Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home the finest guitar solo ever?
This is not just an album of simply breathtaking guitar work - though there's plenty of that;what this album is really about is stunning composition. Eric Johnson serves up so many gorgeous melodies here,on guitar and vocals,you're left reeling by the time "Venus reprise" washes over you.This is a finely crafted piece of work with one of the greatest finales...
Published on 29 Sep 2000 by R. Kenyon

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Realistic review
It's a pleasant enough album, but I really don't think it's worthy of 5 stars (and I speak as a fan and guitarist very much in awe of his ability). I just bought this album, having owned 'ah via musicom' for several years, and I can't really say there's any great improvement from that album to this. There's rocky Eric, jazzy Eric, Eric the delay + reverb + clean strat...
Published on 8 Nov 2003 by Mr. N. H. Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home the finest guitar solo ever?, 29 Sep 2000
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
This is not just an album of simply breathtaking guitar work - though there's plenty of that;what this album is really about is stunning composition. Eric Johnson serves up so many gorgeous melodies here,on guitar and vocals,you're left reeling by the time "Venus reprise" washes over you.This is a finely crafted piece of work with one of the greatest finales ever recorded. It's possible to enjoy this music on several levels too - the vocals are strong enough to make it accessable,whilst the sheer virtuosity of Johnson's guitar playing presents a feast to all musos. I think "Lonely in the Night" may contain the most exquisite epic guitar solo of all time...seriously. You'd better buy this and decide for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shocking ... 1996, 5 Jun 2006
By 
Vaclav Smerda "vs3" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
My second Johnson CD I bought was Venus Isle. Released 6 years after Ah Via Musicom I didn't really know what to expect, 6 years is a long way to go and enough time for lots of changes in style ...

Looking at the songs, you'll find there Manhattan and Camel's Night Out, Johnson played these two on the G3 tour with JS and SV. And for me, they are classics.

This is an excellent album. The first two songs are beautiful (Venus Isle, Battle We Have Won) and the following ones are of the same high quality. On the cover you can read that EJ is called Baron Von Tone, well, listening to how he can play and how it sounds, you cannot disagree. Don't expect any races, you will find nice melodic songs with very technical solos, you will find guitar sound that is just one of it's kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 13 July 2004
By 
Simon Daultrey "g3fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
I must have bought this album 5 times! I have one framed on my wall, beneath the original lithograph of it's beautiful front cover, because it really is that good.
Venus Isle is by far the best CD in my collection, and it's up against some stiff competition, from some amazing musicians, like Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Dream Theater, Stevie Ray Vaughan.
Eric Johnson is my favourite guitarist and musician, and this album is a clear showcase of what he is capable of. The most outstanding thing when you listen to mr Johnson is, of course, his tone. On this album it is perfect, and if you concentrate hard on what the different instruments are doing in each song, you'll never hear any tone you don't like the sound of.
Venus Isle is a brilliantly ballanced combination of vocal tracks and instrumentals, so there's never a moment when you'll be thinking "oh god, another guitar solo". Eric has such good taste, the song arrangements are flawless, and the different moods and vibes expressed throughout the album blend seemlessly.
He has a good singing voice too, and writes good songs. The best piece on there is Lonely In The Night, written by EJ and Vince Mariani, and it hosts the best guitar solo I have heard. This is the sort of album suitable for a variety of tastes, and it is equally at home as background music for a dinner with friends, as it is being something to fully concentrate on, something to take your mind on a journey.
Venus Isle is ageing brilliantly - it will always sound fresh, and you will always hear something new every time you put it on.
This is guitar music for everyone, not guitar music for guitarists. 5 stars doesn't seem enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Jan 2003
By 
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
One word sums up this album; Amazing. It's one of the best albums I've heard and there's not one negative thing I can say about it. Ok, some songs sound a little similar but is there a guitarist that can make themselves sound totally different in one style of music? This is an album worthy of any music fan's collection. I bought this album out of curiousity to see what Eric Johnson was like (I'd only heard about 6 of his songs previously) and all I can say it was money well spent. Satriani was one of my favourite guitarists up until now but I find Eric's music a lot more relaxing and easy to listen too. He's got a nice voice on tracks he performs vocal duties on. If you're into laid back soft rock/rock and melodic instrumentals, this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 12 Sep 2000
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album, it has everything any music lover needs, real tone and feeling, depth in playing, it rocks from blues through 2 jazz and rock this is the ultimate CD, the best i have ever bought. Rock on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the sound of angels, 26 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
Just as near to perfection as one can be. No one had ever played with such inspiration and tone. This record is haunting me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling, mature music from the geetar meastro, 7 Nov 1999
By 
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
Full of spanking good tunes. Eric's playing has matured over the years, but has lost none the early "attack" - rather it has mellowed. My favourites are "Manhattan" and "Camel's Night Out" - these have a rocky/jazzy feel and his fluttering guitar style really shines. "SRV" is a homage to the late, great Stevie Ray Vaughn - a real trip down memory lane. Vocal numbers such as "Where the Sun Meets the Sky" and "All About You" embody the mood of late 90's (and I hate to use the term) AOR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem waiting to be discovered, 2 Nov 2004
By 
C. J. Nash "Kol" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
Venus Isle stands proud in my music collection. The the mood and quality of the arrangements are just perfect. I've had this album for many years now and I always go back to it with the same enthusiasm as when I first played it. The work is timeless with soaring guitar solos that lift your soul. Just perfect notes and tones all the way. This gem of an album remains undiscovered by many. My only regret is that Chis Johnson has never been able to recapture this magic formula, but maybe thats what makes it so special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, catchy tunes, melodic guitar at it's best., 7 Sep 2004
By 
D S Rowe (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
I actually purchased this album based on the reviews I read here at Amazon, and I have to agree this is a fantastic piece of work. Technically, the playing throughout this album is outstanding, but complexity of the guitar is hardly noticed because it fits so well within the song. At no point do you find yourself saying, 'he only put that bit in to show off' - as with many virtuoso guitarists. You will find yourself singing songs from here all day, and wonder why this album isn't issued as standard with every CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!, 16 Jun 2002
This review is from: Venus Isle (Audio CD)
oh my god, ive always beena rock/blues fan and was recently introduced to joe satriani and steve vai. Whilke their music is excellent and technically dazzling, i was sometimes left wanting by their music. A friend then recommended eric johnson and this album. WOW! If you have any sense and can afford it then buy it, its that simple. Thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venus Isle
Venus Isle by Eric Johnson (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews