Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, great memories
this album changed my life! when britpop kicked off, being in a cheshire school, oasis were the big band...so of course, i chose blur's parklife as the album i would champion! i wasnt really into music then, it was kinda the big thing at time, everyone was doing it! but when i wanted to hear more, i bought modern life is rubbish, and it all changed. no longer the easy...
Published on 8 Feb 2007 by Kibbler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blueprint of greatness to follow
Whilst 'Leisure', their debut, provides easy early nineties indie listening and a couple of gems in "sing" and "birthday" - here is the beginning of Blur finding their eclectic and ever-shifting unique sound. Have owned for many years, my opinion is the same now as it was then - an enjoyable album but not consistently great as their albums hereafter will prove to be, but...
Published 6 months ago by New Kid in Town


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, great memories, 8 Feb 2007
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
this album changed my life! when britpop kicked off, being in a cheshire school, oasis were the big band...so of course, i chose blur's parklife as the album i would champion! i wasnt really into music then, it was kinda the big thing at time, everyone was doing it! but when i wanted to hear more, i bought modern life is rubbish, and it all changed. no longer the easy chart music, but catchy songs that wouldnt get played on the radio. this introduced me to looking for other music that didnt get played often and helped me discover so much more music!

if you are thinking of getting a blur album, or a brip-pop era album, start here! im listening to it now, and i can still see images of sitting on a bus through france, while listening to this on my old casette walkman!

an album that changed my life.

A true brit pop record that doesnt sound cheesey or dated.

long live modern life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 7 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
It's not often that you can describe a 90's chart album as being stunningly beautiful. But in this case, I must make an exception. It is remarkable to see just how much the band had matured since recording 1991's Leisure (A fun album only slightly ruined by a lack of variety and some dull, uninspiring lyrics). Albarn finally shows his full potential as a fantastic song writer and the rest of the group show their talent in this unforgettable and inspiring album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the album that was the blueprint for a era, 28 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
This is the album that laid the ground for the britpop boom that allowed bands such as Pulp, Oasis (and of course, Blur) to be at the top of the charts during the mid 90's. This album shows that Blur have an ability to mix art-rock with mod-rock - creating a nostagic, almost romantic picture of London, and life in the early part of the 90's. More importantly, this is the blueprint for an era (from 'new lad' to 'cool britania') - and although rarely mentioned in 'the best of all time' charts, it's significance can not be denied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest album from the golden age of britpop, 19 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
I always avoided listening to this album, even when I actually owned it due to a stubborn refusal to go along with the majority in agreeing that yes, it is the greatest blur album. However, I must grudgingly admit that it is fantastic, full of classic tracks to sing along, be in love, or cry to. Modern Life confirms the fact that blur are the quintissential english band of the nineties, and the album supplies some of the definitive songs of the decade - For Tomorrow, Miss America and Chemical World being just three. My own personal recommendation is Blue Jeans, especially if you love London as much as I do. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily Blur's Finest Effort, 16 Feb 2000
By 
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
From 'For Tomorrow' onwards this is a masterpiece. This is Damon Inventing Brit-pop a year before everyone else realised that such a thing existed. It has touching beauty (eg. 'For Tomorrow' and 'Blue Jeans'), fantastic pop tunes (eg. 'Starshaped' and 'Chemical World') and electrical energy (eg. 'Advert' and 'Coping') that no band since has been able to better (except maybe blur themselves). The best album by the best band since The Smiths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is quality compact-discing, 24 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
this album oozes tasty riffs and bass lines. and drums. and singing for that matter. this is simply a great album, and from what i can see on this track listing, it is the american version which means only one thing....POPSCENE! this song was probably the best song to come out of the early nineties...hurahh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album (so far!!), 8 July 2006
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
I laugh at all the "top 100 British albums" polls that never even mention Blurs second triumphant comeback album Modern Life Is Rubbish. Its always Parklife or Blur that make it, pretty fine albums but not as complete as Modern Life Is Rubbish. At the time of recording this album Blur were basically hanging on to a record contract by the skin of their teeth, after descending into an alcohol fuelled self-destructive abyss after falling off the baggy bandwagon with a thump. Thankfully they pulled themselves together and went back to their influences, Ray Davies, Paul Weller, Syd Barrett, Morrisey and various other classic English songwriters and started creating this masterpiece.

The thing I like about this album is the feeling it gives you. As soon as you hear the opening chiming chords of For Tomorrow you can't help but feel misty eyed and in love with Englishness Blur paint into their songs. This is the album where Damon is at the top of his game lyric wise and Graham creates some of his most wonderful chord progressions and melodies. Blur may have produced poppier catchier hits after this album but nothing as pretty as this.

My favourite songs on here are 'Blue Jeans', a beautiful song about a pair of jeans bought on Portobello Road, 'Resigned' a slow song with a melancholy feel and 'Coping' a punky tune about... coping with modern life. An excellent album with few bad points (Colin Zeal!), and a couple of other songs that i recommend from this era of Blur are (if you can get hold of them) 'Popscene' and 'Young And Lovely'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite blur album, 22 Jan 2004
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
Blur's Best Of features a great overview of their career. However, any blur fan that knows their salt would have realised that 'Modern Life Is Rubbish' is almost totally ignored. Which is a shame since in essence blur's second outing is their strongest and most complete album. To my mind it is one of the best second albums alongside Mansun's 'Six, and 'Leave Home' by the Ramones. What really makes the album is that it can be viewed as having no singles, and much like '13'; every song is so good that each could have been a single! It's all quality. The singles are very strong though! 'For Tomorrow' and 'Chemical World' are excellent examples of Damon's emerging vocal and musical talent coupling beautifully with Graham's restrained (and never flashy) guitar work.

'Parklife' contains most of the band's transition to pop figures. There's not a 'Girls and Boys' style song on the album. Instead it generally treads a line between catchy pop and distortion rock. Of the cuts my favourites are 'Blue Jeans', 'Villa Rosie', 'Advert', 'For Tomorrow', 'Chemical World' and 'Starshaped'. Also, 'Commercial Break' while slight and silly has some brilliant playing on it, particularly Graham's. In a sentence, Modern Life Is Rubbish showcases blur flexing their muscles, stepping away from the mainstream of Leisure and embracing their roots and influences. Superb. (That wasn't a sentence was it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blur find their compelling musical voice, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
Often seen as a 'transition album' between the juvenalia of Leisure and the fully fledged masterpiece that is Parklife, Modern Life is Rubbish deserves to be heard on its own as an excellent record, but is also fascinating when viewed in the context of Blur's musical development. Modern Life is Rubbish is truly the album where Blur and Damon Albarn found their poetic and musical voice. That is to say, the sort of tired, sad, resigned lo-fi ballads to which they would return on all their subsequent albums (Best Days, He Thought of Cars, Strange News from Another Star), but which they explored most deeply and compellingly on this record. The key songs, therefore, are the likes of For Tomorrow, Chemical World and Blue Jeans. All three manage to be heartbreakingly beautiful and tragic, while not being either fragile or sentimental. The prevailing mood is of resigned melancholy, summed up on Miss America (ironically one of the weakest tracks on the album) by the lines: "I don't mind. I don't mind at all / I love only you".
The slow songs dovetail nicely with familiar Blur thrash on Advert, Villa Rosie and Turn it up. Honourable mentions also go to Sunday Sunday and the instrumental Intermission. In fact the only thing which keeps Modern Life is Rubbish from a five star review is the horrible Colin Zeal.
Given its bleak title and content, Modern Life is Rubbish perhaps bears comparison to those modern doom mongers Radiohead, but ulike the perennially gloomy Bends, this album is an oddly uplifting listening experience, thanks to the wry humour and sweet sadness which ultimatly is the hallmark of Modern Life is Rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first Britpop LP?, 1 May 2009
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Life Is Rubbish (Audio CD)
After a decidedly average debut album, some not very successful subsequent singles and rather too much alcohol, Blur were told by their record label Food to get their act together or they would be dropped. On submitting the much-improved Modern Life Is Rubbish, they were still told to go back to the studio and add a couple of singles. One of these songs, the album's wonderful opener For Tomorrow, subsequently possibly saved their career. It's odd to consider that without it there may have been no Parklife, Song 2 or Gorillaz...

For Tomorrow is arguably the first Britpop song. Like many of the best songs on the MLIR LP, it is influenced by The Kinks though has enough modern keyboard sounds to not be merely derivative. Further highlights from the album include Blue Jeans with its lovely double-tracked melody, the XTC-like Colin Zeal and vaudeville Sunday Sunday.

Many of the other tracks on Modern Life Is Rubbish are also punk influenced and it's fair to say that the album loses its way a bit over its second half and isn't quite the fully realised article that the band managed with their next LP Parklife. Despite this, Modern Life is an excellent LP showing a band going very much in the right direction. Charmingly put together with instrumental intermissions and chords to the songs in the inlay booklet, it saved Blur's career and provided a strong hint of some of the riches to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Life Is Rubbish
Modern Life Is Rubbish by Blur (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews