Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boy could they play guitar, 16 July 2005
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
jellyfish's sound is reminisance of the beatles, david bowie and in some places beach boys, but that is no means that their stuck in the past because there not, this album is refreshing and uplifting it's fun and playful, it's a fun record with alot to say, in terms which are understandable the pace of the album is really fast and "poppy" with a dash of distorted guitar here and there to keep you on you're toes.
and the lyrics to the songs are pure genius, these guys had a great sense of humour, there's not one song here that's a dud, all are gold but a few favorites are
new mistake,ghost a number one, joining the club, bye bye bye am i forgiven,
this album is needed full stop whoever style you listen too,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 July 2004
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
This album came out of the blue for me and it has been a real musical delight, if this album was a meal it would be roast dinner but with a side dish of Southern Fried chicken. 'Tasty' I hear you cry from your musical rooftops, and yes it is.
This album has the beauty of the Beachboys harmonies and the blatent guitar riffs of Queen without sounding un-original or being a complete rip-off. I suggest you buy it, or your bowels may disintergrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ben folds five / queen / beach boys / broken tableware..., 12 Dec 2003
By 
L. Penrose "lucypen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
i was introduced to jellyfish by my guitar teacher and i must say it has been quite a discovery! i personally found every second track the best tracks on the album (with the exception of track 12) and "ghost at number one" is my current favourite - check out the breaking glass at around the minute mark, allegedly costing hundreds of dollars because the band was looking for the right sound from crystal glasses!
it's not subtle, but in a way that makes it better, the complete disregard for "cool" is endearing, just like ben folds five's early albums. buy it to witness jellyfish out-beach-boys the beach boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under rated!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album.
If you like Queen then buy this.
Rocky with brilliant high vocals and harmonies.
Musically an absolute treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great band, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
Great band and another great CD although i personally still prefer the first album but a great addition as very little available on this excellent band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilt Milk (MP3 Download)
Very grateful to a friend who recommended this band, as I wasn't aware of them in the 90s. Really fantastic tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. KL Mason "Macca Fan" (Shepperton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
Simple short review which should encourage you to buy this album! Having been a fan since the beginning I simply COULD NOT live without the Spilt Milk or Bellybutton albums! A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If Brian Wilson had joined the Beatles ..., 19 Jun 2010
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
Not much to add to the other reviews on here except to say don't be put off by the mention of Queen influences - it's not *that* bombastic an album, though it is very definitely heavily produced. If anything, I hear more 10cc than Queen.

Luckily the songs can take the strain of the rich harmonies, fake fade-outs, abrupt time changes and what not.

As the title of my review suggests, if Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys had ever joined the Beatles in the late sixties, this is how the album might have sounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOODBYE JASON FALKNER, HELLO QUEEN & ELO, 5 Aug 2008
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
The second, and final release, from the much loved Jellyfish isn't as good as their debut Bellybutton, but it's still a worthy four star powerpop powerhouse. Guitarist and songwriter Jason Falkner left to pursue a solo career leaving Roger Manning to battle on as defacto leader and frontman. Thankfully Spilt Milk is a very good record. The Beatley influences are still in evidence but now the shadow of ELO and Queen loomed large over all the tracks.
'Ghost At Number 1' and 'New Mistake' were both minor UK hits and are sparkling pop/rock gems - soaring harmonies and giant chorus's to the fore. 'He's My Best Friend' sounds uncannily like a lost Squeeze classic and the lovely 'Russia Hill' and 'All Is Forgiven' are simply gorgeous. Humour is much in evidence in Manning's lyrics and his erudite way with a tongue in cheek couplet puts him up there with the best of the 90's.
Spilk Milk is a beautifully crafted record and the attention to detail is faultless. It is sometimes way to smart for it's own good but, a couple of fillers aside, the songs are so strong and catchy that you can't fail to be seduced by the beauty of it all.
If you like ELO, Badfinger, Razorlight, The Feeling, Fountains Of Wayne and Pugwash then Spilk Milk is a vital addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Concept Album?, 9 July 2008
This review is from: Spilt Milk (Audio CD)
It's really easy to treat this as pop-pap, listen to the tunes and think that bubblegum is all there is, but I think that there's a whole bunch more to this than meets the ear.

A bit like Ben Folds, who hides his messages behind rinky-dink melodies, Andy Sturmer (songwriter and multi-instrumentalist) seems to be hiding his message here behind the Queen-style vocal fades and the big glam dressing.

Taking place over a night that seems to have no end (a recurring nightmare perhaps), this seems to be a dream of life - or a comment upon the state of America. From televangelists through a useless education system towards failed marriages and political incompetence, everything is up for criticism.

But, in true Spilt Milk style, there's no use crying. The childhood obsession with pop-stars (Joining a Fan Club) and failure (Sebrina, Paste and Plato) is balanced out by the dreaminess of playing in the sun (Russian Hill) and the joys of it being 'Palm Sunday over and over' (He's My Best Friend). I laughed for an hour the first time I heard that last song, by the way.

Are the references that serious? Is 'the actor of sorts who sold himself too short and travels door to door performing "Death of a Salesman"' really Ronald Reagan? Is this a tirade against American society, politics and the music industry?

Or am I just analysing this too much? I don't know. The one thing I do know is that it is a crying shame that Jellyfish only produced two albums and a handful of extra tracks that were gathered together on the 'Best' CD.

Oh well. No point crying over Spilt Milk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spilt Milk
Spilt Milk by Jellyfish (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews