Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds better than ever, 40 years on.
So is it worth spending money on yet another release of familiar but classic music that first saw the light of day over 40 years ago. Well the answer is yes because the technology is available now to make it all sound so fresh and clear, even when compared to the previous CD releases.
It is when comparisons are made to the original vinyl records that came out in the...
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Al-13

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wher is it
havent recived it yet ordered the RED album and by jingo got it in two day see my revew on the RED album.
Published 4 months ago by ken haynes


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds better than ever, 40 years on., 12 Mar 2012
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
So is it worth spending money on yet another release of familiar but classic music that first saw the light of day over 40 years ago. Well the answer is yes because the technology is available now to make it all sound so fresh and clear, even when compared to the previous CD releases.
It is when comparisons are made to the original vinyl records that came out in the 1960's that the difference in sound quality becomes noticeable. I should know because I bought most of the Beatles albums and singles the first time round, in a lot of cases on the day of release. The original 1970 Apple Records vinyl Let It Be album is a case in point, being muffled and tinny despite being in stereo. The tracks from that original release have now been re-mastered for this collection and the audio quality is now that much better.
It is close to impossible for anyone who was not around in the 60's to really understand the huge and lasting impact that The Beatles made at the time, not just on popular music but also in culture and social attitudes. Their influence was only matched by that made by Elvis a few years earlier. This album and it's companion Red 1962-66 set will go some way to explaining everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Mother Mary Comes To Me...Speaking Words Of Wisdom...", 19 Oct 2010
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Commonly known as the "Blue Album", the 2LP vinyl set "1967 - 1970" became an instant classic when it was first released in April 1973 (as did its "Red" counterpart "1962-1966"). When they were finally reissued onto the new CD format in 1993 however, they caused consternation because of their extortionate full price.

So is this newly remastered 2010 mid-priced 2CD reissue on EMI/Apple 5099990674723 any better - the answer is an emphatic 'yes'.

PACKAGING:
The first thing you notice is that the clunky double jewel-case of the 1993 reissue has been dumped for a three-way foldout card sleeve. The centre and right flaps picture the photograph on the inner gatefold of the original vinyl double album (St. Pancras Old Church in London, 27 July 1969, The Beatles with the public looking through the railings - it's the same photo on the "Red" album). It also houses the two CDs - CD1 has the full Apple label (14 tracks, 51:15 minutes) and the 2nd CD has the half Apple logo (14 tracks, 48:43 minutes). The vinyl set is yet to come, the Digital Download versions are available from 25 Oct 2010 and there's also an issue that lumps both the Blue & Red reissues together as one package in late November.

The left flap houses a new 32-page booklet. The lyrics are intact from the inner sleeves of the original album issue, there's new liner notes by BILL FLANAGAN the MTV Executive and author of "Evening's Empire" (a book on Rock in the Sixties) and there's plenty of superb colour photos from the period - it's impressively done. Downsides - some complained that the 09/09/09 card digipak sleeves for The Beatles reissues were easy to smudge once out of the shrinkwrap and worse - the inner flaps easy to tear as you removed the disc. I'm afraid these are the same. I suppose I would have been na´ve of us to think that EMI would actually listen to the complaints of 2009 about packaging, but they haven't - the need for these issues to look the same as the preceding ones has overridden all considerations... Having said that, I still think they look great - substantial even...

PLAYING TIMES:
Unlike the "Red" issue which could easily have fitted onto 1CD (and even included bonus tracks), as you can see from the playing times provided above, it would not have been possible with this set. Anyway - EMI would of course argue that a single CD issue of this most `iconic' of double albums would fundamentally alter the aesthetic of the original release. At least this time, this 2CD reissue is at mid price, so we're not being charged for the privilege of separation.

TRACK CHOICES:
The compilation itself is basically the A-sides of all their UK 7" singles releases between 1967 and 1970 in chronological release date order with a few key album tracks thrown in for good measure. Eagle-eye fans would therefore note that up to and including "Get Back" - ALL Beatles UK 7" singles for that period were issued only in MONO ("The Ballad Of John & Yoko" was their 1st STEREO single in the UK). So the tracks on the album should reflect that - the MONO single mixes. But EMI did nothing of the sort. They're all in STEREO (there's 4 MONO on the "Red" set) and i would argue that accuracy's loss is the listener's gain, because the STEREO versions used here are awesome.

SOUND:
Although the compilation is copyrighted to 2010 (released Monday 18 Oct 2010 in the UK and 19 Oct 2010 in the USA), the liner notes don't try to hide that these are the 2009 remasters by the same team who did the much-praised Beatles catalogue of 09/09/09. The sound quality is fantastic - breathtaking clarity on instruments - the piano and guitars on "Lady Madonna", the jet screeching in at the opening of "Back In The U.S.S.R", the brass on "All You Need Is Love", Billy Preston's superb keyboard work on "Let It Be", the wonderfully loose live feel of "Don't Let Me Down" (best B-side ever?) - and so on.

CONTENT:
But what impresses most is the actual listen itself. Even now, it's truly shocking to hear just how accomplished The Beatles became during this ludicrously productive period. And diversity of writers crept in too. There's the 3 Harrison gems "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Old Brown Shoe" and the magical "Something" while Ringo gets the witty "Octopus's Garden". Leaving the rest as Lennon-McCartney originals. And what an embarrassment of riches they are...

7" perfection comes twice - "Strawberry Fields Forever" b/w "Penny Lane" and arguably the greatest single ever released - "Hey Jude" b/w "Revolution" (melodious Paul on the A with rockin' blistering John on the B). Most bands would kill a close relative to get anywhere near this level of genius. And by the time you get to the ballads at the end of Disc 2 - "The Long And Winding Road" and "Across The Universe" - adjectives begin to fail you... Were The Beatles really 'this' good - the answer is yes - and always will be.

To sum up - the sound on these new reissues is fabulous; the packaging better than the 1993 versions and each is being sold at mid-price - available in most places for less than the price of a single new album. You can't help but think that millions of people globally will take one look at these beauties on a shelf somewhere and slap them straight into their shopping baskets. And rightly so...

I've loved re-hearing these classic Beatles songs in this beautiful sound quality - I really have - and despite some minor packaging quibbles - the 2010 version of the "Blue" album is wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Beatles, 5 May 2007
By 
Malcolm Robertson (Moscow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1967-1970 : The Blue Album (Audio CD)
The Blue Album 1967-70 is an essential in any collector's repertoire. Where as the Red Album 1962-66 covers the Beatles pop classics during the early Sixties these latter songs encompass the most creative years by the Beatles encapsulating the more serious side of their musical talents. From the poetic `Across the Universe' to the Pepper classic `A Day in the Life' to their anthem, `Hey Jude' this album never fails to satisfy discerning listeners due to its great diversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of songs., 7 Feb 2003
This review is from: 1967-1970 : The Blue Album (Audio CD)
This is by far my favorite Beatles album (and I own all of them).
It has material from their most creative period and effectivly abandons the "#1 hits" format that Beatles CD's have gotten locked into and not acknowledged other good songs like "I Am the Walrus" or "A Day In the Life". It also includes material from the "White Album", which as good as it is, is always ignored on Beatles hits discs.
Furthermore all four members are given recognition not just John and Paul; "Octapus's Garden" by Ringo and such songs as "Here Comes the Sun" and others by George are included, whereas the new compilation "1" only features one George song: "Something", which is a superb song, but not a sufficent tribute to the Dark Horse in itself.
Also included are full lyrics to all of the songs. This is especially appreciated for songs like "Come Together" on which one can easily forget the words. There are also photographs in the 24-page booklet,which is quite a lot, considering most of the Beatles albums are completly devoid of any notes at all.
Overall a five star disc because not only does it include hits, it has B-sides like "Don't Let Me Down" and "Revolution", full lyrics to all songs, and it acknowleges all four members. Easily ten stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its the Beatles.... Of course its fabulous, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very pleased with this CD and it is excellent quality. Great value. You can't go wrong with the beatles! I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Beatles, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this on vinyl so knew what I was getting, I also have the Red Album, if you do not own any Beatles tracks, these will make you want to buy the whole back catalogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1967-1970[The Blue Album], 11 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a Christmas present for my sister-in-law. Its a must have for any Beatles fan a great collection of songs to go with 1962-1966[The Red Album] which I also bought for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1967-1970 : The Blue Album (Audio CD)
Excellent, Captures the period and indeed influenced the period more than any other group of musicians of the late 60's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1967-1970 The Blue Album, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. E. Chapman "Eric Chapman" (Ludborough, Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1967-1970 : The Blue Album (Audio CD)
Another timeless classic - played over and over again - never fails to be enjoyed. The best group ever with the best music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Beatles songs., 5 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. David W. Wells (Dorking, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had lost the cassette of these songs and as I loved listening to them was pleased to be able to buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0acbdbc)

This product

1967-1970 : The Blue Album
1967-1970 : The Blue Album by The Beatles (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews