Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
Just where to start with the Beastie Boys? With the drunken frat-boy anthem packed Licensed to Ill behind them, in itself a gloriously obnoxious party record - and full to the rim with hip hop classics - the Beasties returned in 1989 with something not only unexpected, but undeniably briiliant, groundbreaking, and as far away from Licensed to Ill as possible...
Published on 12 April 2003 by Alex

versus
2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So boring
Most people have never heard of this album but it has a bizarre cult status amongst 'real' Beasties fans; a status that goes well beyond what it deserves. I found it incredibly boring, even after numerous listenings. The unappealing backing music is a frothy tapestry of funk and other 60's/70's dance music. I can't see the point of rap music wihtout satisfying bass and...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Mr. M. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 12 April 2003
By 
Alex (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
Just where to start with the Beastie Boys? With the drunken frat-boy anthem packed Licensed to Ill behind them, in itself a gloriously obnoxious party record - and full to the rim with hip hop classics - the Beasties returned in 1989 with something not only unexpected, but undeniably briiliant, groundbreaking, and as far away from Licensed to Ill as possible.

Well, maybe not too far away; for the 3 MC's - Adrock, MCA and Mike D - still rap in and around each other to splendid effect, only with about a zillion references to various tv shows, characters, films, musicians, or really whatever suits them in a free flowing lyrical extravaganza.

And the music? Damn, the music! Regrouping in LA with the Dust Brothers, taking a step away from Rick Rubins basic, albeit big sounding, beats, the Beasties rhyme over sample upon sample, be it the various percussions (Shake Your Rump alone samples about 4 different rhythms) or the various sounds - Egg Man emplys a 70's funk bass line over some classical stabs. Sounds of Science meanwhile emplys various moments from the Beatles back catalogue.

And the thing is, it all comes out as the Beasties own work. Such is the imagination and depth in this record, it really is deep enough for you to infintely catch something new every time you play a select track, yet alone the whole album.

Along with De La Souls 3 Feet high and Rising, Paul's Boutique not only showed early signs of the Beasties creativity and willingness to try new things, but groundbreaking sampling techniques that really form something of a one-off album. This record would never make it out today - it would cost millions!

Before the return to instruments, on the following record, Check Your Head, the Beasties re-defined their hip hop sound whilst taking it in another direction. Highlights come by in the way of the excellent Car Their, a real gem, with the Beasties rhyming over a mellowed slice of funk. Elsewhere, the aforementioned Shake Your Rump is a bombastic opener, with clattering drum rolls, hot bass lines and the Beasties on real form rapping wise.

Everything about this record, from the chilled intro and outro, and so much music in-between, is perfect. And not just in hip hop terms, but for any style of music. It really shows the creativeness that real hip hop can bring to music, from people who clearly love their music. Looking Down the Barrel of a Gun for instance, is essentially fierce rhymes over metal guitars, whilst the excellent story telling of High Plains Drifter uses all of one bass note, but it's effectiveness is supreme.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever... and I don't even listen to rap., 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
Bona-fide, stone cold masterpieces are hard to come by, but this is the masterpiece of all masterpieces. Absolutely phenomenal from beginning to end, funny, witty, if you don't like this you're insane. Just insane...

They do the whole, rhyming for rhymes sake better than anyone i have ever heard, it like Highway 61 Revisited only faster and more persistent, and more care-free. Lyrically they're up there with Dylan and Morrissey not in that they are saying something particularly profound, they can't sum the world up with one staggering line like Dylan can, but they rhyme and rhyme and rhyme and sample and rhyme. It is genius. Absolute genius.

Case in point:

"I Know alota deaf girls who like to do anything
A lot of parents like to think I'm a villain
I'm just chillin' like Bob Dylan.
Yeah, I smoke cheeba it helps me with my brain
I might be a little dusted but I'm not insane"

Oh yes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Beastie Boys Album! RIP MCA :(, 4 May 2012
By 
Mr. B. Graham (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
One of the best Beastie Boys albums, that was so far ahead of its time on release. Full of humour and energy - a great counter point to what Hip Hop was becoming. RIP MCA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paul's boutique? c'est fantastique!, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
this is and album that sounds like no other. well certainly not anything else at the time. if you like odelay by beck then this is an absolute must. by far and away the best album that the beasties ever did, and that's not to say that most of the others aren't top. hearing paul's boutique was what inspired james lavelle to set up mo'wax too. i agree that the appeal lies in the out of this world production but the rhyming is the kind of wise guy type stuff that you'd expect from ad rock, mca, and mike d. pure class basically
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest rap album, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
The greatest rap album i've ever listened to. The multilayered sampling and the genius lyrics make this almost a perfect album. Constantly have this on repeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cannot fault this record in anyway, 8 Dec 2004
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
I first got hold of Paul's Boutique in 1993 after Check your Head got me into the Beasties. Nearly 12 years later it still sounds as exciting as the first time I heard it. I never want to skip any of the tracks and I always hear something new that makes me smile.
I don't know why it's this good, so I won't speculate. But, it's a proven fact that your life is less good if you don't own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say - brilliant album, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
What can you say - brilliant album - no music collection is complete without it.
Fabulous stuff
buy it and Enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
Love everything about the beastie boys
One of their best albums ever
Forever singing all the songs on this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, but........., 8 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
I agree with everything said below: this is a fantastic, ground breaking album that was 10 years ahead of its time. BUT, 'Check your head' took things further and in my opinion its the best Beasties album in terms of originality and variety. Still a top, top album though, don't get me wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My tape is worn out!, 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Paul's Boutique (Audio CD)
I was introduced to the Beastie Boys by songs such as 'Sabotage' and 'Get it Together.' While these songs are great, it led me to Paul's Boutique - a tape that is permanently in my walkman. My friends wonder how I don't get sick of it, but you hear something new each time you listen to it. The depth and variety of the album - funk, rap, and punk (produced perfectly by the impeccable Dust Brothers) is what makes the album great. It's easily one of my favorite albums of all time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Paul's Boutique
Paul's Boutique by Beastie Boys (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews