Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 12 April 2003
Just where to start with the Beastie Boys? With the drunken frat-boy anthem packed Licensed to Ill behind them, in itself a gloriously obnoxious party record - and full to the rim with hip hop classics - the Beasties returned in 1989 with something not only unexpected, but undeniably briiliant, groundbreaking, and as far away from Licensed to Ill as possible.

Well, maybe not too far away; for the 3 MC's - Adrock, MCA and Mike D - still rap in and around each other to splendid effect, only with about a zillion references to various tv shows, characters, films, musicians, or really whatever suits them in a free flowing lyrical extravaganza.

And the music? Damn, the music! Regrouping in LA with the Dust Brothers, taking a step away from Rick Rubins basic, albeit big sounding, beats, the Beasties rhyme over sample upon sample, be it the various percussions (Shake Your Rump alone samples about 4 different rhythms) or the various sounds - Egg Man emplys a 70's funk bass line over some classical stabs. Sounds of Science meanwhile emplys various moments from the Beatles back catalogue.

And the thing is, it all comes out as the Beasties own work. Such is the imagination and depth in this record, it really is deep enough for you to infintely catch something new every time you play a select track, yet alone the whole album.

Along with De La Souls 3 Feet high and Rising, Paul's Boutique not only showed early signs of the Beasties creativity and willingness to try new things, but groundbreaking sampling techniques that really form something of a one-off album. This record would never make it out today - it would cost millions!

Before the return to instruments, on the following record, Check Your Head, the Beasties re-defined their hip hop sound whilst taking it in another direction. Highlights come by in the way of the excellent Car Their, a real gem, with the Beasties rhyming over a mellowed slice of funk. Elsewhere, the aforementioned Shake Your Rump is a bombastic opener, with clattering drum rolls, hot bass lines and the Beasties on real form rapping wise.

Everything about this record, from the chilled intro and outro, and so much music in-between, is perfect. And not just in hip hop terms, but for any style of music. It really shows the creativeness that real hip hop can bring to music, from people who clearly love their music. Looking Down the Barrel of a Gun for instance, is essentially fierce rhymes over metal guitars, whilst the excellent story telling of High Plains Drifter uses all of one bass note, but it's effectiveness is supreme.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 17 January 2012
Bona-fide, stone cold masterpieces are hard to come by, but this is the masterpiece of all masterpieces. Absolutely phenomenal from beginning to end, funny, witty, if you don't like this you're insane. Just insane...

They do the whole, rhyming for rhymes sake better than anyone i have ever heard, it like Highway 61 Revisited only faster and more persistent, and more care-free. Lyrically they're up there with Dylan and Morrissey not in that they are saying something particularly profound, they can't sum the world up with one staggering line like Dylan can, but they rhyme and rhyme and rhyme and sample and rhyme. It is genius. Absolute genius.

Case in point:

"I Know alota deaf girls who like to do anything
A lot of parents like to think I'm a villain
I'm just chillin' like Bob Dylan.
Yeah, I smoke cheeba it helps me with my brain
I might be a little dusted but I'm not insane"

Oh yes...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2012
One of the best Beastie Boys albums, that was so far ahead of its time on release. Full of humour and energy - a great counter point to what Hip Hop was becoming. RIP MCA.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Just when everyone thought the Beastie Boys would be a one-album wonder, they went away and then - boom - they came back with this piece of sheer genius.

On its release it was way, way ahead of its time, and so it has aged remarkably well. This album is a sheer smorgasbord of samples and breakbeats, and it owes much to the talent of its producers, 'The Dust Brothers'. But the ultra-cool sound is complimented brilliantly by the lyrics of the beasties, crammed with shaggy dog tales and cool cultural references just waiting to be explored.

Along with the "check your head" album, this has consistently remained one of my favourite albums. If you are a fan of hip hop or sampling, or just appreciate good music, then you really should own this. Consider the vinyl, too - well worth it purely because it's the only way to see the fantastic cover art in all its glory. And check out the "beastie boys annotated" guide online. It will help you to really explore this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2004
I first got hold of Paul's Boutique in 1993 after Check your Head got me into the Beasties. Nearly 12 years later it still sounds as exciting as the first time I heard it. I never want to skip any of the tracks and I always hear something new that makes me smile.
I don't know why it's this good, so I won't speculate. But, it's a proven fact that your life is less good if you don't own this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 December 2013
The greatest rap album i've ever listened to. The multilayered sampling and the genius lyrics make this almost a perfect album. Constantly have this on repeat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2001
this is and album that sounds like no other. well certainly not anything else at the time. if you like odelay by beck then this is an absolute must. by far and away the best album that the beasties ever did, and that's not to say that most of the others aren't top. hearing paul's boutique was what inspired james lavelle to set up mo'wax too. i agree that the appeal lies in the out of this world production but the rhyming is the kind of wise guy type stuff that you'd expect from ad rock, mca, and mike d. pure class basically
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
A fantastic album from start to finish - Beastie Boys at their best. Lyrics are still fresh today, catchy and amusing. A great mix! An album you will want to listen to over and over again. A definite must own!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2000
I was introduced to the Beastie Boys by songs such as 'Sabotage' and 'Get it Together.' While these songs are great, it led me to Paul's Boutique - a tape that is permanently in my walkman. My friends wonder how I don't get sick of it, but you hear something new each time you listen to it. The depth and variety of the album - funk, rap, and punk (produced perfectly by the impeccable Dust Brothers) is what makes the album great. It's easily one of my favorite albums of all time...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 28 November 2001
'Pauls Boutique' is (in my humble opinion) easily the best album the Beasties have ever made. I seem to remember that when it came out it was largely overlooked by critics and the public alike, maybe this was because they had come up with a totally different sound to the minimal, hard edged feel of 'Licensed to ill'.'Pauls Boutique' is a richly textured, super funky, party animal of an album thanks to the amazing production skills of the Dust Brothers (and possibly due to the L.A sunshine where they recorded it). I've owned this album for more than ten years and I still enjoy it more and more with each listen.
For me the standout tracks are 'Egg Man' which samples the bassline from Curtis Mayfields 'Superfly' and discofied 'Hey Ladies' which uses the hook from 'Machine Gun' by the Commodores (Hopefully these examples should hint at what a funky album this is!).
Whether you're a Beasties fan or not buy 'Pauls Boutique' now you won't regret it - I promise you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Licensed To Ill
Licensed To Ill by Beastie Boys (Audio CD - 2000)

Ill Communication
Ill Communication by Beastie Boys (Audio CD - 1994)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.