Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pop-punk at its best
If all you have heard of AFI is their most recent work then you could be in for a shock. Sing the Sorrow was the first album I bought by AFI, and when I bought this album it took me a while to actually believe it was the same band. The style is totally different and if you thought Davey's voice was high-pitched now, you'll be completely stunned when you hear this...
Published on 21 Dec 2004 by iluvbam4eva

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Punk
The first AFI album I bought, loved it, but if you're not into a pop-punk sort of thing then you may not. Not what everyone wants from punk or AFI, but a good album by a good band all the same, some good songs, some mediocre ones perhaps, but at least no bad ones
Published on 14 Feb 2005 by tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pop-punk at its best, 21 Dec 2004
This review is from: Very Proud Of Ya (Audio CD)
If all you have heard of AFI is their most recent work then you could be in for a shock. Sing the Sorrow was the first album I bought by AFI, and when I bought this album it took me a while to actually believe it was the same band. The style is totally different and if you thought Davey's voice was high-pitched now, you'll be completely stunned when you hear this. Nevertheless, this album is astounding. So I strongly suggest you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Punk, 14 Feb 2005
By 
tom (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Very Proud Of Ya (Audio CD)
The first AFI album I bought, loved it, but if you're not into a pop-punk sort of thing then you may not. Not what everyone wants from punk or AFI, but a good album by a good band all the same, some good songs, some mediocre ones perhaps, but at least no bad ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Proud Of Ya, 16 Jun 2003
This review is from: Very Proud Of Ya (Audio CD)
Quite a contrast to AFI of late. There's no gothic imagery here, just 20 nice pop-punk-rock songs. I think 'nice' is probably the most fitting word for this album. It's not great musically, the lyrics are quite clever in places but overall theres nothing that immediately grabs you. By the same token, you can sit listening to it happily with your foot tapping away. Certainly better than 'Answer That and Stay Fashionable' though. Its quite hard to believe that this album was released in 1996.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Proud Of Ya (Audio CD)
14 years ago AFI were a very very different band.
they were much more straight-forward prospect,4 chords,gang vocals and songs that barely lasted over 2 minutes.
all the elements of sutblety and light and shade that they noww employ excellently were only distant thoughts in their minds.
if you are a late comer to the band then be prepared for a very different sounding band.
what they do here they do very well,but in comparison to what they have become it feels a little dull.
because they simply put their foot down and power through the songs at a hundred miles an hour with the ghost of minor threat hanging heavy over their heads it feels a little repetitive.
their blessing is also their curse,as the songs dont hang around for too long its hard to get bored but since every song feels very similar it can feel a little like a chore to get through the album.
the music is far too dense and samey to really be able to separate the songs to pick some standout tracks.
if you are new to the band start a little later in the middle of their career and pick up black sails in the sunset or the srt of drowning when they had mastered channelling the speed alongside some much catchier choruses.
if like me you are a completist then this album is worht chucking some cash at,but its just nowhere near as good as the rest of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy this!, 2 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Proud Of Ya (Audio CD)
The AFI sound is best described as melodic-hardcore. This is a great cd with outstanding lyrics and some great harmonies. Not as powerful as Black Sails or Shut your mouth but still really good. AFI F**KIN RULE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meh?!, 11 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Very Proud Of Ya (Audio CD)
This is the earlier days of AFI, when I think AFI actually stood for "Asking For It." This Album consits of 21 songs that are sort of Punk based. There are no ballad songs, just EBHC! A great album to skate to and the songs are totally uplifting in a bad situation, Well I think anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Proud Of Ya
Very Proud Of Ya by A.F.I. (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews