Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wilson Pickett at his soulful best!, 30 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
This is a fine soul album containing sixteen tracks of Wilson Pickett at his best, opening with what many would consider his signature tune 'In The Midnight Hour'. 'Land Of A Thousand Dances' with big punchy brass, and the slower 'Mustang Sally' showing Pickett in great voice - the big band backing and the backing vocals are excellent - this is a rhythm and blues classic! 'I'm as happy as a man can be' sings Wilson with great conviction on Bobby Womack's 'I'm In Love' which he performs superbly. 'She's Lookin' Good' is a funky number with great interplay between guitar and Pickett's vocals throughout the song. There has been some decent covers of Beatles songs, and some not so decent, but Wilson Pickett does justice to 'Hey Jude' and he is helped out by Duane Allman's (Allman Brothers Band and Derek And The Dominoes) guitar work -yeah, nice one! A great intro leads the listener into 'Engine Number 9' where so much is going on musically throughout this song which is truly fascinating stuff - this is good! Well worth a mention is the moving 'Don't Let The Green Grass Fool You' - a good song sung with loads of feeling. Taking Andy Fraser and Paul Rodgers' (Of Free) 'Fire And Water' and making it completely his own works very well. This is a good album of quality material, some of it classic. A welcome cd to my collection. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Soul Is Still Strong, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"Wilson Pickett's Greatest Hits," a compilation album, is unusual among its brethren compilation albums, in that the man really did have lots of greatest hits to compile: not everyone does. But the hits, as backed by the great Muscle Shoals rhythm section Atlantic had put together in the late 1960's, early 1970's, come rolling out here. "Hey Jude," despite all that screaming, better than the Beatles' original for some of us; "In the Midnight Hour;" the immortal, internationally loved "Mustang Sally," "Land of a Thousand Dances," "Funky Broadway," and "Midnight Mover." The man could sing. And, with the backing of the Alabama-based studio band, he can certainly serve as an exemplar of Southern soul music.

As a young man, Pickett demonstrated energy to burn in the creation of his memorable works, and those aggressive horns are with him every inch of the way. I did see him live a few years ago, outdoors one summer lunchtime in Brooklyn, and the man had aged: he was wearing his pants up very high. He was delighted to introduce his daughter, he said she was recently graduated from college, and he leaned on her in more ways than one. It was hot out there in the noontime sun. He could not, of course, reproduce the sound you'll find on this album, but he sure still had the soul for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul at its best, 16 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
The recent passing of Wilson gives the music listener a chance to take stock of the subjects work. Wilson was probably underated by the public. However when one counts up his songs he left us with a golden legacy. Included here are In the midnight hour, land of 1000 dances. Mustang Sally, 634-5789 and his rendition of The Beatles classic Hey Jude which was a surprise top 20 hit in 1969. Also on this set is the beautiful I`m in love. If you are into soul music this is a top c.d. to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Mar 2014
By 
G. R. Wilkinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
if you watched Commitments .... you need this album .. Some great songs on this album ... You wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
What a fantastic album - and very reasonably priced. Highly recommend to all who loved soul music in the 60's !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a listen, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
I like this artist and his type of music so it is a cd I like. Would recommend if it is your kind of musc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett; Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin And There's Nothing More To Say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Artist, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
After purchasing 1 CD found this one and just as pleased as I was with the other that I purchased, will definitely keep an eye for others in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another of my albums comes to life, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
Wilson Pickett has to be heard to be believed. His music was, and still is, timeless. Some of his big hits are included along with other equally gorgeous songs. This album is such a delight to the ear and I'm so glad to have it back in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilson Pickett, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (Audio CD)
I spent 3 glorious years in Cyprus during the sixties and Wilson Picketts music was part of that. Soul music has always been one of my favourite sounds and this album tippifies that and more a great foot tapper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett
The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett by Wilson Pickett (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews