Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential Paisley Underground collection
The CD comprises the eponymous first album and its successor, a mini LP titled ‘Explosions in the Glass Palace’, which makes up the last 5 tracks. David Roback doesn’t feature on the latter, yet it is this 5 track set which represents the band at their most awesome, including the smouldering A Broken Horse and the astonishing closer No Easy Way Down, a...
Published on 3 Jun. 2003 by videorideo

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is great, but give me the 'Beyond the Sunset' instead
The Rain Parade are well known as the best of the 'paisley underground' bands, who combined Us Punk Rock influences with those of psychedelia in early 80s LA.
This CD combines their first album and a mini-LP and would be enjoyed by anyone who likes the idea of Television meeting The Byrds, or for anyone too young to consider such groups unhip, The Stone Roses crossed...
Published on 31 Jan. 2004 by Stephen E. Andrews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential Paisley Underground collection, 3 Jun. 2003
By 
videorideo (Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Emergency Third Rail Power Trip/Explosions in Glass Place (Audio CD)
The CD comprises the eponymous first album and its successor, a mini LP titled ‘Explosions in the Glass Palace’, which makes up the last 5 tracks. David Roback doesn’t feature on the latter, yet it is this 5 track set which represents the band at their most awesome, including the smouldering A Broken Horse and the astonishing closer No Easy Way Down, a landmark track in the history of rock with its oriental chord sequences coming at you full tilt from guitar, organ and strings. By comparison some of the stuff on the first album is a little lacklustre, although there are many highlights here too. ‘I look around’ is the first example of the trademark ornamented guitar hook, a sound which reaches final fruition on ‘No Easy Way Down’. The dreamy ‘Carolyn’s Song’ and the playful ‘Saturday’s Asylum’ are among the other standout tracks.
Whether this is anything like the kind of music Pink Floyd would have made if Syd Barrett hadn’t had his breakdown I can’t judge. Whether R.E.M.’s ‘You’, which closes ‘Monster’, is an affectionate nod to the Rain Parade seems beyond doubt to these ears. This set represents the best of this fabulous band – buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paisley Underground Faves, 31 Dec. 2003
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emergency Third Rail Power Trip/Explosions in Glass Place (Audio CD)
The Rain Parade along with the Dream Syndicate and Green on Red, were at the fore front of the Paisley Underground movement in the early/mid eighties. The references are clear, dollop of Byrds, early Floyd and mix in a little of the Seeds and Electric Prunes and let stand for a while! 'Explosions' was a mini-album released after 'Third Rail' but they are complimentary to each other. I was lucky enough to see them live and they delivered the goods superbly.
'This can't be today' and 'No Easy Way Down' are the stand out tracks but I can't fault any of the tracks as psychedelic classics. One thing on 'Third Rail' which does let it down a touch, is the rather weak production where occasionally you get the feeling you're hearing the band from a distance. Still, put on 'No Easy Way Down' at volume and listen to a band at their peak. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best work of the stars of the Paisley Underground, 22 May 2003
By 
videorideo (Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Emergency Third Rail Power Trip/Explosions in Glass Place (Audio CD)
The CD comprises the eponymous first album and its successor, a mini LP titled ‘Explosions in the Glass Palace’, which makes up the last 5 tracks. David Roback doesn’t feature on the latter, yet it is this 5 track set which represents the band at their most awesome, including the smouldering A Broken Horse and the astonishing closer No Easy Way Down, a landmark track in the history of rock with its oriental chord sequences coming at you full tilt from guitar, organ and strings. By comparison some of the stuff on the first album is a little lacklustre, although there are many highlights here too. ‘I look around’ is the first example of the trademark ornamented guitar hook, a sound which reaches final fruition on ‘No Easy Way Down’. The dreamy ‘Carolyn’s Song’ and the adventurous ‘Saturday’s Asylum’ are among the other standout tracks.
Whether this is the music Pink Floyd would have made if Syd Barrett hadn’t had his breakdown is not for me to judge. Whether R.E.M.’s ‘You’, which closes ‘Monster’, is an affectionate nod to the Rain Parade seems beyond doubt to these ears. This set represents the best of this fabulous band – buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is great, but give me the 'Beyond the Sunset' instead, 31 Jan. 2004
By 
Stephen E. Andrews "Writer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emergency Third Rail Power Trip/Explosions in Glass Place (Audio CD)
The Rain Parade are well known as the best of the 'paisley underground' bands, who combined Us Punk Rock influences with those of psychedelia in early 80s LA.
This CD combines their first album and a mini-LP and would be enjoyed by anyone who likes the idea of Television meeting The Byrds, or for anyone too young to consider such groups unhip, The Stone Roses crossed with The Doors in their lighter moments (witness 'No Easy Way Down' for the Kreiger/Manzarek influences).
However, better versions of several of the songs on here can be found (or could be if the record company would get around to reissuing it) on 'Beyond The Sunset', their live in Japan album from 1984 that sees the group putting a bit more life into the playing, not to mention members of Green On Red guesting on the Parade's version of the GOR classic 'Cheap Wine', which is a brilliant song. Are you listening record companies - get 'beyond The Sunset' out on CD again PLEASE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rain Parade number one after thirty years, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Sid Griffin (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emergency Third Rail Power Trip/Explosions in Glass Place (Audio CD)
I am Sid Griffin, I was in the Long Ryders and we were in the Paisley Underground with the Rain Parade back in the 1980s. I am pretty sure I heard every platter from every PU band back then and, in my opinion, Explosions In The Glass Palace is and will forever be the BEST recording from a PU band be it us, the Dream Syndicate, the Bangles, the Three O'Clock or whomever. Yep, Explosions In The Glass Palace.

Emergency Third Rail Power Trip is a winner too. You need to own this music, you really do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paisley underground at its best, 2 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emergency Third Rail Power Trip/Explosions in Glass Place (Audio CD)
The review title says it all. I had this/these on vinyl when they came out and they blew me away. My favourite is Emergency Third rail Power Trip which contains some of the best stuff ever my ears have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews