Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Evolution" may be a better title for this compilation.....
Talk Talk went from being New Romantic clones to experimental jazz-esque pioneers in the space of less than 7 years - as recorded here.

The bonus of having their (frankly excellent, if mildly disturbing) videos finally on DVD makes this an utterly essential, and extremely good value purchase.

Most are directed by Tim Pope, who focussed on great ideas...
Published on 15 Mar 2007 by C. Porter

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a Shame (they didn't remaster the audio)
Love this collection, but such a shame they couldn't be arsed to remaster the audio (except on the DVD?!) - all the original albums were remastered in 1997, so why they couldn't just recompile it I really don't know - laziness and greed at a guess. I tried the 1997 Very Best Of Talk Talk instead, but similarly the audio quality doesn't compare with the remastered albums,...
Published on 9 Feb 2009 by Fake Plastic Dunk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Evolution" may be a better title for this compilation....., 15 Mar 2007
By 
C. Porter (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Talk Talk went from being New Romantic clones to experimental jazz-esque pioneers in the space of less than 7 years - as recorded here.

The bonus of having their (frankly excellent, if mildly disturbing) videos finally on DVD makes this an utterly essential, and extremely good value purchase.

Most are directed by Tim Pope, who focussed on great ideas and mood, rather than special effects. The live versions of Dum Dum Girl and Give It Up are particular highlights for me, though the bizarre images in Living In Another World, of the band adrift, upside down, in darkness, on a dismembered piano are wonderfully surreal, too!

The later songs' production stand up well to the scrutiny of today's tastes, whereas the synth-pop charm of the earlier tracks has worn a little thin, even if the pop hooks are still intact.

A truly great compilation, and whilst it may not be thought of as their 'best' work, does include all the singles.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine monument to a crucial band, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was trying to think of another band that went through so much change in such a relatively short period of time as Talk Talk. I do not think it is an exaggeration to compare their progression from out-and-out pop to truly avant garde rock music in less than 10 years to the likes of Pink Floyd's development from the pure pop of Arnold Layne and See Emily Play through to the Wish You Were Here album over a similar period. You have here some of the finest pop singles made by anyone in the early to mid 1980's (alongside their pop videos, some with alternative versions) and it is only towards the end of this set that you get an inkling of where the band is headed with two tracks from 1988's Spirit of Eden. There are no tracks at all from the even more extreme Laughing Stock from 1991 and so this is fundamentally a singles collection and none the worse for that. But do let yourself be led into the dark side of the later albums and even into some of Mark Hollis's solo albums which have been quoted as influences by, amongst others, Radiohead, Portishead, Sigur Ros, Death Cab for Cutie and Elbow. A crucial band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dvd at last!, 22 April 2007
By 
Lindsay Scott "bowian69" (dundee,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a crucial release and well overdue,i only got this for the dvd as i have every song on cd allready at least once!!!!very cheap for such a lot of good stuff.it really is amazing what they achieved in a few short years but sadly most people only know 2 or 3 of the hits and have no idea what brilliant later work was created.the early videos are so dated but my foolish friend to me actually improves the song somehow,the it's my life video is beautiful,and i never tire of life's what you make it either.all the songs on the cd are good,most are very good.there is only one thing i don't like and that is that yet again no songs from "laughing stock" are added at the end and they could possibly have put solo mark hollis/orang representation to complete the story.despite that complaint it is great anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice DVD, shame about the songs (on CD), 13 May 2007
By 
Robin Kirby "culture vulture" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A long overdue appearance for the Talk Talk videos on to DVD, most of which where previously available on video to accompany the original CD release of Natural History back in 1990.

I have to admit that I was disappointed that EMI chose to base this particular Sound & Vision package - a brilliant, and well-priced, concept - around Natural History, a very flawed compilation concentrating on album versions, rather than the far better Best of from 1997 with almost all the single versions. That's why I gave this four stars rather than five.

The real reason that this re-issue, as people have rightly already said, is worth purchasing is for the DVD of course. However, this isn't exactly the same as the old Natural History video by any means, and for several reasons! Firstly, it seems to have been digitally cleaned up, so the film prints are no longer fleccy and dirty. Secondly we now have both versions of the Talk Talk video for the first time, so I wasn't imagining that I'd once seen a different video - the original video only featured the one with the mute crowds and the sign language 'talking' - while It's My Life now has a far longer end after the music fades out.

However, the final surprise is the most interesting one, although EMI missed a trick here. The version of Life's What You Make It is NOT the one on the original Natural History video, it's a live take (just like the brilliant two versions of Dum Dum Girl), so they've missed an opportunity to include both takes here. While the original video featured Hollis in profile at the piano, he must have been filmed from two different camera positions, as the full frontal shots of Hollis singing live shown on this DVD wouldn't have matched the original studio recording, so using those alternative profile shots helped to disguise what would otherwise have been less than perfect lip-syncing. Very clever. Just a shame EMI didn't twig they had two different versions that could have been included here too. Oh, and this live version also has a new sound mix too, featuring an entirely different fade-out too just for good measure. If that doesn't encourage you to pick up this package nothing will.

An underrated band gets another chance to shine. Here's hoping they might top this at last with a rarities set to mop up all the live b-sides (such as the BBC takes on Talk Talk and Such a Shame), the Dutch live 7" and the remaining 12" remixes (mainly US releases) that have yet to venture on to CD, and hopefully before another ten years passes please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of their time, 27 Nov 2003
This review is from: Natural History - The Very Best of Talk Talk (Audio CD)
Just a sensational album. Haunting vocals and sublime melodies, an ideal chill out album produced long in advance of this genre. Not a wek track on the album and as with Dark Side of the Moon fully deserves to be played right through from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a Shame (they didn't remaster the audio), 9 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Natural History - The Very Best of Talk Talk (Audio CD)
Love this collection, but such a shame they couldn't be arsed to remaster the audio (except on the DVD?!) - all the original albums were remastered in 1997, so why they couldn't just recompile it I really don't know - laziness and greed at a guess. I tried the 1997 Very Best Of Talk Talk instead, but similarly the audio quality doesn't compare with the remastered albums, from which I've ended up compiling my own Best Of. *sigh*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for collectors especially, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Christopher Girvan "wolfgirv" (Menzies Creek- Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, lets get the annoying bits out the way first. The actual audio cd part of this boxed set is just a repackaged version of 2007 natural history disc, which in turn was a repackaged version of the 1990 very best of /natural history disc. Secondly this boxed set is only a two disc set, audio and dvd. Not 3 discs as amazon states. For a more comprehensive audio package, the brilliant Asides Besides is highly recommended. With that in mind I have deducted 1 star.

Now for the good part. The dvd features all TALK TALKs video clips in their glory with a running time of 49 minutes. It features two very different versions of the song Talk Talk and two similar sequences/ versions of Dum Dum Girl. Best of all it has the glorious It's my life clip that every TALK TALK admirer remembers. Many of these clips I had not seen here in Australia back in the 1980's but it is quite astonishing how fine they look all these years later. My Foolish friend being a fine example.

Overall this is an important collection for TALK TALK fans, but only for the dvd. I am sure the distributors had good intentions making it a cd/dvd package for a new generation of admirers, but for the long time lovers of the music of TALK TALK, perhaps just the DVD at a cheaper price would have been sufficient. But if you are new to the music of TALK TALK or simply want to impress someone with the sound AND vision of TALK TALK, then this is the perfect starter pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a Shame (they didn't remaster the audio), 9 Feb 2009
By 
Love this collection, but such a shame they couldn't be bothered to remaster the audio on the CD (though they did on the accompanying DVD of promo videos?!) - all the original albums were remastered in 1997, so all they had to do was recompile it. Why they didn't do this escapes me - laziness, greed, ignorance?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My buy of the decade !!, 16 Mar 2007
I was inspired by Talk Talk because my dad used to play their "tapes" (remember them) in the car on long journeys. I soon stole those tapes and later CDs for myself as i got older and discovered what music is about.

Now the TOTAL and utter bonus of this purchase is the DVD... I never knew or had even considered that Talk Talk had done a video for there tracks. Each one is a little gems of a sylistic era long before MTV was a must. This is not a polished history as it s great to see the outtakes too (notice how the bands hair and style had changed)....it goes from clean cut whamesk in the early 80s to the Oasis long hair new brit pop of the 90s...a real gem... thanks EMI for this. and cheers to Talk Talk for being great !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk talk about value for money, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD and DVD package,absolutely love these new sight and sound CDs as you can enjoy the great videos aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Natural History - The Very Best of Talk Talk
Natural History - The Very Best of Talk Talk by Talk Talk (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews