Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of southern rock
Actually this album is more than the pinnacle of southern rock - it could well be the finest album I've ever heard. The Allman Brothers' guitarists Duane Allman and Dickey Betts were two of the finest players ever, and the twin drummers Jamoe and Butch Trucks, amazing bassist Berry Oakley and hugely underrated voice and keyboards of Greg Allman made this band untouchable...
Published on 10 May 2007 by bbjazz

versus
4 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I resold my copy...
I bought this album after hearing that it was rated as a truly great live album and because I'd heard the Frank Zappa version of 'Whipping Post' and wanted to check out the original. I can't say that I was that enamoured by this offering, but what they do (blues / boogie / Southern swamp rock) they do well. Brother Duane's slide and lead playing is excellent, although...
Published on 24 Nov. 2002 by irish-fergie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of southern rock, 10 May 2007
By 
bbjazz (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
Actually this album is more than the pinnacle of southern rock - it could well be the finest album I've ever heard. The Allman Brothers' guitarists Duane Allman and Dickey Betts were two of the finest players ever, and the twin drummers Jamoe and Butch Trucks, amazing bassist Berry Oakley and hugely underrated voice and keyboards of Greg Allman made this band untouchable then and now. I appreciate this is a lot of hyperbole to deal with, but just listen and you will not be disappointed. I play this music often and am still completely in love with it. I'll bet you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album for guitar lovers and blues lovers alike., 2 April 2002
By A Customer
This album is the guitar lovers ultimate CD. Duanne Allman is superb, there is no other word to describe his slide work and playing. Betts has never played better and complements the slide work. The interaction between the two is amazing. From the opening Statesboro Blues to the ending Whipping Post the guitar work is awesome. Statesboro Blues starts the slide guitar show with an amazing solo that is restrained but completely natural,flowing with the rhythm and vocals, followed by Betts with a shorter but equaly inspired solo. As the album moves on Duanne's guitar work follows his brothers vocal lines with a natural ease, interdispersed with Betts who appears inspired to fantastic heights by Allman. To blues lovers and guitar fans alike this album is a must. There are fewer live albums that come near it and when during a marathon solo a fan calls out "play it all night" there is no doubt you will nod your head and agree. Buy, listen, enjoy and hit the play button again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Rock Magnificence, 4 Nov. 2006
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
It was the fashion in the `70's to issue a live album and the Allman Brothers Band was no exception. However, the quality of some of these was extremely questionable and a significant amount did not do any justice to the artist. This was most certainly not the case with this album.

The sensational Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Fillmore album blasted onto the streets as their third album in the summer of 1971. It was and remains a sublime live performance highlighting the individual and collective quality of these fine musicians. One of my all time favourite tracks is "In the Memory of Elizabeth Reed", 13 minutes of sheer rock genius that builds to an astounding climax, fronted by Dickey Betts's wonderful guitar.
The distinctive sound of the Allman's, whether it is Greg Allman's superb organ, the amazing procession section or the unique guitar sound of Dickie Betts and of course the late and great Duane Allman is a joy to hear throughout the album. It is impossible to single out any weak tracks, there simply are none, the sheer power of the band coming over in every track.

The Allman's were really at their peak at the time of this album - bear in mind that by the time this album was released, Duane Allman had already played beside Eric Clapton on Layla and with Laura Nyro on her Christmas & the Beads of Sweat album.

One of, if not the greatest US rock band of their time, this album is truly magnificent and a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The killer live rock-blues set of all time., 1 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
The Allmans were the ultimate live band, playing with great energy and imagination. "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" from this set must be one of the best instrumental tracks of all time - the Allmans were famous for "Jessicca" but this is far better. If "Whipping Post" doesn't get you dancing then you haven't any soul. If blues is your music then give "Statesboro Blues" some plays. It's also nice to get a couple of extra tracks from the original double LP version, and the booklet provided is an interesting read On the first hearing you may find some of the tracks rather long but turn down the lights, get a large glass of your fave drink and play it loud, very loud and you can see yourself at the Fillmore with your long hair dripping sweat as you shake your head in time to "You Don't Love Me"! Buy it now and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant package, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for the blu-ray set.The package consists of 3 blu-rays and has shows from March 12th and 13th(2 sets each),and the 3rd blu-ray is from the closing night.
Although much of this has been issued before you also get 15 un-released tracks from the Fillmore run and while it is easy to see why some were not released at the time,others could easily have made the final selection.
A word about the audio.On the blu-ray there are 3 audio choices;Master surround,True surround and Uncompressed stereo.It is the latter that I am using and it is absolutely superb;clear crisp and every instrument audible.In particular Greggs subtle organ fills are much clearer than any other version I have including the excellent Deluxe editions from a few years ago.
I chose the blu-ray edition because I already have the Deluxe cds and if I ever get a surround set up I have the option of listening to the other audio offerings.
The alternative versions are suitably different from the previously released ones with different solos and additional saxophone, which Tom Dowd hated,hence their exclusion at the time.
All in all this is a fantastic package and come with a well written booklet which takes you through each nights performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Album ever?, 11 May 2012
By 
R Raybould "richard17025" (Newport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion, in this version, YES. If you have no other ABB record this is the one to get. The playing is sublime throughout and the recording is fantastic for the early 70's. I never ever tire of listening to this: Allman and Betts duel away; Jaimoe & Trucks sync so wonderfully well; Oakley plays some great bass lines, Gregg Allman's Hammond Organ just fills those gaps a treat and his vocal delivery is unique. Brilliant from start to finish. Don't hesitate to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 16 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
What an album. Some astonishing guitar work. The version of Stormy Monday is perfection. You Dont love Me weighs in at 20 minutes but with not a wasted second. After about 10 minutes the guitars kick in with the drums and what an astonishing piece of live music this is. On Elizabeth Reed the guitar actually sounds like its about to melt at one point - indescribably brilliant. Whippin' Post at the end maybe does get flogged to death but that is my only negative point. My favourite live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get better than this, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, real musicians.
I can't believe how brilliant these guys are.
So creative, such musical skill, so on top of their game.
My favourite is Mountain Jam, 34 minutes of free flowing jazz rock ecstasy and the best dual drummer drum solo ever.
Just can't get over how good this is.
It must have been fantastic to be there.
If the music business still saw music as art, it would be a lot healthier today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must, 17 Mar. 2004
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
There's so much music to choose from, but this one is a definite must. It is one of the best albums in my collection, and it is not just 12-bar blues and long guitar solos. This was *a band* - they were all good musicians and the music is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up from Amazon Reviewers, Thumbs Up from Me, too...., 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
Wanting a heavy-ish rocky, bluesy sort of album, much preferably one with a real band sound of unity I checked out from scratch on Amazon, via reviews and the MP3 sample feature.

I'd heard of the legendary The Allman Brothers Band, probably thumbing through those wonderful album cover artwork books and such, so my ears were pricked when almost unanimously this 'At Fillmore East' attained a lofty five stars, from 25 reviewers.

So, having bought it, yes, it has a real rawness, but a refined one at that and some great improvisational tunes that develop with instruments that clearly lead from each other, to form a solid and up-tempo sound that has jazzy keyboards, weaving bass and guitars that crash and slide into each other, playing off from each other. Inventive, pulsating drums ripple along adding percussive interest along the way.

As others have cited, the majestic 13 minute In Memory of Elizabeth Reed, which starts off in a stately and purposeful way, soon gets jazzed up and soon is zipping along, with guitars, keys and bass all intersecting and bobbing about. It gets the foot tapping and body swaying slowly and whilst playing is absolutely wonderful.

At Fillmore East, as others have said, is a superbly recorded album, with each instrument easily picked out in its tonal range and with clarity and space around each one. The percussion is clean and bright, with cymbal work clear, without being 'splashy'. The bassline is always bobbing about and like any good live music, actually 'live' you can swap any of each of the instruments to be your lead instrument to follow, then switch it and then return back to the full sound.

The enclosed scrap of paper that makes up the insert is a bit sorry, with a just a few colour photos and band member list. However, I do really like the high-contrast black & white cover photo itself, which perfectly conveys a sense of southern unity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Fillmore East
At Fillmore East by Allman Brothers Band (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews