Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the music was chosen by Kubrick - he was a genius
As anyone who has seen the movie knows, the music used for 2001: a space odyssey is probably the most unusual and influencial score ever used in the history of movie making - though none of it was written especially for the film.
It is so hard to believe that "Also Sprach Zarathustra" was not written for the 2001 as never was a piece of music so apt. The...
Published on 8 Dec. 2000 by Kurt Whelan

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 8 minutes of music
My opinion on soundtrack cds is that most of the times, they do not stand on their own, and unfortunately "2001" is not an exception. What you get on this disc is, 3 takes of Zarathustra, 2 takes of Blue Danube and the rest of the disc is pretty much atmospheric music, sound effects mixed with some voices and.... that's it! Oh, there's also a "Hal" 9 minutes montage with...
Published on 15 Feb. 2008 by ImmortalWind


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the music was chosen by Kubrick - he was a genius, 8 Dec. 2000
By 
Kurt Whelan (North West of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Audio CD)
As anyone who has seen the movie knows, the music used for 2001: a space odyssey is probably the most unusual and influencial score ever used in the history of movie making - though none of it was written especially for the film.
It is so hard to believe that "Also Sprach Zarathustra" was not written for the 2001 as never was a piece of music so apt. The strange and alien Ligeti tracks are well chosen and Strauss's "Blue Danube", already imortal, is forever waltzing through infinite space. (It would have been better, I think, if the Blue Danube Waltz had been included in its entirety, from begining to end, as one piece, instead of in two halves.)
The inclusion of the original Gyorgy Ligeti "Adventures" adds an interesting touch and shows just how right Kubrick was to have the "altered" version used in the film.
To any fan of the film listening to Hal is always a pleasure so the nine and a half minutes of dialogue included on the CD is an exceptional bonus.
If you saw 2001 in '68 - your life was probably changed forever! This CD is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and surreal, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Audio CD)
THis is a wonderful collection of music that contains so many iconic moments. A must if you like the film and great even if you don't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only reason I bought this is really for the ..., 7 May 2015
By 
D. A. Sinclair (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Audio CD)
The only reason I bought this is really for the LSO version of the Blue Danube. What can I say, the music is a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars space Odyssey Soundtrack, 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001 - A Space Odyssey: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK (Audio CD)
Loved the soundtrack, put me back ino the experience of seeing film - this is one of Kurbrick best ever films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Audio CD)
Great, just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 8 minutes of music, 15 Feb. 2008
This review is from: 2001 - A Space Odyssey: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK (Audio CD)
My opinion on soundtrack cds is that most of the times, they do not stand on their own, and unfortunately "2001" is not an exception. What you get on this disc is, 3 takes of Zarathustra, 2 takes of Blue Danube and the rest of the disc is pretty much atmospheric music, sound effects mixed with some voices and.... that's it! Oh, there's also a "Hal" 9 minutes montage with extracts from the film - completely unnecessery. The 2 main themes last about 8 minutes in total (if you do not count them twice or triple) and that's all the music you'll get from this cd, the rest is pretty boring.

Don't misunderstand me, I love the film (after all I wouldn't have bought the soundtrack), and the music works great on it. But it doesn't stand on its own. I felt so cheated when I first listened to it as I always do when I buy soundtrack (music only) albums.

Concerning the package, it is as good as it can get. It comes with a multi page colourfull booklet with photos and some information on the film, but a good package isn't enough to buy a cd, is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2001 - A Space Odyssey: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK
2001 - A Space Odyssey: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK by Various Artists - Soundtracks - Film Scores (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews