Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was and remains a terrific overview of the Beatles output
I know this lp record well having been bought UK copy in 1977 and replacing it in the early 90's with the last analogue edition, which is a "best of" the Beatles covering the period from the Sgt Pepper album to the Long and Winding Road from the Let it Be album taking in such singles as Strawberry Fields Forever, Hey Jude, Revolution and Get Back with a selection from the...
Published 5 months ago by C. Rigby

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected.
Not sure what to make of this. Came shrink wrapped but no security seal. Stain in middle of gate fold which I can scratch off with finger nail (possibly dried milk or egg yolk). Cds were housed in U shaped plastic bags, one of which was badly ripped. Print quality on cds is poor, one faded round edges. Looking at the back of cds, seem to be different 'brands' with...
Published 12 months ago by ben


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was and remains a terrific overview of the Beatles output, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
C. Rigby (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know this lp record well having been bought UK copy in 1977 and replacing it in the early 90's with the last analogue edition, which is a "best of" the Beatles covering the period from the Sgt Pepper album to the Long and Winding Road from the Let it Be album taking in such singles as Strawberry Fields Forever, Hey Jude, Revolution and Get Back with a selection from the White and Abbey Road albums. It was and remains a terrific overview of the Beatles output, an enduring high point in twentieth century popular music.
Why bother with this re-release?
The first reason for newer Beatle fans is each mix is as it was issued in 1973 so for instance A Day In The Life is faded in rather than the cold start used in the 1993 cd (and 1994 digitally re-mastered lp) and the 2010 cd editions.
For those of us who have older vinyl editions, it has been mastered from the original 1973 UK analogue master tapes but free from the restrictions on both the low and high notes used then to help cheaper players play it without issues and also without the small amount of analogue compression used to keep the sound more consistently louder people then expected.
In practical terms the sound is more more alive with deeper and more defined low notes and bigger contrasts between the quiet and louder portions. The high notes are cleaner sounding than my early 90's copy.
The vinyl is a bit heavier - around 140 grams - quieter although the original UK copies were very good for the era and is packaged with with a background essay now.
Comparing the two, I'd say this is the best so far this album and many of the songs in stereo have sounded, so I'd recommend it.
*This is a S.M.. review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important pop document ever, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
Spanning the Beatles' career from its glorious high-water mark to its bitter and plaintive end, this CD is perhaps the most essential item for any pop/rock collection.
Listen to the first few songs especially, and be prepared to be blown away, especially if you are not overly familiar with the group's work.
It starts with their first psychadelic single, "Strawberry Field Forever" (plus its double A-side, "Penny Lane"). Can you imagine a group today releasing a single with two such timeless and monumental songs on the same disc? It is questionable whether such a record will ever be released again. It's just a shame the British public didn't know what was good for them, instead keeping the Beatles off the No 1 spot in favour of Engelbert Humperdink's "Release Me"!
Next comes the first three songs from "Sgt Pepper", then "A Day in the Life", a song which totally transcends the pop or rock idiom, whilst avoiding pretentiousness or pomp. Follow this with "All You Need Is Love" and "I Am the Walrus", and you begin to see just how amazing the start of this record is. Each one of these songs is better than the best songs ever written by nearly every other group, and they're all here in sequence.
Inevitably things go slightly downhill from there on in, although still well worth the 5 star rating. There is "Lady Madonna", "Hey Jude", "Revolution" and many another such classic.
It is questionable why the compilers sought to add numbers such as "Old Brown Shoe" or "Octopus' Garden" - hardly amongst the group's best output. However, the quality rises again with the later more mature and less psychadelic songs, such as "Something" and "Let It Be".
The big omission from the Red and Blue albums is anything from "Revolver" (they only feature the "Eleanor Rigby/Yellow Submarine" single). Also, some fans would have preferred "Blackbird" to "Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da". But minor quibbles apart, this CD is more than entertainment - it's a musical education. Almost every group since this work was released has drawn on it in some shape or form.
Along with Britten, Stravinsky, Gershwin and Ellington, this is surely the essence of the greatest music of the 20th Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Mother Mary Comes To Me...Speaking Words Of Wisdom...", 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Commonly known as the "Blue Album", the 2LP vinyl set "1967 - 1970" became an instant classic when it was first released in April 1973 (as did its "Red" counterpart "1962-1966"). When they were finally reissued onto the new CD format in 1993 however, they caused consternation because of their extortionate full price.

So is this newly remastered 2010 mid-priced 2CD reissue on EMI/Apple 5099990674723 any better - the answer is an emphatic 'yes'.

PACKAGING:
The first thing you notice is that the clunky double jewel-case of the 1993 reissue has been dumped for a three-way foldout card sleeve. The centre and right flaps picture the photograph on the inner gatefold of the original vinyl double album (St. Pancras Old Church in London, 27 July 1969, The Beatles with the public looking through the railings - it's the same photo on the "Red" album). It also houses the two CDs - CD1 has the full Apple label (14 tracks, 51:15 minutes) and the 2nd CD has the half Apple logo (14 tracks, 48:43 minutes). The vinyl set is yet to come, the Digital Download versions are available from 25 Oct 2010 and there's also an issue that lumps both the Blue & Red reissues together as one package in late November.

The left flap houses a new 32-page booklet. The lyrics are intact from the inner sleeves of the original album issue, there's new liner notes by BILL FLANAGAN the MTV Executive and author of "Evening's Empire" (a book on Rock in the Sixties) and there's plenty of superb colour photos from the period - it's impressively done. Downsides - some complained that the 09/09/09 card digipak sleeves for The Beatles reissues were easy to smudge once out of the shrinkwrap and worse - the inner flaps easy to tear as you removed the disc. I'm afraid these are the same. I suppose I would have been naïve of us to think that EMI would actually listen to the complaints of 2009 about packaging, but they haven't - the need for these issues to look the same as the preceding ones has overridden all considerations... Having said that, I still think they look great - substantial even...

PLAYING TIMES:
Unlike the "Red" issue which could easily have fitted onto 1CD (and even included bonus tracks), as you can see from the playing times provided above, it would not have been possible with this set. Anyway - EMI would of course argue that a single CD issue of this most `iconic' of double albums would fundamentally alter the aesthetic of the original release. At least this time, this 2CD reissue is at mid price, so we're not being charged for the privilege of separation.

TRACK CHOICES:
The compilation itself is basically the A-sides of all their UK 7" singles releases between 1967 and 1970 in chronological release date order with a few key album tracks thrown in for good measure. Eagle-eye fans would therefore note that up to and including "Get Back" - ALL Beatles UK 7" singles for that period were issued only in MONO ("The Ballad Of John & Yoko" was their 1st STEREO single in the UK). So the tracks on the album should reflect that - the MONO single mixes. But EMI did nothing of the sort. They're all in STEREO (there's 4 MONO on the "Red" set) and i would argue that accuracy's loss is the listener's gain, because the STEREO versions used here are awesome.

SOUND:
Although the compilation is copyrighted to 2010 (released Monday 18 Oct 2010 in the UK and 19 Oct 2010 in the USA), the liner notes don't try to hide that these are the 2009 remasters by the same team who did the much-praised Beatles catalogue of 09/09/09. The sound quality is fantastic - breathtaking clarity on instruments - the piano and guitars on "Lady Madonna", the jet screeching in at the opening of "Back In The U.S.S.R", the brass on "All You Need Is Love", Billy Preston's superb keyboard work on "Let It Be", the wonderfully loose live feel of "Don't Let Me Down" (best B-side ever?) - and so on.

CONTENT:
But what impresses most is the actual listen itself. Even now, it's truly shocking to hear just how accomplished The Beatles became during this ludicrously productive period. And diversity of writers crept in too. There's the 3 Harrison gems "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Old Brown Shoe" and the magical "Something" while Ringo gets the witty "Octopus's Garden". Leaving the rest as Lennon-McCartney originals. And what an embarrassment of riches they are...

7" perfection comes twice - "Strawberry Fields Forever" b/w "Penny Lane" and arguably the greatest single ever released - "Hey Jude" b/w "Revolution" (melodious Paul on the A with rockin' blistering John on the B). Most bands would kill a close relative to get anywhere near this level of genius. And by the time you get to the ballads at the end of Disc 2 - "The Long And Winding Road" and "Across The Universe" - adjectives begin to fail you... Were The Beatles really 'this' good - the answer is yes - and always will be.

To sum up - the sound on these new reissues is fabulous; the packaging better than the 1993 versions and each is being sold at mid-price - available in most places for less than the price of a single new album. You can't help but think that millions of people globally will take one look at these beauties on a shelf somewhere and slap them straight into their shopping baskets. And rightly so...

I've loved re-hearing these classic Beatles songs in this beautiful sound quality - I really have - and despite some minor packaging quibbles - the 2010 version of the "Blue" album is wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds better than ever, 40 years on., 12 Mar. 2012
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
So is it worth spending money on yet another release of familiar but classic music that first saw the light of day over 40 years ago. Well the answer is yes because the technology is available now to make it all sound so fresh and clear, even when compared to the previous CD releases.
It is when comparisons are made to the original vinyl records that came out in the 1960's that the difference in sound quality becomes noticeable. I should know because I bought most of the Beatles albums and singles the first time round, in a lot of cases on the day of release. The original 1970 Apple Records vinyl Let It Be album is a case in point, being muffled and tinny despite being in stereo. The tracks from that original release have now been re-mastered for this collection and the audio quality is now that much better.
It is close to impossible for anyone who was not around in the 60's to really understand the huge and lasting impact that The Beatles made at the time, not just on popular music but also in culture and social attitudes. Their influence was only matched by that made by Elvis a few years earlier. This album and it's companion Red 1962-66 set will go some way to explaining everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential album, 9 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our ten year old boy has been studying the 1960s in his history lessons - how old does that me feel! - and has developed a thing for the Beatles. We bought him both the Red and the Blue albums for Christmas. So many albums boast the title 'greatest hits' and contain a collection of mediocre, transient songs that don't age at all well. With these albums the Beatles don't have to go for the big sell-in. After the White Album, Red and Blue will do for titles for two albums that are crammed full with many of the greatest songs ever written.

The Blue album is a double CD charting the second half of the Beatles' career. years. The tracks are generally longer than on the Red Album but they're by no means overblown with most coming in under an economical four minutes again showing off the genius that was Lennon and McCartney. The last thing they need is a critique from me! Essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Beatles, 5 May 2007
By 
Malcolm Robertson (Moscow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Blue Album 1967-70 is an essential in any collector's repertoire. Where as the Red Album 1962-66 covers the Beatles pop classics during the early Sixties these latter songs encompass the most creative years by the Beatles encapsulating the more serious side of their musical talents. From the poetic `Across the Universe' to the Pepper classic `A Day in the Life' to their anthem, `Hey Jude' this album never fails to satisfy discerning listeners due to its great diversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of songs., 7 Feb. 2003
This is by far my favorite Beatles album (and I own all of them).
It has material from their most creative period and effectivly abandons the "#1 hits" format that Beatles CD's have gotten locked into and not acknowledged other good songs like "I Am the Walrus" or "A Day In the Life". It also includes material from the "White Album", which as good as it is, is always ignored on Beatles hits discs.
Furthermore all four members are given recognition not just John and Paul; "Octapus's Garden" by Ringo and such songs as "Here Comes the Sun" and others by George are included, whereas the new compilation "1" only features one George song: "Something", which is a superb song, but not a sufficent tribute to the Dark Horse in itself.
Also included are full lyrics to all of the songs. This is especially appreciated for songs like "Come Together" on which one can easily forget the words. There are also photographs in the 24-page booklet,which is quite a lot, considering most of the Beatles albums are completly devoid of any notes at all.
Overall a five star disc because not only does it include hits, it has B-sides like "Don't Let Me Down" and "Revolution", full lyrics to all songs, and it acknowleges all four members. Easily ten stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible but over-priced, 21 Dec. 2012
The red and blue albums are easily the best Beatles compilations out there, and have been since their launch in 1973. They combine the great, ground-breaking singles with other seminal stand-out tracks from albums and B sides. In this day and age however the shortness of the songs means that the two together could be a double CD, and the price shifted accordingly. However, the group are a cash cow I suppose and this is what we end up with. Can't fault the material (though I would have had Hey Bulldog in for Old Brown Shoe)and some of the more disdainful comments arise I think from the group's ubiquity in top ten lists, but it is great music, lauded for a very good reason. Get the best deal you can and enjoy the phenomenal creativity and virtuosity on show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1967-1970...AND FOREVERMORE ..THE BEATLES, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Is A Fantastic Re-Release And Compliments The 1962-1966 Album Superbly ,
First Of All I Am A Massive Fan Of The Beatles....I Did"t Have Any Choice , You See I Was Born In 1963
And I Have 3 Brothers And A Sister All Older Than Me , The Oldest Being My Sister Who Was Born In 1950
my 3 Brothers Born In , 1952 , 1953, 1957, (Sadly One Of My Brothers Has Passed Away A Few Years Ago...the one born in 1957)
And Each And Every One Of Them Was Big Big Beatles Fans And I Remember Hearing The Beatles Music From A Very Early Age I Would Be A Liar If I Said I Know Which Song I Heard First...Because I Don"t Know But All Of My Life Growing Up Was Beatles Music, And I Love Them And I Have A Fantastic Collection Of All Formats Of Beatles Albums , C.D.s And Box Sets And Yes Even This Album When Original Release In 1973. So When I Was Aware That This Album Was To Be Released Again As A Newly Re Mastered Vinyl Edition , Well I Just Had To Buy It And It Does Not Disappoint in Any Way,
It Has The Fantastic Singles That Were Released From The Beatles Latter Years As A Band , From The Psychedelic And Drug Inspired STRAWBERRY FIELDS FOREVER , to The Uncomfortable Recordings Of The LET IT BE sessions But We Also Have The Fantastic Releases From The Brilliant Last Album ABBEY ROAD , When George Harrison Cemented His Place As A Serious Songwriter With HERE COMES THE SUN and The Beautiful SOMETHING ....But That"s Not All The Historic Tracks From The Album That Changed British Music Culture The World Has Ever Known , With SARGENT PEPPERS LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND, And Even Tracks From The White Album, So There Are Many Different Periods And Genre Of The Beatles On This One Album , All Mixed In Nicely From A 3 Year Timescale.
This Album Has It All,
I Sincerely And Wholeheartedly Recommend That You Spoil Yourself And Purchase This Fantastic Album And Enjoy The Beatles Latter Years ...You Really Deserve It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes me wish I had been there, 18 Jan. 2000
So the Beatles split long before I was born, but still this album manages to take me back to their time. As I was raised with the Beatles as background music, this album not only allows me to remember the "old days" as well as the sixties. Every track here is so good, it is almost sad when you look at other "Greatest Hits" records. If only the Beatles had stayed together, would they have remained as cool as this, it's impossible to say. But why consider when you can marvel at masterpieces such as Lucy In The Sky, Sgt Pepper, I am the Walrus, Hey Jude, Revolution, Come Together and so many others my keyboard may give up by the time I've finished. Do yourself a favour and buy this CD, so it's more expensive than some other CD's. But as I was once told, You get what you pay for, and that sums this album up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beatles Blue 1967-70 [CASSETTE]
Beatles Blue 1967-70 [CASSETTE] by The Beatles (Audio Cassette - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews