Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars puzzling, morose, emotional; sublime, 6 Oct. 2000
By 
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
This collection of songs illustrates, fully, O' Connor's talents as an artist but also her frailties, her humanity, laid bare through her music. I initially read a review of this album, where the reviewer "astutely" desribed how Sinead was trying to gain pity for herself through the writing of songs that revelled in the pain, sorrow and torment of motherhood. However, such facile commentary deserves scant attention. This is an album which, true to all of Sinead's work,is illuminated by the passion, self-expression and turbulence, which epitomises her art, whether this is manifest through powerful lyrics or music that ranges from delectable to positively turbulent. What inspired such an album? that's what I'd love to know. It bristles with the angst that Sinead's work is known for and also effortlessly encompasses the most angelic songs, such as "A perfect Indian" and "Scorn not his Simplicity"; the latter being one of the most achingly moving compositions that I have recently heard. Combine this with the songs "Red Football" and "Fire On Babylon" and you have an album that both shrieks and whispers, in a way that mesmerises. Why is Sinead victimised in the musical press? I often wonder if it is musically based. My reading of one review of UNIVERSAL MOTHER is what inspired my own appraisal of this album. But my appraisal is one that is based upon the musical content and artistic expression of an incredibly talented artist;not some pre-assumed, glib opinion of the artist's lifestyle and personal opinions. Sinead's lifestyle is her own. Her music is ours. Be thankful for that. UNIVERSAL MOTHER is one of the best albums I have and, being a devoted fan of such illustrious artists as NIRVANA, BEASTIE BOYS, LOUIS ARMSTRONG and JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH, one might feasibly ask, Can Sinead enter this select hall of fame? My response is; Most certainly. Buy the album and discover for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great forgotten album of the Nineties, 1 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
This is a truly excellent piece of work, one of the great but shamefully ignored albums of the Nineties. The myth prevails today that Sinead O'Connor was a one hit, cover-version wonder, but this largely self-penned collection shows how wrong that perception is. OK, so Famine is a little embarrassing, and the Am I Human interlude from her son upsets the flow, but most of the rest is magnificent - emotionally enriching, simply melodic tracks, beautifully sung. The acapella In This Heart, in particular, was the best thing ever done on Jools Holland's show and it's equally stunning here.
Buy this album now - it's a rare gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much-underrated '94 album, 24 Oct. 2005
By 
Ted Maul "Ted Maul" (Cowsick) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
Universal Mother is Sinead O'Connor's Berlin,Heartbreaker,The Holy Bible,Third/Sister Lovers,Pink Moon,Time Out Of Mind & In Utero all at once-it is both harrowing and brilliant.Indeed,she covers In Utero's All Apologies in her own idiosyncratic way here.This album is one of the nineties' lost albums,but it's time will come.This is like a less musically brutal version of PJ Harvey's Rid Of Me,with the same mixture of bruised introspection and pure anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
This is a simply stunning and moving album. Showcases Sinead's amazing vocals to perfection.
I cannot recommend this highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Universal Mother, 22 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
"Universal Mother" is a brilliant album for Sinéad fans.This was the first Sinéad album I bought and it impressed me a lot.
It starts off with the raw angry song "Fire on Babylon" and includes a Phil Coultier cover of "Scorn not his Simplicity" and a cover of a song written by Kurt Cobain called "All Apoligies" which is outstanding. Sinéad's songwriting skills are shown with the beautifull song "Thankyou for Hearing Me" and "Perfect Indian".Also the song "My Darling Child" written about her son is very good.
"Red footbal" and "Famine" promotes Sinéads more agressive side
but her son Jake makes a starring role in the song "Am I a Human?".Overall i think its a beautifull,emotional album but the whole album wouldnt appeal to everybody but selected tracks are very commercial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for all human beings, 22 Dec. 2000
By 
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
Nobody in the world could have expected Sinead to be such a kind mother as reflected by this album. We have all seen her raving/shouting in Lions&Cobra, her deep thoughts in I do not want what I haven't got. But the franternity she expressed in this album really shocks everyone. This album is suitable for all human being in this world, not only letting all female audience re-difine the status to be a woman, a mother, and also the male audience re-construct the image of Sinead, that is, a resolute fighter as well as a kind mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
Lovely album much listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
A unique amazing experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Striking Sinead, 11 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
Sinead O'connor is completely under rated. Few artists are as emotionally raw, sensitive and powerful at the same time. Her music and voice are mesmerising, intriguing, beautiful, savage and controversial. Universal Mother is an incredible album, as are many of her others. She's the kind of artist who takes a few listenings to get used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Mother (Audio CD)
VERY GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universal Mother
Universal Mother by Sinead O'Connor (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews