Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album
Classic Robben Ford, with that unique combination of blues, jazz and funk that sets him apart. Some of the sweetest guitar tones around delivering the usual precise, economic and uplifting licks that are his trademark. Vocals are not the best, but don't get in the way, and I would say this has the edge over the other Robben Ford blues album in my collection, 'Robben Ford...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by P. G. Wilson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD case slightly cracked
The CD case was slightly cracked, which would make it difficult to resell it if I wanted to. The CD itself was in perfect condition
Published 12 months ago by david robbie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 5 Aug 2011
By 
P. G. Wilson (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful of Blues (Audio CD)
Classic Robben Ford, with that unique combination of blues, jazz and funk that sets him apart. Some of the sweetest guitar tones around delivering the usual precise, economic and uplifting licks that are his trademark. Vocals are not the best, but don't get in the way, and I would say this has the edge over the other Robben Ford blues album in my collection, 'Robben Ford and the Blue Line'. (I discovered him with the early Yellow Jackets material, which is also great, but much more fusion based).

A classic that grows with listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best album, 10 April 2003
This review is from: Handful of Blues (Audio CD)
This album is exceptional. Robben brother Mark on the harp is simply amazing, Robbens guitar work is inspiring. Every song on this album is a gem. Buy this album you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I Leave Here., 11 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful Of Blues (MP3 Download)
One of the best blues records you are ever likely to hear.I wonderful mix of driving blues with a great blend of soul and funk.Robben Ford is one of the best exponents of blues guitar around and his band ain't so bad either.Mark Fords harmonica playing is just sublime.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Groovy blues, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful of Blues (Audio CD)
Yet another great blues recording with Robben Ford and his band. Good variation in style and pace and some really nice guitarsolos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Blues album., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful Of Blues (MP3 Download)
Brilliant Blues Robben. I recommend this album for All Blues fans. Just discovered this artist. Will buy more albums in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted modern blues rock..., 12 Feb 2014
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Handful of Blues (Audio CD)
As a guitarist ex Miles Davis and Joni Mitchell sideman .Robben Ford is hard to top. He combines musical sophistication with a funky, soulful sensibility that makes his every solo a delight to the ear. He is a player who is the very definition of taste and emotion. Guitarists who know their stuff, understand that Robben is the complete musician. He is an original and disciplined stylist in a medium that tends to encourage thoughtless displays of 'hot licks' over creativity and innovation.It doesn't hurt also that he is always looks to incorporate a few jazzy ideas where appropriate.

'Handful of Blues' is a really for fans of modern blues-rock who want well crafted songs to go along with great playing. If you fit that category 'Handful of Blues' is surely deserving of a play on your CD shelf. The mixing of originals and standards has been thoughtfully done,giving the album a sense of continuity and feel of quality. The production bright and focused. My only real moan is that Robben's voice is more than a little stretched on the high octane numbers and lacking on soul belters like 'Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood'. He hits the notes o.k, but his vocal projection is rather thin. If he where in a 'super session' setting, then rather like Keith Richards in the Rolling Stones context, he'd be allowed may be a track or two on a given album as a welcome diversion, but no more.

'Handful of Blues' is a good album but with some absolutely stunning guitar work. Guitarists of whatever hue should investigate immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thee Guitar legend, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Handful of Blues (Audio CD)
Forget clapton,bonnamassa,trucks,mayer all born of the same mother etc.etc.. this man is the real blues guitar legend.... stunning soulful sweet guitar playing from hard blues to funky licks and soaring solos his playing is always so emotive.Great album prob one of his best not a bad track on the album listen to the solo on Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood will bring a tear to your eye man,the guitar work is simply stunning amazing chords,lick and eye watering solos much more interesting note choice and voicing than any other guitarist i've heard to date...simple buy this album you'll thank me later...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handful Of Blues, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful Of Blues (MP3 Download)
Great album. Robben Ford is excellent as always. He always has good songs that are well played. Very clever guitar player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful Of Blues (MP3 Download)
One of his best albums of all time. Great songs every one. A true guitar virtuoso. Blew me away!! Wow!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD case slightly cracked, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handful of Blues (Audio CD)
The CD case was slightly cracked, which would make it difficult to resell it if I wanted to. The CD itself was in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handful of Blues
Handful of Blues by Robben Ford (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews