Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2007
Mazzy Star's debut album is a dreamy blend of folk/pop with hints of blues and a twist of 1960s-style psychedelic rock. What really stands out, though, is Hope Sandoval's remarkable voice, by turns honeyed, strong and plaintive but always pretty damn sexy.

The most successful tracks are those with a more minimal backing to Sandoval's vocals, for example `Ride It On' and `Give You My Loving'. `I'm Sailing' shows a strong blues influence whilst `Ghost Highway' and the title track are rockier numbers. These latter songs are the albums slight weak points, the title track in particular outstays its welcome a little.

The lyrics match Sandoval's vocals beautifully - melancholy tales of absent men and unrequited love are steeped in the atmosphere of America's Deep South.

`She Hangs Brightly' is a lovely record with few faults; as mentioned the best tracks are truly exquisite. Recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
I only discovered Mazzy Star recently, having missed out on most of the early 90s alternative music scene. Not to everyone's taste (notably most of my family) but Hope Sandoval's dreamy disposition, beautiful voice and her troubled lyrics set her above and beyond the plethora of female singer songwriters of her era. Such a pity she turned her back on recording for so long.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
40 minutes of slow-paced alternative rock with sultry vocal performances and occasional psychedelic blues emphases. This elliptically titled debut album was recently profiled in retro music magazine Uncut magazine. It was enthuisastically described as, "the template for the band's music: soft focus, Lynchian and nocturnal", and rightly awarded a rating of 10 out of 10. It is as good as this relatively indolent group's one and only hit single - the captivating, much-covered ballad of 1994, 'Fade Into You'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Very Mazzy Star - Not the happiest music i have ever heard but that is not why I put it on. In general I find that their albums have one or two really brilliant tracks, moving, deep and raw and the rest....could live without them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
love this album.very laid back and dreamy.by far their best. have purchased a few of their other albums but this is by far their best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Very relaxing music but can get boring if you listen attentively but ok for background music which I listen to a lot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Soft lilting music that makes no demands on the listener. Melodic and delightful. I was bought three Mazzy Star CD's by a friend who's got better taste than me and I am ploughing through them. Getting the thumbs up from Mum which is definitely a good sign: "soothing."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
Mazzy Star's first album is still the best. I've listened to it since the 90's.
Both Vinyl and CD versions are good in different ways.
Be My Angel is my favorite track.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Haunting, moving, edgy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Fantastic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)