Garrison's bass tip-toes and leads us like the pied-piper to the concluding 'Psalm'.
It's refreshing in this day and age to hear an artist whose sincerity and integrity shines through his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Coltrane, 6 July 2012
This review is from: A Love Supreme (Audio CD)
Mr Kim Tait, a saxophonist, muso/artist and friend argued that Coltrane was the greates saxophonist to draw breath. Hands up any of you who knew that the saxophone was invented by a Belgian. I don't think he had Mr Coltrane in mind as a prime exponent of his instrument which was more for the oom-pah generation. Nevertheless, as well as Mr Tait, there were the Liverpool poets dropping Coltrane into their verses. I stumbled into jazz in the early seventies through a Harvey Mann/Bobby Jasper track "Tel Aviv" which made me a fan of the saxaphone. But Coltrane remained for many years in the too hard basket to listen too. All that discord and screech. Truth was I did not have the framework or discipline then to listen let alone appreciate what this man was able to do with music. So in comes Mr Tait-endless nagging and I succumbed. First off, all agree he is a bloody genius. No easy listening modality for this man. His whole life was spent in experimenting with the sounds he and others collectively could crate. Secondly, read his biography, he comes across as a decent human being. Not the average muso with show ponying behaviours, temper tantrums etc. But this as a first listen? It was hard work. But it paid dividends to perservere. Firstly, look at the combination of players. McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones. each accomplished in their mastery of their instrument and could have been earning big bucks playing in more main stream ensembles. But they were driven to share the vision of Coltrane that everything is in constant flux.I have two Coltrane tracks on my Ipod, a version of "My Favourite Things" and "Chim, Chim-whatever from Mary Poppins". Both scour you to the soul as they are deconstructed, reconstructed and just when you think they are imploding they explode in celebration. Thank you Mr Tait, you were so right. Coltrane is worth the journey and I am privileged to have made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Genius!, 1 Feb 2005
This review is from: A Love Supreme (Audio CD)
This is very much a Desert island disc for me, and it is just amazing. 'Trane is unbelievable all of the time on this record, as the rest of the band is, and Drummers listen to the start of track three one of the best things ive ever heard on drums! This is only gonna be a short review, but straight to the point, great album, my favorite Trane album, and probably alot of other peoples, not enough words to describe its brilliance! This truely is a Love Supreme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Supreme issue, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you prefer digital formats over Analogue then this is possibly the best version you are ever going to own of this classic album.
The new High Fi Pure Audio Blu ray release of the album comes with a 96/24 LPCM transfer from the original tapes. The sound is lush and full of air with a tightness to the sound that you just don't get with Vinyl. The bass sounds tight and natural, the drums sound precise and the sax positively sings, Rudy Van Gelder captured the sound of the band very well, and this Blu Ray release brings that all out very well.
The album is of course a Jazz classic and unlike many in the HFPA series this version comes with extra tracks 8 music and one live introduction, these were originally released on the deluxe Double CD of the album released around 2002 all of these appear to be in 96/24 stereo as well and amount to an extra hour and quarter on the original 33 minutes of 'A Love Supreme'. Overall I don't think you will get a better sounding re-issue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC ALBUM!, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. Jonathan D. Phillips (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every jazz album you listen to takes a few listens to get into and this is the same for a love supreme, but once this album gets into you it will be a part of your life as it is now one of my favourite albums. Buy this album! you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful piece of art!, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JOHN COLTRANE LP, A LOVE SUPREME (US ISSUE NEW VINYL) (Vinyl)
What else can be said about this album? It's an example of wonderful music well recorded. Just need to save money and buy more albums of Coltrane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sublime Masterpiece, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Love Supreme (Audio CD)
John Coltrane's 1964-recorded masterpiece A Love Supreme is, for me, one of the most beautiful, and simple, musical performances ever recorded. Inspired by Coltrane's deep religious beliefs, it is perhaps difficult to stand back and consider the significance the recording had for Coltrane himself, but, regardless, it still conveys a sense of spiritual serenity (a phrase not in my common parlance, I have to say) like almost no other piece of music. In terms of its level of excellence in its own genre, I would compare it to, say, David Bowie's Ziggy Stardust and Mahler's 2nd Symphony, as near perfect examples of the musical form.

But back on planet earth, the album features, of course, the classic Coltrane quartet of McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and (the inestimable) Elvin Jones. The playing of the entire quartet throughout is, of course, exemplary, but it is particularly during the third part of the piece (Pursuance) that Coltrane and Jones really hit a mindboggling level of intensity. Incredibly, the entire piece is only 33 minutes long and it is over far too quickly.

It brings to mind an interview I once saw with Elvin Jones (in the latter part of his life) where he clearly believed that Coltrane was someone (or something) from a higher plane of existence. `Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trane`s prayer, 31 Dec 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Love Supreme (Audio CD)
Even at his most `out there` John Coltrane sounded as if he had something beyond the confines of genre to impart, bursting as he was with, so colleague Miles Davis pointedly pointed out, an awful lot of notes! He had a lot to say, but here he tells it more quietly, contemplatively, with a spiritual undertow that is unmistakable.
Trane, who died at only forty bang in the middle of 1967`s `Summer of Love`, was of a spiritual bent, perhaps sometimes of an austere nature, for this was obviously a man battling with demons, rages, urges, as well as the urge to explain and to love.
It`s all here on this 33-minute exploration of a man`s psyche, a man`s innermost spirit.
Coltrane was, unsurprisingly, brought up in a Christian household, but married a Muslim convert (the `Naima` of his celebrated composition) yet he later embraced all religions in a courageous effort to discover the truth, his truth. He seems to have attained a certain peace of mind after meeting his second wife, Alice, whose ideas and beliefs chimed with his own.
A Love Supreme is an iconic creation, and like all unique works of art - whether jazz or a one-off masterpiece such as Astral Weeks, say, or Forever Changes - it doesn`t sound like anything else. It possesses a timbre, a texture all its own. Whenever I play it, which isn`t too often, I `feel` this music`s special atmosphere, with Coltrane`s trademark unsentimental tenor sax sound, slightly reedy, biting, occasionally otherwordly (especially here) and always truthful to the moment.
I am certainly not going to attempt to describe, or explain away, each of the three parts that make up ALS: Acknowledgement; Resolution; Pursuance/Part 4 - Psalm. The whole brief suite is to be heard, to be actively listened to, again and again, and taken into one`s life as one would an old, perhaps intense, often challenging companion.
Trane`s core quartet of pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones on drums play behind and with their leader in total sympathy. John Coltrane must have been both a commanding and a benign presence, a man of not too many words, but many notes!
If you like what is now rather quaintly called Modern Jazz, or if you`ve heard Coltrane and liked him but have yet to hear this, then don`t hesitate. I`d say it`s a pretty essential thing to have in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album for anyone with a soul, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: A love supreme (Audio CD)
I bought this album as an Amazon recommends from an earlier purchase of Kind of Blue. It is quite awesome in terms of simplicity and depth of sound. It is soulful. Like Mozart's Requiem, it is best heard in the night when you are wrung out after a days work. It will revitalise you. A must for anyone who likes music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews