Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2004
This is less a remix album than a collection of new tracks loosely based around the original recordings which comprised the still-excellent Protection album. What Mad Professor does here is turn up the bass until your ribcage shakes, strips away some of the layers and concentrates on the hypnotic cycles of bass and drums and bass and drums and... it's unsettling, dark and at times dense, but rewarding. I don't know about the first cut being the deepest, but the first track here is the weakest. From thereon in, and just when you may start thinking "I've bought a lemon," the bass rumbles away and sweeps you off with it, and by the time you hit Cool Monsoon, you're away in another dimension. Don't buy this if you want to hear "Protection" with a different drum pattern or arrangement. Buy it if you want to hear a totally different dub-heavy take on a classic album. It's a potent brew.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2004
Fantastic, forget Protection, I think many people who buy this are expecting a remix of Unfinished Sympathy. It's not, it's dub, that's what it was meant to be and that's what it is. It does exactly what it says on the tin.

Dub originates from Jamaican producers in the 60s messing around with the instrumental track of popular reggae hits, often as B sides. The echo chamber often being the weapon of choice, this is what the Professor triumphs at and what he is best remembered for.
It drags you in and spits you out, enveloped in a gluey, sticky bass bubble, adhering you helpless to the sofa and unable to reach for the controls. What a way to go......
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
i've had this album for years, originally i never liked it and it gathered dust on my shelf but recently i rediscovered it and i think its fantastic. imagine my surprise then when watching High Fidelity and it gets quoted by John Cusac... whatever. anyway, i reccomend playing this very late at night, say 4 in the morning when you have had to stay up all night to do lots of work. play it through big headphones and it will sound fantastic to your vulnerable brain. but it does take a few listens to when you first buy it...
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
This set of dubbed out remixes takes a classic of the Bristol trip hop movement and adds a thoroughly warranted dub slant to the underlying melodies. The result is a fantastic reforming of Massive Attack's work with a new depth and sonic impetus which will prove a worthy addition to anyone's collection of smoked out discs. A 90's classic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
What happens when you add one the most popular digital music acts in the uk and one the most prolific dub producers of the century together? pure awesomeness is what! this album will not disappoint, guaranteed. mad professor is a true genius and this talent shines through on this album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2008
As with all music its a very strong matter of personal taste, if you like massive attack you won't neccesarily enjoy this. I love it, but it took me a year before I actually enjoyed it and now is one of my most played album. Great for zoning out and getting lost...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
A GOOD BIT OF DUB A simple yet useful piece of music when one is chilling properly. It's not the greatest dub I have ever heard but it is nicely created. Great for mixing and great for night time moods this works for me. I have since looked at Mad Professors other work and found it to be pretty nice if you like the dub side of life. If you love the original sounds of dub look for Dub Chill out as it has some of the greatest masters of Reggae and dub and will give you a taster of where this came from. As for Massive attack I am in love with most of their work but most of all 100Th window which is dubby but way more grungy. But that's just me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Always meant to buy this again on cd, (as had it on cassette) and, finally did! Taken from the album 'No Protection'..faberooni ! Great music. I ordered this one the dame time as the Kylie cd and this one came a day after but, no bother at all . Very happy . Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Great album,The Prof waves his magic hands over this album 5★s.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2000
Mad Professor has blessed us with a numerous number of classic dub tracks throughout decades, and still does.
The weakness with previous albums is that there are just a few tracks on each album that are really good, but with this collaboration with Massive Attack, every track is a small Masterpiece in itself.
Although it is a few years old, it still feels very fresh. Buy it and enjoy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.52
£5.00
£3.98
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)