Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2006
This 1997 compilation showcases one of the most authentic and original vocalists of our time in some of her best hits.
Regina's stylish and sultry voice hop-skips genres from mainstream pop to hardcore R&B, from gospel to jazz, offering listeners a slice of what this immensely gifted jazz/soul diva could do. Nancy Wilson and Billie Holiday come to mind.
The songs are splendid and well delivered.
You SHOULD have this Album !!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2003
One of the most revered artists of our generation,vocalist Regina Belle has built a distinctive,deeply personal body of work that trascends time and genre.
Spotlighting her smouldering vocals and adventurous taste in songs,this collection encompasses a diverse array of material,
memorable interpretations of Soul,Jazz and quality Pop and some riveting readings of classics ( e.g. 'Someday We'll All Be Free/Save The Children', 'If I Could', 'Love T.K.O.' ).
If you'll buy this CD,you'll never thank me enough !
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2002
This wonderful collection,meticulously compiled,features some of the ballads that made her worldwide famous.It is a proof of her lasting greatness.POSITIVE !
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2002
Regina Belle stands as one of the most talented ( but also underrated) R&B/Adult Contemporary singers to emerge in the late '80s.This collection is an adequate retrospective: it clocks 74 minutes and the songs are featured in their full length,so therefore this CD is nearly filled to capacity.
Belle is a singer of sophisticated,jazz-infused quiet storm R&B,similar at times to Anita Baker and Phyllis Hyman.She shines brightest on her signature song 'Baby come to me'.Other stand-outs
are the equally beautiful'So many tears'(complete with exquisite saxophone solos),the gorgeous 'If I could' and her biggest hit to date 'A whole new world(Aladdin's Theme)with Peabo Bryson : the song was awarded with several Oscars and Belle got the Grammy.
Plus there is a'prime-cut'jazzy medley 'Someday we'll all be free/Save the children'(Hathaway,Marvin Gaye) which will bring tears to your eyes and send tingles up to your spine! This set provides a very good representation of the classy,sultry Diva's best work.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
When I got this CD I went home and put it on straight away and listened to it all the way through.
A couple of years later I'm still listening tp it.
The CD is almost as brilliant as seeing Ms Regina Belle live!
I absolutly love the songs 'What Goes Around ', 'If I Could' and 'So Many Tears'.
The CD has become one of my favourites and I will carry on listening to it forever.
Hopefully she releases a new one soon!!
..And Amazon will keep the prices of her CDs low...
Actually, they are outrageously HIGH!
The highest on the web.

To Grover With Love
A Tribute to Grover Washington Jr.
Ladies Choice [Us Import]
Lazy Afternoon
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2006
Regina Belle is an excellent, solid , always uncompromising , engaging and consistent performer who has churned out some really nice tracks in the last 20 years.

I'm into Rnb/Soul/Hip Hop, but I have no problem saying that I own this really good set of songs.

Her music has always been ground-breaking,adventurous and extremely good.

"Baby Come To Me" is her signature track, and most people's favourite Regina track. It's a perfect track and one which she will always be able to say is a "classic". This track will get played on radio in another 20 years time.

"A whole New World" is a track with that 90's feel which is catchy but it's track # 3 "So Many Tears" which I love. It's a perfect song for someone you love, and the lyrics are what most of us think of in that situation. It's tracks like this that makes Regina a true star and a real woman with something to say.

"Make It Like It Was" and "If I Could" are two soulful tracks. The latter being more hearfelt and deep about a mother and her child. Great stuff.Please,listen to Celine Dion's version from the album 'Miracle' and then form your opinion on it...

"What Goes Around" is classic Regina. It's her sophisticated sound. "Show Me The Way" is a heart wrenching number, which has some fantastic sax riffs, and a track which only her voice could make sound so real.

She does a jazz cover-medley of the classic Marvin Gaye and Donny Hathaway tracks that is "Save The Children/Someday We'll all Be Free". Its a spectacular effort,and unmatched masterpiece and you won't be skipping it.

The song "A Whole New world" was the killer track that went to number one, and really put her firmly on the map. It still gets lots and lots of airplay today and will for many years to come.

I've nearly forgot to mention the absolute classic duet "All I Want Is Forever". This track was superb when it was released all those years ago - and it still is today.

Regina will never have the superstar status that some have (just think about somebody like Janet Jackson or Celine Dion...In my modest opinion,she outclasses them by far !!!), but I think that she really doesn't care and is happy to be making good quality music that people enjoy.

This set is superb listening and pure,sublime delight for your heart and soul.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
Who said that R&B was dead? Who proclaimed that Nu Soul started with D'Angelo,Badu,Lauryn Hill and Jill Scott?
Please,listen to this album and only after that,you may decide..
This critically acclaimed singer will make you change your mind and eventually will break your heart...because she is Nu Soul and classic R&B altogether with a very pleasant hint of Jazz.
Please,avoid any label and definition before hearing this marvelous collection of great songs which cannot be sung in a more inspired,soulful and modern way.
Despite its release in 1997,the sound is distinctive and innovative and I really would like to recommend it to all people from 10 to 100 years old.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2005
Regina Belle is one of the most acclaimed vocalists in the world and she has been performing and regularly recording on the cutting edge since the late '80s.
This collection is an excellent introduction to this fantastic singer's catalogue, although a couple of her key singles, "Please Be Mine" and her first duet with Peabo Bryson, "Without You," were left off in favor of a few non-hits.
Regina is a superior vocalist of sophisticated,stylish jazz-tinged Soul/R&B music.
The highlights on this set include her signature song 'Baby Come To Me' and the haunting " Show Me The Way" , the gorgeous "If I Could" (which should have been a much bigger hit than it was, if we just compare it to the cover by Barbra Streisand on her album 'Higher Ground' and to the latest,terrible version by Celine Dion on her latest CD ' Miracle'), her take on Teddy Pendergrass' "Love TKO," the Dianne Warren-penned "All I Want Is Forever" (with James "J.T." Taylor), and her biggest hit to date, "A Whole New World (Aladdin's Theme)," again with Peabo Bryson.
' What Goes Around ' and the medley ' Someday We'll All Be Free/Save The Children ' are true jazz pearls.
There is not too much information on the singer or the songs in terms of liner notes, but at least the chart positions of her hits are included. Save for the two omissions, this set provides a good representation of the singer's best work, and it will have to do until the day when a more complete, two-disc retrospective is issued.
Some excellent songs from her last releases should be imperatively added : 'I Am The One ' ( the hidden track ) from ' Believe In Me ', ' Johnny's Back ' and ' From Now On ' from ' This Is Regina ' and the magnificent ' Just The Two Of Us ' from the tribute album ' To Grover With Love ',where she sings like a goddess the Grover Washington,jr- Donny Hathaway hit, with the help of gorgeous solos by jazz greats like George Duke and Steve Cole.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2005
FOR SOMEONE WHO'S NEW TO HER MUSIC. THIS IS QUITE A REMARKABLE TREAT. THIS LADY REALLY SINGS FROM HER HEART AND SOUL. SHE'S IN THE SAME OR EVEN HIGHER LEVEL AS ANITA BAKER, DIANNE REEVES AND OLETA ADAMS TO NAME A FEW. SHE HAS THE CALIBER TO BE A MEGA STAR, BUT REMAINED HUMBLE AND JUST DECIDED TO DO HER THING IN HER OWN WAY.AND HER FOLLOWERS REMAINED LOYAL AS EVER ALL THESE YEARS. I NEVER GET TIRED OF LISTENING TO THIS CD. IT'S A GREAT COMPILATION OF SONGS W/C SHOWCASE MS.BELLES VERSATILITY AND TREMENDOUS TALENT. IT'S RAW, AND BARES HER SOUL ALL THROUGH OUT. IT'S A GREAT CD , IT PUTS U IN A GOOD MOOD AND RELAXES YOUR MIND.MORE POWER TO MS BELLE, MAY U CONTINUE TO CREATE WONDERFUL SONGS!!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
all compnents on this cd are excellent. Songwriting, song selection, orchestration and the sultry jazz-inflected vocals of Regina Belle. A superb collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£12.08

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)