Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIVA THE CHIEFTAINS...!
This is a terrific melange of medieval, celtic, and spanish music, all put together as only the Chieftains can. Wild as it may sound, it works beautifully. It makes for an original, non-traditional approach to celtic strains that serves only to delight the listener. The contributions of Galician piper Carlos Nunez, as well as that of Linda Ronstadt and Los Lobos, further...
Published on 10 Nov 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Debased celtic
Debased celtic
Irish music and Galician music are both exciting but the turgid orchestral arrangements on this album reduce both to very little.
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by cerf-volant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIVA THE CHIEFTAINS...!, 10 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a terrific melange of medieval, celtic, and spanish music, all put together as only the Chieftains can. Wild as it may sound, it works beautifully. It makes for an original, non-traditional approach to celtic strains that serves only to delight the listener. The contributions of Galician piper Carlos Nunez, as well as that of Linda Ronstadt and Los Lobos, further enriches this innovative recording, making it one well worth having in one's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Debased celtic, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
Debased celtic
Irish music and Galician music are both exciting but the turgid orchestral arrangements on this album reduce both to very little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Santiago, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Sheila Axon "chase hill" (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
as the title would suggest this has a very Spanish feel to the music.very pleasant easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At their best, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
What a great period of music from the band, really exciting tempo to much of this. Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santiago, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
I love their music but this CD fires the imagination, it gives a great feeling of passion, of moods and rejoicing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chieftains go Galician, 3 May 2010
By 
Ms. B. N. Fletcher "Bridget F." (Tewkesbury England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
Interesting departure again for The Chieftains. Carlos Nunez is a great musician, nice to hear the gaita and folk music from the Galician area of Spain, our celtic cousins. Great track ' Dublin in Vigo'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santiago (MP3 Download)
Not my thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting music., 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
I enjoyed the album very much. I think I must have once owned a copy before as much of it was familiar. The beauty of the album lies in a mixtures of influences, which blend well. I would recommend it to anyone reacquainting themselves with the work of The Chieftains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - Smashing Music, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Harried Grandmother (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santiago (Audio CD)
Bought for both me and my husband who both love Celtic Music and especially the Chieftans, loved it as we thought we would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Santiago
Santiago by The Chieftains (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews