Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!!!
I really cant speak highly enough of this album. It's a masterpiece!!
When everyone thought Macca was washed up back in the 80's and early 90's he then came out with this beauty in 97' and blew all the critics away. If only Jeff Lynn(Producer) had worked on some of those earlier albums!!
McCartney at the top of his game!!!
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by C. Tomlinson

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy going
This is no doubt a good record. And if you're a McCartney fan, then, judgung by the other reviews, you will give it 4 or 5 stars. I am not a McCartney fan, and only know a little of his repertoire.

So, for me, the cd has some good songs on it, which can be mainly described as "pleasant", with catchy tunes that can (irritatingly?) linger in your head.
There...
Published on 17 Oct 2007 by WhiteCrow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
I have had this record since it first came out and as i get older my thoughts on it have changed.
I was a young teenager mad for The Beatles when i first got it in 97 and thought it was a great album full of rocking tunes.
I am now at the ripe old age of 33 and i put this album on again recently and listened from start to finish.
What struck me most was how the recurring theme of being there for a loved one and wanting to hold them comes up in the songs,it was something that i had not noticed before and i am amazed that i missed it...
Of course Linda was dying of cancer at the time of the albums making and wherever it was deliberate or note you can't help feel that alot of these lyrics that McCartney puts down are in reference to this..
Yes there are still rocking tunes on here ("The World Tonight" being a highlight)but even with them there is that sence of not wanting to let go and thinking over your past and time spent together.
It is simply one of Paul's most personal albums i feel and given that it was also done after The Anthology still feels fresh and new and while his albums since have been interesting and excellent he hasn't topped this gem...

Standout tracks have to be "World Tonight" "Somedays" & "Beautiful Night"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Macca Masterpiece, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
This album just improves with time and repeated listenings. It was produced at an interesting, challenging and personally difficult time for McCartney, with his wife's illness clearly at the front of his mind, and reflected in many of the songs recorded here. It also came at a time when the massive Beatles Anthology project had just concluded, and you can hear the freshness in the songwriting as a result - yes, it sounds Beatlesque, but with a modern, updated feel that reflects where McCartney was at this period in his life.

All the musical influences that shaped McCartney's writing and playing to date seem reflected here. Family values are mentioned in many of the lyrics, a sense of being grateful for what life brings shines through, and there is warmth, blues, reflection, fear, uncertainty and anxiousness all wrapped in the directness of well-crafted storytelling within the medium of popular song. With experienced musicians onboard such as Steve Miller, Jeff Lynne and Ringo Starr, the backing is first-rate, but no-one is allowed to forget whose solo album this is: make no mistake, this is Macca's record.

McCartney seems at ease with who he is on this beautifully realised album. Mature enough to be looking forwards as well as backwards (with less bitterness perhaps than was the case when the Beatles first broke up) - this is superior pop making from someone as vulnerable to the ups and downs of the life as the rest of us - but just able to channel it all into accessible songwriting. It's a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macca`s melancholy masterpiece, 1 Mar 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Flaming Pie (a phrase once thought up by a certain Mr Lennon) was written & recorded while Paul McC was living with the painful knowledge of wife Linda`s cancer, and its probable outcome. This may account for so many tender and nostalgic ballads but it doesn`t explain why this is so damn good, Paul`s very best album since well before the Beatles split, a near-perfect hour or so of immediately likeable, well-crafted songs, with none of either the tweeness or the bombast that blighted so many of his recordings in the past, from Ram through Band on the Run, which I never liked much, to many of the later efforts.
Well, Linda died the following year, the tragedy of which gives this post-Beatles career-best album a poignancy at times beyond words.
Many of the songs seem in retrospect to be both loving acts of mutual remembering and bittersweet songs of remembrance. Some of Paul`s loveliest songs are here: Somedays, Calico Skies, Heaven on a Sunday, Souvenir, Little Willow, Beautiful Night. That makes almost half the album, all melodic ballads the equal of anything he`s written. The more uptempo tracks are, with perhaps one slightly throwaway exception (Really Love You) as good as the others. Linda - her swansong - sings on a few tracks, and there are contributions from Jeff Lynne (discreet for once), Ringo on drums, and the great Steve Miller, an old mate of Paul`s, who duets with him on a raggedy blues knees-up, Used To Be Bad, their voices complementing each other and Miller playing some mean lead guitar.
John, Paul, George & Ringo all inflicted some appalling trash on an innocent public
after a certain group (we didn`t really have `bands` then) split up, as well as the odd good album or memorable song. But Flaming Pie sounds to me like the best thing any of them have put out since Sgt Pepper. (George`s Cloud Nine is pretty fine, too.)
I play these songs only a few times a year, to keep them fresh. They always sound as wonderful as they did on first or second hearing. Paul`s now-grainier voice helps too, having lost some of its perennial boyishness, gaining in gravitas.
A beautiful record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 6 Mar 2010
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Perfection. Modern songs with hints of old English folk songs. Paul has excelled himself with this album and produced (yet again) something with a totally unique sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flaming pie...flaming wonderful!, 29 April 2003
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
As has been said before this is a triumph for Paul McCartney and arguably his best solo album. The title track is a great one, as well as good life advice laid out in Souvenir and the touching Little Willow, written for a close friend who died from cancer. It's definitely worth listening to. It is especially poignant if you watch the In The World Tonight DVD, and see how close Paul and Linda were to eachother, as was Linda to the end of her life.

My personal favourite songs are: The World Tonight, Somedays, Flaming Pie, Little Willow and Beautiful Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His best solo work, 2 Feb 2005
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
This is probably Macca's best solo album. Probably his best post-Beatles album, including Wings material. That's quite a statement to make, i know. But it really is. As he says himself in the sleeve notes, he made this after making the anthology stuff and it reminded him of the standards the Beatles used to reach. The inspiration comes through on this record. The simple songs are the best, the little acoustic ditties, its back to basics stuff. Ringo picks up the sticks for a jam, George Martin helps add a few touches. It feels warm, tranquil somehow. Calico Skies written as a round the campfire number written during a storm, Young boy about his son James growing up, Little Willow about a...tree. You know, stuff like that. It's nostalgic, its warm, its melodic, someone who knows who he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defining classics, 3 April 2000
By 
C. Cleveland (Dryden, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
I don't know exactly how a classic piece of music is defined, but I think in a song, a classic is a very delicate balance between the meaning of the words (the poetry of the lyrics) and the meaning of the melody. The balance is either just right, a bullseye, or it misses. And I rate six songs on this album as classics, with an additional three near classics. Somedays, Calico Skies, Heaven on a Sunday, Souvenir, Little Willow, and Beautiful Night are classics, while Song We were Singing, The World Tonight, and Flaming Pie are close. Depending on your tastes, you may rank the songs differently, but if you like McCartney at all, this is a brilliant album. I don't agree with those who say McCartney "wrote his last classic" in 1969, or 1984, or any other year. He's just a classic composer, whose work you can't afford to misplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy going, 17 Oct 2007
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
This is no doubt a good record. And if you're a McCartney fan, then, judgung by the other reviews, you will give it 4 or 5 stars. I am not a McCartney fan, and only know a little of his repertoire.

So, for me, the cd has some good songs on it, which can be mainly described as "pleasant", with catchy tunes that can (irritatingly?) linger in your head.
There are no standard-setting songs, but then nowadays(and i mean nowadays!) you don't expect that from PM.

As a previous reviewer said, there are a couple of blues jams on which are completely meaningless and boring - and should not have made it onto the final product.
Contrary to another reviewer i actually quite liked "beautiful nights" which has a strong Jeff Lynne/ELO feel to it; there is another song with Jeff Lynne's mark on it: again, one of the better songs.
Great to have 2 almost purely acoustic songs:Calico skies and Great Day, the latter being my favourite track, it is the last on the album.

Strange, that for me, a non-connoisseur of PM, that from this one record I am unable to determine the Paul McCartney style: different songs remind you of different influences. For instance, one of those bad blues songs seems to me a take on Mick Jagger; I already mentioned ELO; Great Day is vaguely reminiscent of blues players like Stephen Stills.
Probably the title song is most clearly in the Paul McCartney style, a jaunty song with some clever barroom piano and a meaningless lyric.It is probably a compliment to his musical talent (which is undoubted) that he can't be pinned down (but then Bob Dylan has a huge talent and he most certainly can be!).

Good enough to listen to in the car on your way to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macc's best solo album ever, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Phil Latham (Cuddington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
This is Paul McCartney's best post-Beatles album: better than Memory Almost Full; superior to Chaos and Creation in the Backyard; and even an improvement over Band On The Run.

Truthfully, there is not one duff track on it and anyone who is a Macca fan will know that such a statement is very brave!

Yet it is fact: from the upbeat Flaming Pie to the catchy Young Boy to the poignant Somedays to the grand Beautiful Night, this album is a joy; it is the best Macca album ever.

I've got all his others and to be honest most of the Wings stuff and his solo work in 1980s contains two (maybe three) strong songs per album at best. There is a LOT of filler in there and a lot to be avoided.

But Flaming Pie is that rare thing: an album without any duff songs! Yes, some songs are better than others (to be expected), but many albums do you own which you can play from start to finish without feeling the urge to skip at least one annoying track? I have no more than five. Even I skip Revolver (Love You To) and Sgt Pepper tracks (Within You, Without You). Yet Flaming Pie offers fast rockers, ballads, songs to sing along to, songs to make you think - it's all here and more, all bundled up with great vocals, decent lyrics and a great basic rocking sound. Even the Macca ballads are NOT coated in sickening syrup for once.

Given his age, this album could well be Macca's best ever so if you have to buy only one Macca album this is the one. It's just a pity ALL of Macca's albums can't be this good.

Recommended: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy, 10 Feb 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
This 1997 released album contains fourteen wonderful new songs by Paul McCartney. Although Paul says of this album, "So I wanted to try to get back into some of that; to have some fun and not sweat it." But, it seems to me that this album has some of the best work he has done in years. If you like good, solid Paul McCartney music, then this album is a must-buy for you.
The paperwork with this album includes some nice pictures, the lyrics to all the songs, along with Paul's thoughts on the song. This is a great album that you must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flaming Pie
Flaming Pie by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews