Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!
One of the best films of 94 and one of the funniest films of the decade was successful mainly because of the two central partnerships- Carrey and Daniels, and the Farrelly Brothers. One of the things you notice upon repeated viewings (although many notice on their first watch) is the high quality soundtrack mostly made up of new music from the era. The only letdown of...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by carlosnightman

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish! Don't waste your time!
I bought this to get hold of a few tracks, and was hoping that the album would hold all the tracks from the film. It doesn't and some of the tracks on there are utter s**te, don't waste your time!
Published on 29 May 2005 by Dicko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 4 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
One of the best films of 94 and one of the funniest films of the decade was successful mainly because of the two central partnerships- Carrey and Daniels, and the Farrelly Brothers. One of the things you notice upon repeated viewings (although many notice on their first watch) is the high quality soundtrack mostly made up of new music from the era. The only letdown of this CD is that it leaves out a few of the best tracks from the movie, namely `Where I Find My Heaven' and `Can We Still Be Friends'. Whether this was down to legal issues or time constraints I don't know, but the exclusion is pretty inexcusable. Luckily what is included is a collection of fun, at times humourous songs which will remind fans of the movie of their favourite scenes. Those not familiar or keen on the movie will still find something they like in this eclectic mix, from punk to funk, from whimsical to poptastic.

`The Ballad Of Peter Pumpkinhead' kicks off the album in a fitting way- it begins at the first part of the lads' journey in the movie. By the Crash Test Dummies who were riding on a wave of success at the time, and with vocals from Ellen Reid who adds a sweet almost country twang. It is an upbeat lively cover and in many ways is the film's theme song given the wacky but tender lyrics. It is a fun, sing-along song with great melodies and nice harmonica work.

`New Age Girl' has an intro full of madness and humour- everyone knows the duh-duh- raugh chant. Deadeye Dick put plenty of bounce into the offbeat story of a hippy style new age girl, and a series of questions concerning her between friends. It has the most manic and funny lyrics on the album, and has a West Coast pop feel to it. There are many memorable moments, great melodies, and it is an interesting take on the traditional love song. Once again this seems to go well with the characters and plot of the film not least because of Mary.

`Insomniac' is a good song by Echobelly, full of Britpop melodies and angst. Jangly guitars playing alongside Sonya Madan's sultry, off kilter tones are the main focus. Strong lyrics involving love, sex, and the terrible effects these can have on you.

`If You Don't Love Me I'll Kill Myself' is a staunchly Yankee song sandwiched between 2 Euro songs, and has an almost country feel to it. I like the sentiment- a feeling I'm sure most romantics and losers in love have felt, I like the lyrics as a whole, and the music is quite jaunty and bouncy rather than going for the obvious stream of minor chords.

`Crash' is the popular song by The Primitives; here it is the slightly different 95 mix. Again it is a fast, fun, upbeat song although the lyrics are pretty dark for such a catchy pop song. This is probably the most famous song on the album and again it suits the film's road movie, collision course story perfectly.

`Whiney Whiney' is a song I tend to skip- mainly because that whole Shaggy sounding rough Caribbean sound grates on me. Having said that, it is catchy enough and is a humourous pastiche of a host of other songs.

`Hurdy Gurdy Man' by the Butt hole Surfers is a song which I can take or leave- some days I enjoy it, sometimes it is annoying. It is tuneless for the most part with transparent melodies, but the overall hurdy gurdy effect I like more than dislike. Again though this is a song which often gets the skip treatment.

`Too Much Of A Good Thing' is probably my favourite song in the movie and on the soundtrack, featuring in a couple of scenes. The central chords are memorable, the lyrics are very good, and there is quite a moody late night feel throughout. There are a couple of quiet breaks before the conclusion meaning it almost becomes a mini epic. Of the songs used here that were not a hit, this one deserved that status the most.

`The Bear Song' is certainly the heaviest song on the album with heavy distorted guitars and a swirling bass riff. The lyrics are suitably insane repeating over and over and it features some odd impressions. The song is related to the infamous pepper scene of the movie; both build up steadily to the selling point.

`Take' continues the heavy song flow and is an almost grunge tone. There are angry riffs which compliment angrier lyrics. It stands out from the other melancholy songs because of this fact, while the other songs usually cover up the downbeat nature of the words with a jolly, blue sky sound. Luckily the melodies here are fine, though in the grand scheme of things it's just an average angst ridden rock song.

`You Sexy Thing' is an instant skip- I've yet to hear a version of this I like and this is amongst the worst. It tries to be different, it adds some funky twists, but even though I see that Lamborghini when I hear it, I still have to skip.

`Get Ready' closes the album in an effective enough way- The Proclaimers seem like a suitable musical match to Harry and Lloyd. Upbeat and up tempo it doesn't leave any bad tastes, though it isn't outstanding in any way. The lyrics again reflect the love story and journey of the characters, and it is fuelled by a bluesy rhythm and shout along chorus.

Overall this is a strong soundtrack to accompany one of my personal favourite films. The songs have been nicely selected to suit the varying, albeit limited, moods of the film- from up tempo fun, downbeat and tender, to hysterical distortion. A good soundtrack should be capable of standing on its own feet, the problem is usually coherence- it's just a bunch of songs strewn together with no semblance of continuity of relativity. Naturally if you're a fan of the film in question this coherence comes from your own relationship to the film- as you listen you recall your favourite parts. Dumb and Dumber strikes a chord between your fond memories and being a collection of average to great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some tracks missing - but still not bad, 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
First of all be aware that the two best tracks from the film, MmmMmmMmm by the Crash Test Dummies and Where I Find My Heaven by The Gigolo Aunts are *not* on this CD. Which really sucks.
However, it does make up for it with the amazing "Too Much Of A Good Thing" by The Sons featuring Brett Reilly, and "Crash" by the Primitives. The rest of the album seemed mediocre to me when I first bought it about seven years ago but after repeated listening the other tracks have grown on me, particularly "New Age Girl" and "Insomniac"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great mix.... except one track, 8 Sep 2000
By 
From the start with the inimitable ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead through to crash by the Primitives and then coursing on to where I find my heaven by the Gigolo Aunts, well really, where could you go wrong with just those three? But there is so much more! It must be one of the coolest soundtracks about. Of course every soundtrack is going to have a dog of a song on and this collections has to be Willi one blood. Where they got that song from, well I have no idea and it does sort of kill it for me. But flip side coming up, there is a Proclaimers track on there, hey I know as well as you do that they are not cool, well nor is smoking kids and how many of you do that huh? I could go on to dribble about how an Echobelly song fills my soul with pleasure, but I think that would be gushing just a little too much for you. Hey, quit the reading, go buy it, you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing a couple of tracks?, 23 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
Soundtracks are straight-forward... If you like the music in the film then you will like the soundtrack. That applies here, hearing the songs reminds one of the feel of the film. However, oddly the official S.T seems to not include: The opening track (Wind your body), the emotive track at the protagonits fall-out (mmm mmm mmm by crash test dummies), and the love montage track ('I love the flower girl').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who buys this kind of thing?, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ME!!!! I bought it because I love 'Crash' by the Primitives and 'Where I find My Heaven' by the Gigolo Aunts. I bought it second hand for 10p, so getting two brilliant tracks made the embarrassment of ordering the CD worthwhile! Honestly, when the parcel arrived, the envelope was wide open, but no-one had stolen the CD..............why would that be? Hehehehe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
One of the BEST film OST's ever made only containing one problem which is these releases do not have Gigolo Aunts "Where I Find My Heaven" for what ever copy right reason there is but other than that the rest are there very good thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG! The tunage must be heard, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
once in a generation there appears a film that makes you laugh so hard it hurts...this was that film. But not only this, it also has a soundtrack to die for. If you have seen this film then you have also had an amazing preview to the awesome songs contained on this disk. I have no idea why it took me so long to buy this CD....buy it, stick it in your car, crank it up to the max and go cruising like a BOSS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 27 July 2009
By 
Dr. Shamas A. Sadieq (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not sure what to say but had no problems. only liked a few tracks though so don't know whether it was worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album!, 1 Feb 2002
By 
rwilso@talk21.com (South coast, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
I loved the film and loved some of the songs I then got the tape and it well met up to my expectations. Love all the songs on the A side but the b side lets the album down.
A bit disappointed with the Butthole Surfers singing "Hurdy Gurdy Man" it sounds like a tape cassette gone wrong.
Green Jelly with "The Bear Song" just isn't for me. The song is more shouting than singing.
High praise for The Sons "Too Much Of A Good Thing", and The Lupins "Take".
Also, (a bit of controversey here) I liked Dee-Lites version of "You Sexy Thing" and The Proclaimers "Get Ready". Knowing the words to these songs already you can have a good sing along.
This is a good album to listen to when you are in your car on your own, when no one can hear your bad singing!Go buy this album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish! Don't waste your time!, 29 May 2005
By 
Dicko (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dumb & Dumber (Audio CD)
I bought this to get hold of a few tracks, and was hoping that the album would hold all the tracks from the film. It doesn't and some of the tracks on there are utter s**te, don't waste your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dumb & Dumber [CASSETTE]
Dumb & Dumber [CASSETTE] by Various Artists (Audio Cassette - 1994)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews