Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drone Doom Classic, 17 Sep 2006
By 
Harsh_Noise (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
I was first drawn to this album after reading a nostalgic review in Metal Hammer magazine. I put off buying it for ages and now I have, I very much regret putting off obtaining this record for so long.

Whilst it is tempting to go into long-winded and ultimately cliched descriptions of the album's sheer heaviness from a metal-head point of view, the only real way to describe this album is as meditation music.

This sounds like the stuff the American military use to interrogate terror suspects via sensorary depravation. But don't get me wrong, this is a good thing for those of us who find it hard to relax. Indeed, have only listened to this album all the way few a handful of times; not because it was too extreme to tolerate, but rather because I become so chilled out that I usually fall asleep about ten minutes into track two.

This is an amazing album. Full stop. A drone doom classic and an essential purchase for extreme-metal-heads like myself (i.e. lovers of Sunn0))), Boris, Khanate et al.)and an interesting, if eccentric, musical milestone to add to your collection for open-minded fans of other musical genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRRROOOOOOOOOOOOONNE, 13 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
The word 'heavy' is often used to describe this album. Accurate as this is, if images of Slayer or Sepultura or bands of that ilk enter your mind, then prepare a rethink. This is a very different breed of heavy - so heavy, in fact, that it starts to double back on itself and become strangely ethereal.

Throughout the album, there is a constant droning tone - indeed, the final track 'Like Gold And Faceted' is pretty much just that, with occasional percussive decoration. After a fashion, this drone begins to have a profound effect on the listener. It's no big surprise to learn that certain people use this album as a method of conquering sleeplessness - loud as the music may be, it is undeniably relaxing.

If you have read this far, you will now have a good idea of whether or not this album is for you. If you like your thrills fast and to the point, then stroll on - the shortest, fastest track here is the 17 minute 'Seven Angels', a positively elephantine, treacly riff that takes its sweet time, inviting you to tag along, but not really being bothered if you decide to or not.

If you do fancy something different, with a slow burning payoff, then you could do far worse than pick this up. A perfect starting point for anyone's drone collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defeating Sunn's Gravity, 6 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
After listening to most of the Sunn releases recently, more or less in reverse order, I conclude that this is the one I should have been listening to all along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars slow and heavy, 29 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
Earth 2 is the point where sludge rock meets the avant garde. Opening track "7 angels" sounds like thrash played at 5 rpm. With no drums or vocals. For 15 minutes. "Teeth of Lions..." is even longer and slower, but the major achievement of this album is "Like Gold and Faceted". Taking the reductionist approach of the first two tracks to its logical conclusion, it consists of a single, multi-layered drone sustained for over 30 minutes. Occasional percussive flourishes and harmonics on edge of audibility punctuate the track, but essentially it's all about the drone. Bizarrely, the effect of the track is both relaxing and oppressive.
Earth 2 is pretty much unlike any other record I've heard. It's intensely heavy, yet at the same time, approaches almost ambient territory. Recommended for those who think that The Melvins are "too pop".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars something very different, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth 2 (MP3 Download)
So this album came out a long time ago but is only now becoming easy to get and I recommend it for anyone who enjoys unique music.
Earth are the godfathers of a subgenre known as drone music essentially music thats ambient repeating and sudued.
Two important things to point out would be firstly this band despite being regarded as one of the heaviest is nothing like you imagine simply put this is not heavy metal or extreme metal in fact it is barely metal at all Earth take much more after Brian Eno than they do the likes of metallica and drone music really is the only way to describe it.
Secondly this album is not a great primer for earth in fact its actually the most different of all their work not to say the formula is not there but its distorted guitars that are the main instruments whereas the later stuff has taioko drums slide guitars sitars and a huge variety of instruments with a much more acessible nature.

To listen to, this is one of those albums that you put on either lying in bed at night or for me doing some artwork or similar its not something to dance to (if you can I will give you a medal). Chances are though you came to this through listening to the melvins or Sunn((o)) or even through ambient music fans in which case you shoud feel right at home. I gave this 4 stars because while its ground breaking (again earth invented this kind of thing) their later albums are more diverse beautiful and better structured if you are going to buy earth get a good mix of this and one of the others too. bear in mind also if you have an mp3 player the songs of this band take up a whopping 50 + mb each and even more this album has three tracks and is over an hour long its not something to skip back and forth on. All in all like the title says this is something very different and very much worth your while if you like it steady quiet and relaxing while being totally unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for relieving migraines, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
This album has many uses. I use it mainly to block out the relentless EDM of my neighbours and it works very well.

I have recently started getting migraines and have found this to work when codeine fails. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A meditative, immersive experience, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
According to the front cover this is a "special low frequency version" of this heavy drone classic - however the cover is otherwise particularly uninformative so whether that's how it came out originally in 1993 who knows. It is certainly low frequency though and surprisingly perhaps proves quite an uplifting listen - maybe just the relief that it's finished... As a meditative, immersive experience it's up there (perhaps 'down there' is more apposite in this case) with early Terry Riley, Spacemen 3 and so on; it gives the impression that they take the drugs so you don't have to. It makes Earth's more recent music seem positively catchy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Commodity of Extreme Metal, 19 Oct 2008
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
Earth 2 defines Drone metal. It is NOT depressing, which is common misconception. I would say it mellows you out more than a couple of pints and a few fags put together. It is a spiritual experience to listen to the whole album all the way through, which surprisingly lasts for an hour and 10 minutes for just three tracks. The first of these, 'Seven Angels', lasts for 15 minutes and prepares you for what is to come, it has slight beat and riffage. 'Teeth of Lions Rule the Divine' lasts for 27 minutes and has much less riffage and beat and is a sprawling epic, it really relaxes and is so stress relieving. 'Like Gold and Faceted' (Don't ask about the title, I haven't a clue), is the Magnum Opus at Half an Hour long, 30 Minutes of mono-tone feedback and disturbance,with added percussion, I fell asleep while listening to this track, and that was not from boredom. As the title says, a commodity of Extreme Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath distilled, 29 Nov 2007
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
Earth take their name from an early incarnation of Black Sabbath. Lead by Dylan Carlson a friend of Kurt Cobain, their debut album is certainly not easy listening. It distils the Sabbath sound down to its base ingredient, slow sludgy / grungy riffs over 3 long instrumental tracks. With no melody or lyrics and 2 tracks being just drum and bass the music takes on a meditative hypnotic quality.

Others most notably Sun o))) have followed their lead, but this is where the drone started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow, peaceful metal, 24 Jun 2005
This review is from: Earth 2 (Audio CD)
I bought this album after reading an interview with the band in Crypt Magazine ([...] The album is the most tranquil I have listened to in a long time, yet with the hidden depth missing from chill-out albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth 2
Earth 2 by Earth (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews