Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This album may seem to be amaturish and it is, but it is brilliant. It is totally on the other scale from the chili peppers more previous stuff. It is almost like two different bands but i still think is a great album with a mix of very listenable songs.This album emphasises the talent of the Chili peppers and long may it continue and may it lead to even more great things.
Published on 7 Nov 2000 by dee2gill@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CG-Freaky Styley Review
This is unquestionably the funkiest of the Chili Peppers records as every track follows the funk scale.The front cover gives you an idea that the record is strange and deluded and it hits it spot on.The album uses a wider range of instruments than most chili peppers albums which adds various effects to the record and adds a nice touch.Jungleman is not a bad start and then...
Published on 23 Jan 2007 by Cameron Kiedis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Nov 2000
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
This album may seem to be amaturish and it is, but it is brilliant. It is totally on the other scale from the chili peppers more previous stuff. It is almost like two different bands but i still think is a great album with a mix of very listenable songs.This album emphasises the talent of the Chili peppers and long may it continue and may it lead to even more great things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proper chillis at their best, 3 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
For me the best RHCP album. Bloodsugar is cool but this to me is what they were all about - funk/rock/rap, the funk elements of their music have now dissapeared and its a shame cos this album shows what could have been had they continued down this less commercial route. They do a great cover of Sly Stones 'if you want me to stay' , 'brothers cup' is just as funky and has great guitar and horns.They even managed to get George clinton on production and you can hear his welcome influence here. If you thik the new stuff is dull buy this album, even if you like it buy it anyway and it might just change your mind. a fun exiting album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CG-Freaky Styley Review, 23 Jan 2007
By 
Cameron Kiedis "Cg22FAFC" (Irvine,Ayrshire,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
This is unquestionably the funkiest of the Chili Peppers records as every track follows the funk scale.The front cover gives you an idea that the record is strange and deluded and it hits it spot on.The album uses a wider range of instruments than most chili peppers albums which adds various effects to the record and adds a nice touch.Jungleman is not a bad start and then Hollywood sparks up hope.American Ghost Dance and If you want Me to stay are another good two records and then it goes mental.

For those of you who can decipher the words in Nevermind,Sex Rap or Blackeyed Blonde have a very special talent.They all sound like pointless rambles.Considering the music you can hear isnt too bad and that Yertle the Turtle and Freaky Styley arent bad it isnt an overly terrible album like the first the chilis produced.The best song would be American Ghost Dance in my opinionand the worst?Nevermind....I would suggest this album to anyone as it is an interesting differnt record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freaky Styley What's the problem with it?, 23 Oct 2004
By 
Nick Fellows (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
The Red Hot Chili Peppers second ever album; Freaky Styley, is simply amazing!! Yes there is everyone saying this album is a disgrace, but there ALL wrong. In my mind, and surely your's if you purchase this, this is a suberb funky and rock album with tracks like jungle man and american ghost dance. Also, im currently reading Scar Tissue, Anthony Kiedis's autobiography which i bought from amazon a few days ago. In it it say that their fifth song ever made was nevermind, track five on this album. It sounds like their in a consert in a night club. They've done this to great affect. But to sum it up, this album is far from the poor junk everone makes it out to be. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is unique, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
i started liking the chili's when i heard californication and ive always wanted toknow what there old stuff was like so i bought freaky styley. I wasnt to sure about it to start off with but now i think it is one of the best albums iv'e got. This album is a must for a chili peppers fan. This album is totally different to any other music iv'e got and i love it. Its totaly unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underapreciated, 25 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
I think this album is a triumph, there's a lot of funk, the lyrics are brilliant and it achieves its aim; to make you want to dance around and have a good time. Songs like American Ghost Dance, Yertle The Turtle and the bizarre Freaky Styley are all gems, regardless of the fact that they were created in a drug-filled haze. This album cannot be disregarded for its sloppy production, but instead as a stepping stone for one of the best American funk-rock bands to create the sound we all know. I would recommend it for anyone who even slightly likes RHCP, and at that price, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Freaky Styley, funky, funny,, 25 May 2001
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
The Chilli peppers 2nd album. Some great songs, some lack the fire that would eventually alight on the follow up album to this, The Uplift Mofo Party Plan. Whilst it does lack the intence madness of The Party Plan, there are great tunes such as the title track which boasts a bass line from the sex gods. The album is very short, about 30mins, but hey it dont cost much either. The songs are short and to the point, but I always feel cheated when a song only lasts 20 odd secs and is called a song, not an interlude. Overall if you really do like the Chilli peppers and love funk you should buy it and let the funk overtake your body....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Updating my old battered RHCP cd collection - this is a great album & that's all you need to know. Good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complete Funky a masterpiece!, 24 Jan 2012
By 
G. Templeton (Scotland!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky Styley (Audio CD)
There seems to be much dubiety about Freaky Styley,its a fantastic album,probably my favourite! Its all funk, the Late Hillel Slovak plays some tasty licks and its not just him but the whole band who are on form! Great lyrics and a fantastic Cover of Sly Stone, I would recommend for those who may have not yet listened to the early Chili's music,in my opinion you cannot go wrong. I started that way,when by the way came out i was hooked that being 10 or so years ago. Get it and you wont regret it,its different but it makes you want to dance and from the get go,you know they had fun making this album. My standout track being Millionaires against hunger,George Clinton did a fantastic job with these guys..........Its a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freaky Hot, 2 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. S. Williamson "wolfmansteve" (Newcastle England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freaky styley [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Awesome early release from The Red Hot Chilli Peppers. One for all you old time chilli fans and new listeners alike to find out where they came from.

Everything you would expect from the Chilli's with a hypnotic fusion of funk, rap and metal.

14 songs to sink into and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freaky Styley
Freaky Styley by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews