Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chili's go from good to great!
I bought this album shortly after discovering Blood Sugar Sex Magik and falling in love with the album and the band. I set about getting all of their earlier albums, and this is the first one i purchased.
Mothers Milk is the first album to feature a completely different line up. Although Kiedis and Flea remain from the original Peppers, their guitarist Hillel Slovak...
Published on 5 May 2004 by M. Higgins

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for RHCP fans
Chili Peppers have finally got their music to a listenable level with this album. They've mixed their funky bass lines and hip hop lyrics so that it appeals to the mass audience. If you're interested in early RHCP then buy it otherwise think twice.
Published on 16 Oct 2000 by smoothy_y2k@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chili's go from good to great!, 5 May 2004
By 
M. Higgins "miggi_moo" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mother's Milk (Audio CD)
I bought this album shortly after discovering Blood Sugar Sex Magik and falling in love with the album and the band. I set about getting all of their earlier albums, and this is the first one i purchased.
Mothers Milk is the first album to feature a completely different line up. Although Kiedis and Flea remain from the original Peppers, their guitarist Hillel Slovak tragically died from a heroin overdose shortly after their previous album, and their drummer Jack Irons went into a depression and left, due to the death of Slovak. So after deciding whether or not to carry on with the band, Kiedis and Flea thankfully kept it going. They enlisted a young guitarist who was a massive fan of the band, John Frusciante. His energy and enthuiasm won him the role, and he could already play all of their songs anyway. On drums, they found Chad Smith, who, although seeming to be out of place with his heavy rock image, fitted in perfectly. They set about writing Mothers Milk together, unaware that this would be the band line-up that would make them world famous.
So to the album itself. Their previous album 'Uplift Mofo Party Plan' signalled a slightly rockier edge, and they continued with this direction when making Mothers Milk. The album contains Flea's trademark funky slap bass throughout, and Kiedis's rap style vocals, but it brings in new energy from Frusciante and Smith. My album summary is as follows.
'Good time boys' - Starts the album off quite rockily, as it means to go on. Sounds like the CD is jumping in the middle of it, but its not! Some great guitar riffs.
'Higher Ground' - A cover of the Stevie Wonder classic, and better than the original! This one has featured on loads of compilations over the years. Flea's bass is brilliant.
'Subway to venus' - Bizarre vocals about space being king or something. A fairly average song though.
'Magic Johnson' - A tribute song to the legendary US basketball player who the Chili's love. Quite quirky, but funky as hell when it kicks in.
'Nobody weird like me' - How Flea's fingers don't fall off while playing this track i'll never know, the slap bass is on overdrive. Really fast paced rock song.
'Knock me down' - Mid tempo tune, an extended version of this appears on the re-released, remastered version of the album, but doesn't work quite as well. Good song, not dazzling, but good.
'Taste the pain' - Great little song, good guitar riffs, vocals, and a good video to go with it, buy 'What hits' on DVD if you can!
'Stone cold bush' - One of the album highlights, really rocky song, fast paced, great wah wah guitar, sounds of a woman having an orgasm in the background, what more could you want!
'Fire' - A cover of the Jimi Hendrix song, but about twice the speed. Brilliant version, and dare i say it again, better than the original?!
'Pretty little ditty' - Beautiful little instrumental track, part of which was covered by Crazy town years later on their hit 'Butterfly'.
'Punk rock classic' - Short snappy punk track, very rocky, ending in the guitar riff from GnR's sweet child of mine, bizarrely.
'Sexy mexican maid' - Brilliant smooth song, great groove, sexy lyrics.
'Johnny,kick a hole in the sky' - Great end to the album, got everything, funk,rock, great drumming, weird vocals (i mean what does kick a hole in the sky mean anyway)
There is a remastered version of this album available which has extended versions of Sexy Mexican maid and Knock me down, also has 2 brilliant instrumental tracks one of which is probably the funkiest thing they've ever done. It also has 2 live covers of Hendrix songs. Well worth buying.
All in all. this album is my 2nd favourite Chili's album after Blood Sugar. It basically paved the way for what was to come, and they re-invented themselves with this album. It is way different to the sound of Chili peppers circa 2004, in my view it is a much better sound, but any Chili's fan old and new will like the majority of this album. Go and buy it, you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Spice, 18 Jan 2005
By 
D. Rogers (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mother's Milk (Audio CD)
I got into the Chili's in a pretty back to front way - I bought Anthony Kiedis's autobiography, 'Scar Tissue' completely on the off-chance, as the blurb made his life seem interesting (it certainly is)....and I couldn't find another book I wanted to read. Like any decent biography, it dunked me into his life for a week or so and brought the things he'd done creatively into sharp relief. It's strange, I'm only 44 and "knew" the Red Hot Chili Peppers, but was fairly sure I was unfamiliar with their music, or at least so I thought. I went away and listened to 'Californication', 'By The Way' and Under the Bridge', etc and realised I knew these songs after all, just didn't know they were by the Chili Peppers. Age must have taken its toll after all...

So I've started to go gently through their back catalogue (new to old) expecting to be progressively less impressed as they moved out of the Rick Rubin era toward their debut. So far so wrong. I haven't got RHCP and Freaky Styley yet, but think this album is excellent and although I didn't enjoy "Uplift Mofo" quite as much, there isn't too much in it. I don't know though, this is a more serious record and RHCP became more musically adept from here on, even if their outlook remained kind of gurning skater punk for the most part, until Californication...

I tend to like this more than BSSM, it's certainly faster and heavier, but not as polished. What I particularly like about it [and the RHCP in general] is that many of their songs have a well chosen change of pace, hook or a captivating solo that maintains your interest and keeps you going back to listen over again. The only little nit that I'll pick is that 'Fire' sounds pretty muddy, but then it was recorded live a while before the album was made. 'Pretty Little Ditty' sounds like a precurser to the Californication era, while 'Good Time Boys' rampages along and is twisted by a funky bass line and then gets back to rampaging. My favourite track is 'Johnny, Kick a Hole in the Sky', it's a fusion of all that the RHCP have taught me in the past couple of months - I didn't understand the funk/punk thing until I heard RHCP, now I realise it's the funk that punk was missing. Or at least it seems that way at my age, although at 17 I'm sure I would have felt differently.

Red Hot Chili Peppers? Discovered them late. Glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album in the world!, 5 Oct 2003
This review is from: Mother's Milk (Audio CD)
if you like the original chili's and their funk sound then this is the album for you, if on the other hand you are a green RHCP fan who was introduced via By The Way or Californication I would advise you to listen to BSSM first. that said this is a truly amazing album, with covers of stevie wonder's Higher Ground and Castles made of sand being simply great. the opening song Good Time Boys has to be heard to be believed (if your in the fan club and wonder how the hell they came up with the name RockinFreakApotamus check out the vocal ad lib near the end of good time boys!) some great songs higher ground, knock me down, taste the pain, the basketball orientated 'Magic Johnson' all sheer genius plus a cover of hendrix's fire.
An excellent way to spend 7, i'm amazed amazon haven't put the price up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, WOW! No music collection is complete without this!!, 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mothers Milk (Audio CD)
The Chilli's have always had a style of their own, but it matured with this album. The introduction of an 18 year old John Frusciante brought a dynamic edge that they just couldn't grasp before. If you like guitar technique this man turns the rule book upside down. It's ten years old, but it's timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im not bigger then life, 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: Mother's Milk (Audio CD)
This is one of the Chilli's finest albums. It introduces John's fantastic guitar work, next to Flea's excellent bass work. Anthony has great lyrics and Chad fits the whole thing tightly together. I must say that if you like BTW or Californication you may not like this album, but the song knock me down, lays foundations for their later chordal based work.
Hillel's (RIP) guitar work in Fire is great.
This album is important in the Chilli's back catelogue, for it was their turning point from hard rock/ funk of the earlier albums to a more chordal and 'eaiser listning'sound of later albums. It paved the way for BSSM and the new fans of Chilli's owe alot to this album.
The instrumental Pretty Little Ditty is a fine example of John's and Flea's talents and you may notice that a riff from the song has been sampled in a chart hitting song by Crazy Town.
Stone Cold Bush has my favourite Flea solo of all their albums (aside from Flea's bass there is a select sampling as well!!)
The live and previously unreleased songs are good and show how different some songs are from beginning to the album version.
All in All i would say a must purchase for ALL rock fans, electric bassits/ guitarists and if your a chilli fan, well you would already have this album!!
And why were any songs (aside from Higher Ground)not included on the latest Greatest Hits album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its actually meant to get 4.5 stars......, 29 Sep 2001
This review is from: Mothers Milk [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I was lucky enough to get this album in vinyl from a relative who passed it on to me as a birthday gift.My friends have this album on CD but i prefer the 'real' music feel you get from playing a vinyl.This album shows the start of the change of the chili peppers into the sound they produce now.They finally seemed to hit their stride with Mother's Milk, for the first time making their unique mix of funk, rap, and metal smooth enough to attract new fans, while keeping it enough as it was so as not to push away old fans. The Chilli's have always had a style of their own, but it matured with this album. The joining of John Frusciante brought a new edge that they just couldn't grasp before. If you like guitar technique this man turns the rule book upside down and then throws it out the window while still being extremely good. It does have the feel of a less unique band than the early 80's funk band. So if you want the earlier chili style go for The Uplift Mofo Party Plan. Only one of the tracks on this album fails, i feel, to live up to the standard of the others and that is 'Magic Johnson'.This song just seemed a little too disjointed for me but is still not a bad song.the other tracks showcase incredible talent (though not all on the part of the peppers themselves) and a special mention must be made of 'Pretty little Ditty'.This is such a good mix of sounds that its no wonder Crazy Town based a song on the guitar section (though they do not give it nearly as much quality).A special mention must go to the incredible sound of Flea's trumpet playing on several tracks.Not only is he one of the world's best bassists but he is very talented with the trumpet and musically in general.
If you like to own vinyls of great albums then this is one for you, but every chili fan should own a copy of the album whether on CD or otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mothers Milk, 21 Feb 2005
This review is from: Mother's Milk (Audio CD)
This album is another quality hit from the chili peppers, although the first album to include guitarist john frusciante and drummer chad smith the chillis still manage to create the magic as in all the other albums. This album shows how they start to move from punk funk to more conventional rock, yet still keeping their own distinctive sound. Although often forgotten by today's fans, this album will stay in the favourites for many years to come. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this cd!!!, 28 Nov 2000
By 
urbanpandas@yahoo.co.uk (aberdeenshire scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mothers Milk (Audio CD)
although this cd does not suit everyones taste and is totally differnt style to californication or blood sugar sex magik, it is still an amazing cd and definately worth it. dont be shocked if you buy it and it isnt what you expect. i suppose this is a blast from the past and most people now wont really understand or like it but i love it probably because i am a major red hot chili peppers fan and like things that are unusual to your everyday rubbish such as the offspring and limp bizcuit or whatever they are called! i love this cd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Now, 31 July 2003
This review is from: Mothers Milk (Audio CD)
This album, which preceded the phenomenal success of Blood Sugar Sex Magik, is completely brilliant and pretty damn funky. Things are kicked off with the interesting Good Time Boys, the lyrics on this are to die for, not everyone agrees, but I think they are good. Higher Ground follows, this is an excellent cover and does Stevie Wonder justice. Then comes Subway To Venus, one of my personal favourites, Kiedis' vocals are very in your face. Magic Johnson appears then, which confused me for ages, I could ever tell what they were singing, but this is a funky track. Nobody Weird Like me isn't that exceptional, but I love the chorus. Knock me Down is completely groovy, and then we are on to Taste The Pain, another one of my favourites. Stone Cold Bush is very catchy, but it can't compete with fire, which is the most ridiculous and yet brilliant song ever. Pretty Little Ditty is really...well, pretty. Then comes Punk Rock Classic, with very fast vocals, but none the less, the lyrics are to think about. Then is the slightly obscene masterpiece of Sexy Mexican Maid, which most of my friends refuse to listen to. I, however, think it is fan-bloody-tastic, despite ( or perhaps because of ) the lyrics. Lastly comes Johnny, Kick A Hole In The Sky. This song is such an insanely funky epic that it will have singing along loudly. This song also includes some very interesting lyrics.
Overall, an exceptional album, you must buy this, and if you can, I have three words of advice for you:
See Them Live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter John And Chad, 15 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mother's Milk (Audio CD)
This is the Chili Peppers first album with John Frusciante and Chad smith and it is AMAZING. John only at the age of 17 shows his true talent's on songs like "Stone Cold Bush" and "Knock Me Down" while Chad just knocks you off your seat with the power of his drumming. Flea gives that funky bass-line all the way through the album but stnd out tracks are Stevie Wonder cover "Higher Ground" and "Nobody Weird Like Me." The highlight for Anthony on this album is "Knock me Down"
Now to talk more about the style of this album. Mother's Milk is a punky album but with the funk still in there, maybe less funkier than thier earlier album "Freaky Styley." Each song is as uplifting as the next especially "Good Time Boys" which could change the mood of the saddest man in the world to being happy.
The chorus' on ech song will have you singing along and jumping around as they're so catchy and happy, even a song dedicated to earlier guitarist Hillel Slovak is fast and funky and catchy(Knock Me Down)
This album is a must have for any Chilis fan as they all show true talent and its also goodfor a party, with each song as uplifting as the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mothers Milk
Mothers Milk by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews