Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 January 2007
This is unquestionably the funkiest of the Chili Peppers records as every track follows the funk scale.The front cover gives you an idea that the record is strange and deluded and it hits it spot on.The album uses a wider range of instruments than most chili peppers albums which adds various effects to the record and adds a nice touch.Jungleman is not a bad start and then Hollywood sparks up hope.American Ghost Dance and If you want Me to stay are another good two records and then it goes mental.

For those of you who can decipher the words in Nevermind,Sex Rap or Blackeyed Blonde have a very special talent.They all sound like pointless rambles.Considering the music you can hear isnt too bad and that Yertle the Turtle and Freaky Styley arent bad it isnt an overly terrible album like the first the chilis produced.The best song would be American Ghost Dance in my opinionand the worst?Nevermind....I would suggest this album to anyone as it is an interesting differnt record.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 3 October 2003
For me the best RHCP album. Bloodsugar is cool but this to me is what they were all about - funk/rock/rap, the funk elements of their music have now dissapeared and its a shame cos this album shows what could have been had they continued down this less commercial route. They do a great cover of Sly Stones 'if you want me to stay' , 'brothers cup' is just as funky and has great guitar and horns.They even managed to get George clinton on production and you can hear his welcome influence here. If you thik the new stuff is dull buy this album, even if you like it buy it anyway and it might just change your mind. a fun exiting album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 23 October 2004
The Red Hot Chili Peppers second ever album; Freaky Styley, is simply amazing!! Yes there is everyone saying this album is a disgrace, but there ALL wrong. In my mind, and surely your's if you purchase this, this is a suberb funky and rock album with tracks like jungle man and american ghost dance. Also, im currently reading Scar Tissue, Anthony Kiedis's autobiography which i bought from amazon a few days ago. In it it say that their fifth song ever made was nevermind, track five on this album. It sounds like their in a consert in a night club. They've done this to great affect. But to sum it up, this album is far from the poor junk everone makes it out to be. A must buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2003
i started liking the chili's when i heard californication and ive always wanted toknow what there old stuff was like so i bought freaky styley. I wasnt to sure about it to start off with but now i think it is one of the best albums iv'e got. This album is a must for a chili peppers fan. This album is totally different to any other music iv'e got and i love it. Its totaly unique.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 December 2009
I think this album is a triumph, there's a lot of funk, the lyrics are brilliant and it achieves its aim; to make you want to dance around and have a good time. Songs like American Ghost Dance, Yertle The Turtle and the bizarre Freaky Styley are all gems, regardless of the fact that they were created in a drug-filled haze. This album cannot be disregarded for its sloppy production, but instead as a stepping stone for one of the best American funk-rock bands to create the sound we all know. I would recommend it for anyone who even slightly likes RHCP, and at that price, you can't go wrong!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Sometimes, when listening to bands that have been making music throughout several decades (U2; REM; Depeche Mode) you get an educated idea of how their sound has developed over the years. Therefore, with Freaky Styley, the Red Hot Chili Peppers' 1985 album, fans of some of their later work would be thankful they have evolved out of the dated funk-rock that this entire album has to offer. With a sound that sounds as if Rick James ever made a metal album at the peak of his 1980s glory, this album is either going to delight those that like their rock music that overtly funky. On the other hand, for those that are in the camp of the Peppers' latter works (Blood Sugar Sex Magik, By the Way, etc), who are going to be bemused to hear such a dated offering from one of their favourite groups. Whilst not every track is as feeble as every other one (Hollywood; Yertle the Turtle), there can be a limit into how much bass is too much bass, the ad-lib vocals grinding for the sake of context to the song, and for these 1980s-synth-styled productions to sound like a dated novelty.
Freaky Styley maybe a borderline-album for collectors only, there are a few funky moments worth savouring before the novelty wears as thin as some of everyone's least favourite things from this decade of excess and decadence. This will not be for everyone, so approach this album with a pinch of disappointment for anyone that has ever loved anything from the Peppers' post-1991 material.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2000
This album may seem to be amaturish and it is, but it is brilliant. It is totally on the other scale from the chili peppers more previous stuff. It is almost like two different bands but i still think is a great album with a mix of very listenable songs.This album emphasises the talent of the Chili peppers and long may it continue and may it lead to even more great things.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
There seems to be much dubiety about Freaky Styley,its a fantastic album,probably my favourite! Its all funk, the Late Hillel Slovak plays some tasty licks and its not just him but the whole band who are on form! Great lyrics and a fantastic Cover of Sly Stone, I would recommend for those who may have not yet listened to the early Chili's music,in my opinion you cannot go wrong. I started that way,when by the way came out i was hooked that being 10 or so years ago. Get it and you wont regret it,its different but it makes you want to dance and from the get go,you know they had fun making this album. My standout track being Millionaires against hunger,George Clinton did a fantastic job with these guys..........Its a must
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2001
The Chilli peppers 2nd album. Some great songs, some lack the fire that would eventually alight on the follow up album to this, The Uplift Mofo Party Plan. Whilst it does lack the intence madness of The Party Plan, there are great tunes such as the title track which boasts a bass line from the sex gods. The album is very short, about 30mins, but hey it dont cost much either. The songs are short and to the point, but I always feel cheated when a song only lasts 20 odd secs and is called a song, not an interlude. Overall if you really do like the Chilli peppers and love funk you should buy it and let the funk overtake your body....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2006
Awesome early release from The Red Hot Chilli Peppers. One for all you old time chilli fans and new listeners alike to find out where they came from.

Everything you would expect from the Chilli's with a hypnotic fusion of funk, rap and metal.

14 songs to sink into and enjoy!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Blood Sugar Sex Magik
Blood Sugar Sex Magik by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 1991)

Californication by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 1999)

Mother's Milk
Mother's Milk by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.