Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical play in a league of its own.
Buy this cd then go and see the show! From the opening bars you will be on the edge of your seat. In the beginning you will cry tears of laughter until slowly the story takes you down to a much darker place. The music is superb, the story grips you right to the end and Blood Brothers is, by miles, the best thing EVER to hit the West End.
Published on 23 Aug 2005 by bazza

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A theatre fan.
Having seen Blood Brothers on the London stage with the lead of Mrs. Johnston played by the excellent Linda Nolan (her voice was just amazing, it bought tears to my eyes), I decided to purchase a sound track of the London Cast.
Unfortunately I purchased this one. I found the voices in no way matched the excellence of the current London Cast (02.09.02) and the musical...
Published on 2 Sep 2002 by Mr. D. J. Woolrich


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical play in a league of its own., 23 Aug 2005
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
Buy this cd then go and see the show! From the opening bars you will be on the edge of your seat. In the beginning you will cry tears of laughter until slowly the story takes you down to a much darker place. The music is superb, the story grips you right to the end and Blood Brothers is, by miles, the best thing EVER to hit the West End.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finest recording of Bill Kenwright's global production, 5 Jan 2002
By 
R. Cope "cope2" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
This recording is from 1988, and was the first one to record theatrical producer Bill Kenwright's production of Blood Brothers which has since conquered Broadway and many other cities around the world. Con O'Neill quite righly won an Olivier award for his extraordinary portrayal of Mickey which is captured here. Kiki Dee - whilst not quite having the passion of Barbara Dickson - is a formidable Mrs. Johnstone, and the late Robert Locke is by far my favourite Eddie. With the haunting voice of Warwick Evans a perfect narrator, this recording is the finest recording of this global production. If you want to hear just how powerful the show can be, it is no better personified than this CD. The first few bars of the overture will make the hairs on your neck stand up and a shiver run down your spine.
Blood Brothers is the finest British musical of the past 20 years, Willy Russell's greatest masterpiece and a show which sees the audience openly weeping night after night in the theatre.
They don't come better than this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 4 Aug 2002
By 
alison (Yeovil, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
Having been the owner of this particular version of the musical on cassette format for over 10 years now, I thought it was about time I acquired the CD version! This is by far the most moving, emotion provoking musical I have ever heard. Having also listened to another version with Petula Clark as Mrs J, I also think this particular cast are far and away the better performers. Somehow the songs sound more haunting, the accents more convincing and overall I personally felt it was a superior performance.
Buy it now! I promise that once you have listened to it, you will do so over and over again. I think I am now word perfect on most of the songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Brothers is Love!, 28 Nov 2007
By 
M. Worrall (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
Ok, just a quick one.

I saw this show last weekend on the UK Tour. It was incredible.

I bought this CD and the 1995 London Cast Recording and I have to say that this is by far the better of the two.

Hope that helps :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, scary, comedic, and quality., 26 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
In case you didn't already know, I have a passion for narrators in musicals and it is a secret dream of mine to play the narrator in a musical some day.
The narrator in Blood Brothers is my absolute favourite.
For the uninitiated, Blood Brothers is the touching story of two best friends who... are brothers, only, uh... they don't know they're brothers, which kind of complicates things.
This musical is witty and clever in that it is full of irony, for example, one character plays games about dying but, in his words, "if you cross your fingers and count from one to ten, you can get up off the ground..." and ends up shooting someone, upon which the narrator reminds him that if he crossed his fingers and counted, it might all be a game.
While the characters appear to have their ups and downs, the narrator represents the stark reality of the world around them and brings into context the guilty secret that the main character (Mrs. Johnstone) holds inside her in one simple phrase - "The Devil's got your number."
Sublime singing all around, melodic and rocky playing of instruments and sharp, bitter irony carry this touching recording through to the end, which is so shocking and disturbing that one cannot help but be moved by the characters' final song. But it's inescapable. As the narrator will remind you, the devil's got your number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A theatre fan., 2 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. D. J. Woolrich (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
Having seen Blood Brothers on the London stage with the lead of Mrs. Johnston played by the excellent Linda Nolan (her voice was just amazing, it bought tears to my eyes), I decided to purchase a sound track of the London Cast.
Unfortunately I purchased this one. I found the voices in no way matched the excellence of the current London Cast (02.09.02) and the musical arrangement is "bitty" and disjointed.
However, a friend lent me a copy of the London Cast featuring Stephanie Lawrence and this is absolutely excellent. It is equal to the current London performance. If you are considering seeing Blood Brothers, do buy the Stephanie Lawrence version first or it may put you off a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable experience that will stay in your memory for months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its's the lady Kiki herself, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Graham Spafford (newcastle under lyme Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
what more can one say but its kiki"
at her best as usual " just 5 star all through,the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Brothers, 15 Aug 2012
By 
S. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
Saw this production in Bradford in 1988 - bought the tape then now updated to a cd. Seen the show several times since then but still feel this is the definitive version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
absolutly brillant there the no other blood brothers cd which compares to this one this is way the best,the singing and narator are surperb would reccomend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must' for every fan of musical theatre, 16 Mar 2010
By 
C. Shaw (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Brothers (Audio CD)
Blood Brothers - 1988 London Cast

It happens to have been the second time I've purchased this very same product - the original one was worn out !

Blood Brothers is already an icon in musical theatre, and no matter how many times you may have seen the production, with a variety of cast memembers, this recorded version for me, is the ONLY one worth listening to as it immediatley takes me back to the first time I saw the show.

The emotions remain raw, the tension palpable and the music, evocative of Willy Russell's tense drama. Just a few weeks ago I went to a matinee touring production in Glasgow .... and it was amazing ! However, I am drawn back time and again to this true reflection of the character's struggle.

Coud there ever be a Blood Brothers 2 ?? Wouldn't it be fun to find out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf383f30)

This product

Blood Brothers
Blood Brothers by Kiki Dee (Audio CD - 1993)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews