Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely
Mazzy Star's debut album is a dreamy blend of folk/pop with hints of blues and a twist of 1960s-style psychedelic rock. What really stands out, though, is Hope Sandoval's remarkable voice, by turns honeyed, strong and plaintive but always pretty damn sexy.

The most successful tracks are those with a more minimal backing to Sandoval's vocals, for example `Ride...
Published on 1 Sep 2007 by D. Newton

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars early album, long way short of their best
If you are not a Mazzy Star diehard, then you may find this early effort a bit disappointing. The music and vocal are relatively undeveloped,it is only beginning to all come together for that Mazzy Star sound. Far better to go for Among My Swan if you want to discover this band at their best. This is nothing special.
Published 19 months ago by dan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 1 Sep 2007
By 
D. Newton (Swindon, Wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
Mazzy Star's debut album is a dreamy blend of folk/pop with hints of blues and a twist of 1960s-style psychedelic rock. What really stands out, though, is Hope Sandoval's remarkable voice, by turns honeyed, strong and plaintive but always pretty damn sexy.

The most successful tracks are those with a more minimal backing to Sandoval's vocals, for example `Ride It On' and `Give You My Loving'. `I'm Sailing' shows a strong blues influence whilst `Ghost Highway' and the title track are rockier numbers. These latter songs are the albums slight weak points, the title track in particular outstays its welcome a little.

The lyrics match Sandoval's vocals beautifully - melancholy tales of absent men and unrequited love are steeped in the atmosphere of America's Deep South.

`She Hangs Brightly' is a lovely record with few faults; as mentioned the best tracks are truly exquisite. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 49, 29 Aug 2013
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
40 minutes of slow-paced alternative rock with sultry vocal performances and occasional psychedelic blues emphases. This elliptically titled debut album was recently profiled in retro music magazine Uncut magazine. It was enthuisastically described as, "the template for the band's music: soft focus, Lynchian and nocturnal", and rightly awarded a rating of 10 out of 10. It is as good as this relatively indolent group's one and only hit single - the captivating, much-covered ballad of 1994, 'Fade Into You'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars early album, long way short of their best, 9 Dec 2012
By 
dan (north ayrshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
If you are not a Mazzy Star diehard, then you may find this early effort a bit disappointing. The music and vocal are relatively undeveloped,it is only beginning to all come together for that Mazzy Star sound. Far better to go for Among My Swan if you want to discover this band at their best. This is nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be My Angel, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Csihas (Stocholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Mazzy Star's first album is still the best. I've listened to it since the 90's.
Both Vinyl and CD versions are good in different ways.
Be My Angel is my favorite track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A RITES OF PASSAGE MUST-HAVE, 6 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
This haunting, beautiful enchanting LP is a must have in your collection. The singer recently collaborated with the Chemical Brothers on their recent album and brought life and feeling to their empty beats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great customer service, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
Excellent music! slightly depressing songs but if you in a right mood this is a perfect CD to play. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The debut is the best..., 14 Nov 2009
By 
RA Wise (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
After finally getting round to acquiring Mazzy Star's three albums, I find this to be my favourite by quite a long way. That's not to say I don't like the two that followed, but the tracks here sound more like proper songs; rather than murmured, impressionistic mood pieces. Imagine The Velvet Underground fronted by Dolly Parton (well not quite! Hope Sandoval's vocals are quite unique, but you get the idea), a successful emulsion of country/folk meets indie/rock, all whipped together in a blender called `pop'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning artist., 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
A friend of mine introduced me to this album recentley, I can only say that you must own this CD. The songs are beautiful and intimate, often using a mix of different guitar styles, however it is Mazzy Stars vocals which bring her unique and sometimes haunting style to this CD. Listening to she hangs brigtley reminds me of many memories personal to me which in the end I beleive is what music should be able to do. In short buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album and different sound, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
it arrived as described and well wrapped. Very mellow album, very different voice and sound worth listening to for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Hangs Brightly (Audio CD)
bought for my fiancee for xmas so can't review just yet so we'll just have to wait n see but delivery was brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Hangs Brightly
She Hangs Brightly by Mazzy Star (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews