Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what hits!
This album helps you explore the chilis before by the way for all those new fans out there. Its may not be your cup of tea if you like the new stuff but its worth listening to if you want to listen to the roots of their present music. Full of funky tunes and random lyrics is fun and a good collection of their early hits.
Published on 29 Mar. 2003

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor
Very disappointed as the cd I requested wasn't the cd I actually got...I ended up with a group called meccano..... Who I've never heard of! Lot of hassle to return so I didn't bother!
Published on 19 Feb. 2012 by sazzle70


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what hits!, 29 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
This album helps you explore the chilis before by the way for all those new fans out there. Its may not be your cup of tea if you like the new stuff but its worth listening to if you want to listen to the roots of their present music. Full of funky tunes and random lyrics is fun and a good collection of their early hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Hits, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
Overall I love the Chili's the item came quick and there was no damages when the product came. Great album a few of their mixes and cover songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intro to early Chili Peppers, 5 Jan. 2002
By 
T. Harrison (Menai Bridge, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
I bought this albumn after buying Blood Sugar Sex Magik and was pleasantly surprised by the broad range of styles that the Chilis have incorporated into their music over the 1st 10 years or so of their career. I had thought that they just sweet ballads (I could have Lied) and funk-metal stompers (Give it away). This albumn opened up a whole new world of their material, that shows a faster, rawer side to their creativity. I subsequently went out and boutght all their pre-Blood Sugar... albums. Check out the Uplift Mofo Party Plan (I'd give it 5 stars), it can not be missed if you the kind of stuff on this CD, especially the Hillel Slovak (RIP) stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beast it up!, 25 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
This album rocks to the max. It's kinda weird in the way that most of these tracks are more upbeat than one would expect. I'd rather people go out and buy Californication or one of their later albums. If you are expecting cool tracks like 'Otherside' - 'Under the Bridge' - 'I could of lied' - then don't buy this album. Cause it focuses on faster paced jive than those cool melodies I just metioned. Yeah! Rating : 70%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Chili's Were Still Hot, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
Paul M. Edwards "Edwards" (Boston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
This album (at this price, certainly) is worth the purchase just for the opening track, RHCP's cover of Stevie Wonder's Higher Ground.
The band have still got the funk at this point - you can read the track listing above. All good stuff.
If you want some Chili's that's hard core, not-so-produced, fun to turn right up, then get this. Contains Under the Bridge - just in case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, in pure loud, roudy Chili Pepper style., 27 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
Well this was my first Chilli Pepper album. I have listened to "Mothers Milk" and "One Hot Minute" before but I don't think it had the same kind of ring to it as "what hits?". It is just like you would expect a Chili Pepper album to be. It is well written (although you can hardly hear the lyrics under all the noise and din from Berny and Chad), the music is good (which you can hear plenty of), and overall it gives a blurred Saturday night out image. The 18 tracks are incredible and this is persistant throughout the album. Overall I would say that it is a good taster of what the Chili Peppers style and tone of music is like. ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Selection Of The Early Years, 3 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
Lets face it, the first half of the Chili's carrier isn't so good, Mothers Milk was when they started making decnt music. Althoungh tis is great selection from their early records. This is best suited for someone who likes Bloo Sugar but don't want to buy 4 albulms. Stand out tracks are: Higher Ground, Fight Like A brave, Me and My Friends, Fire, Knock Me down, Under The Bridge, Taste The Pain and Johnny Kick a hole in the sky. I view this as the first half of their two greatest hits, each one focusing on one half of their carrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
Very disappointed as the cd I requested wasn't the cd I actually got...I ended up with a group called meccano..... Who I've never heard of! Lot of hassle to return so I didn't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressive if you buy this for the well known songs, 14 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: What Hits!? (Audio CD)
I am really not sure what to make of the Chili Peppers. Every now and then they come out with a very commercial hit, but often the rest of the cd is quite different. This cd combines a few of the more commercial songs and quite a few that I had never heard before. If you are expecting a lot of songs that are like "Under the Bridge", which was a big hit, you will be surprised. Most of the songs here are much faster paced than that one was (think "Give it Away Now" which hit more recently). It is a decent selection, but I wouldn't rush to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Hits!?
What Hits!? by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews