Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!!!
I really cant speak highly enough of this album. It's a masterpiece!!
When everyone thought Macca was washed up back in the 80's and early 90's he then came out with this beauty in 97' and blew all the critics away. If only Jeff Lynn(Producer) had worked on some of those earlier albums!!
McCartney at the top of his game!!!
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by C. Tomlinson

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy going
This is no doubt a good record. And if you're a McCartney fan, then, judgung by the other reviews, you will give it 4 or 5 stars. I am not a McCartney fan, and only know a little of his repertoire.

So, for me, the cd has some good songs on it, which can be mainly described as "pleasant", with catchy tunes that can (irritatingly?) linger in your head.
There...
Published on 17 Oct 2007 by WhiteCrow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!!!, 13 Sep 2011
By 
C. Tomlinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
I really cant speak highly enough of this album. It's a masterpiece!!
When everyone thought Macca was washed up back in the 80's and early 90's he then came out with this beauty in 97' and blew all the critics away. If only Jeff Lynn(Producer) had worked on some of those earlier albums!!
McCartney at the top of his game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macca, can I play on your next album? I am better on mandolin than you!, 8 May 2014
By 
Sid Griffin (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
I have stayed away from latter day McCartney solo stuff as I figured he must be out of gas by now. But with Dylan recently singing Sir Paul's praises I took a chance on this one.

Recorded after The Beatles' Anthology series was completed McCartney for once set the bar as high as the old days and kept it there. Yes, a fair bit of it does sound like something from him before but I still loved Little Willow (allegedly written for the family of the late Maureen Cox) and all the songs about his late wife Linda inspiring him. Ah, call me a softy, okay? And if you like the Beatles check out the final ballad here, Beautiful Night.

One problem is there is so much Beatle-ness going on you find yourself half expecting the next song to have a George or John vocal. Yes, Ringo and Sir George Martin are here at times but the one chord improvised Ringo jam is filler and the Steve Miller blues piece seems a bit filler too. A case of three fewer songs on this album and you would have had a stronger artistic statement but we seem to feel albums lasting at least 45 minutes are the law now and so be it. But lose three songs and I feel this would be right behind Band On The Run or Tug Of War as a Macca Classic.

I still play better mandolin than him. I do, its true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McCartney's best solo album., 18 Jun 2007
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
The release of "memory almost gone" made me revisit my other McCartney albums, one of which is this total gem. Flaming Pie was written during Linda's (then private) tragic battle with cancer, and it's an album about all the things that are good in life: love, hope, reconciliation, friends and, indeed, partying.

that McCartney made such an intimate album as this, is quite amazing. his songs have never been more honest, and never more pointnant. this is an album which gently moves from one mood to the next, dealing with his wife's struggle with cancer not in a pessimistic way, but by making the most of every possible moment. there are some obvious tracks which are classic latter-day McCartney - the 60's rocker "Young Boy" and the almost-Lennon homage "Flaming Pie" with the near-nonsense-yet-strangely-meaningful lyrics and the classic McCartney piano-bashing. but it's the songs that are indirectly (or directly) about his family which are the most memorable. "Little Willow", "Heaven on A Sunday" and "Calico Skies" are tender, calm intimate portraits which are quite moving.

It feels like a family effort, indeed Linda provides some backing-vocals on one of the tracks, and McCartney's son, James provides some rather good guitar on a couple of them. Other guests invited round are steve miller and jeff lynne, but most special of all, to complete the old-boys reunion, ringo and george martin pop round for a bit of back-beat drumming and some fantastic orchestral arrangements. McCartney himself plays a lot of the instruments too - couple of tracks feature him playing nearly everything - there's a great sense of fun and 'just try it' attitude as if he felt the songs would work whatever. and they really do. He clearly enjoyed himself making this, despite the obvious adversity at home. A testament to his optimism and character if ever there was one.

you get a lot of 'up-close-and-personal' moments with just McCartney and his acoustic guitar - which are really rather effective. "Great Day" is a short little footnote after the superb "Beautiful Night" - a wind down to the latter's bombast and mayhem, and ends the album on a thoroughly optimistic tone. Can't resist a word on "Beautiful Night": It's one of those great tracks that starts off well and just improves. A really strong piano part leads into a gorgeous ballad which soars away and then back down to earth, and then - slam! - into a classic McCartney rock-out with a superb George Martin horn and string arrangement and some great guitar and general mayhem for good measure.

when I first bought this album 10yrs ago, "Beautiful Night" rapidly became one of my favourite songs. 10yrs on, nothing's changed - only now this album has become one of my all time favourites. Truly, an album that grows, and has lasted the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a man doing a job-to make music for the fans, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Right from Day 1 the critics in one form or another sit behind their desks and push their pens.The World awaits for the judgment from these one time-rock-wannabbes-who-failed and its as if this is the County Court.

McCartney is on trial for a possible failure to communicate and as evidence here's the sales figures from his last album.Members of the Jury make your deliberations.....

The jury returns and the verdict is announced.Rubbish

Yes we've heard it so many times.When it happenned with RAM the result was a chart topper.

So its sales figures which say whether an album is good,bad or indifferent? Nothing to do with a composer who plucks notes out of the air,turns them into songs not even like any of his others and is able to convince millions he did the right thing?

I don't think I'd like to be a rock critic as I'm biased for one thing.I don't think I could say anything about Radiohead-why are their albums selling more than McCartneys-they are boring.

You've got to realise that McCartney has fingers in many (flaming) pies.His ambient and classical output for instance-something which began as far back as the mid 60s and "The Family Way".

This is an album which brings together many names from Beatles days.Its there for anybody who wants it.Sometimes albums don't need to sell in millions to prove their greatness-McCartney's already done that both collectively and individually.

And its also worth bearing in mind McCartney's penchant for reconstructing the Beatles songs or even his own later ones.Here's where Mccartney makes some of the best Beatles Cover Versions-after all he's the custodian of the legacy-the Keeper of the Flame.

As the Stones struggle to recapture former glories McCartney does it effortlessly with every album

With every new album you know he'll keep on trying something new,influenced by everything around him-even his son growing up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macca`s melancholy masterpiece, 1 Mar 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Flaming Pie (a phrase once thought up by a certain Mr Lennon) was written & recorded while Paul McC was living with the painful knowledge of wife Linda`s cancer, and its probable outcome. This may account for so many tender and nostalgic ballads but it doesn`t explain why this is so damn good, Paul`s very best album since well before the Beatles split, a near-perfect hour or so of immediately likeable, well-crafted songs, with none of either the tweeness or the bombast that blighted so many of his recordings in the past, from Ram through Band on the Run, which I never liked much, to many of the later efforts.
Well, Linda died the following year, the tragedy of which gives this post-Beatles career-best album a poignancy at times beyond words.
Many of the songs seem in retrospect to be both loving acts of mutual remembering and bittersweet songs of remembrance. Some of Paul`s loveliest songs are here: Somedays, Calico Skies, Heaven on a Sunday, Souvenir, Little Willow, Beautiful Night. That makes almost half the album, all melodic ballads the equal of anything he`s written. The more uptempo tracks are, with perhaps one slightly throwaway exception (Really Love You) as good as the others. Linda - her swansong - sings on a few tracks, and there are contributions from Jeff Lynne (discreet for once), Ringo on drums, and the great Steve Miller, an old mate of Paul`s, who duets with him on a raggedy blues knees-up, Used To Be Bad, their voices complementing each other and Miller playing some mean lead guitar.
John, Paul, George & Ringo all inflicted some appalling trash on an innocent public
after a certain group (we didn`t really have `bands` then) split up, as well as the odd good album or memorable song. But Flaming Pie sounds to me like the best thing any of them have put out since Sgt Pepper. (George`s Cloud Nine is pretty fine, too.)
I play these songs only a few times a year, to keep them fresh. They always sound as wonderful as they did on first or second hearing. Paul`s now-grainier voice helps too, having lost some of its perennial boyishness, gaining in gravitas.
A beautiful record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back To Basics, 12 Nov 2013
By 
John Heaton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Coming after the Beatles' Anthology project, Paul produces some sublime music. If not as always uniformally. Here goes:
The Songs We Were Singing Nice wistful opener, but lacking a little variety (eg a middle eight) to make it truly memorable. 7/10
The World Tonight the second single and it has it moments. But as a song it's not too special 7/10
If You Wanna Pleasant but nothing special 6.5/10
Somedays McCartney classic,sublime 10/10
Young Boy Good first single,I really like this. Nice guitar solo. But the ending goes on too long (a bit like Back Seat Of My Car) 8.5/10
Calico Skies Very nice ballad, especially the melody 8.5/10
Flaming Pie Amusing lyric and good sound,if not much as an actual song 7/10
Heaven On A Sunday Nice but too derivative to be a classic 7/10
Used To Be Bad Pretty bad 5/10
Souvenir Lost little gem right here, nice production from J Lynne 8/10
Little Willow Classic, especially the middle section when the piano comes in 9.5/10
Really Love You featured Ringo but should have NOT have been released 3/10
Beautiful Night I love it,and Ringo's singing on the last chorus is a delight 9/10 :-)
Great Day Reflective closer 6.5/10

The best moments here lift this album above most of Paul's output post Wings for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't call him 'Sir' for nothing!, 2 Sep 2001
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
'Flaming Pie' is a classic album. The Beatles were excellent, Wings were good, but it just goes to show with this album that Sir Paul McCartney can still cut it!
The best songs are: "The World Tonight," "Somedays", "Souvenir" and "Beautiful Night" - they are classic Macca! He really is on top form.
Obviously, there are a few duds, though. "Used To Be Bad" sounds like the spontaneous jam that it is meant to be and "If You Wanna" features some atrocious lyrics. But generally, 'Flaming Pie' is an absolute joy of an album - musically accomplished and excellent, and lyrically extremely refreshing!
Even Ringo crops up on a few tracks, and the producer Jeff Lynne, makes sure that McCartney is largely left in control of the way it sounds - and boy, does it sound good!
Sit back, relax, dim the lights, grab your acoustic guitar and spend an evening with the greatest living legend of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like a modern day beatles album, 10 Jun 2001
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
I am too young to remember a beatles album actually hitting the streets,but i have to say if one was to hit the streets tomorrow i`ll bet it would sound somthing like this. This has to be the best Paul album for a very,very long time. It is an eclectic mix of tunes,from the `rocky` title track flaming pie, to the melodic somedays. Somedays is an absolute jem which is surely a modern day `yesterday`. Calico skies is a song could be lifted straight from the white album and the imagery of Heaven on a sunday is a joy. Compared with all these is a blues number`used to be bad`and a jam session sounding blast (with Ringo)really love you. As i said if you want to buy a new beatles album this is as close as you are going to get. It also comes with wonderful sleeve notes containing lyrics and explainations of where the songs came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Mc|McCartney's best solo album, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Arguably Mc|McCartney's best solo album, and seeing as it was made at a time when is lovely wife was battling cancer, it is all the more remarkable... However, Paul had just completed the last of the Beatles Anthology series, and it surely gave him a jolt of the standard of music he and his chums used to make... from hard rock to the wistful Little Willow... a beautiful album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to form., 7 Jun 2014
By 
DEANO. "D.Lester." (Oldbury, West Midlands.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaming Pie (Audio CD)
Hello, I have always been a very big fan of Paul McCartney, respected his legacy, but if I'm honest (just my opinion) he has missed for many years now someone to tell him when a particular song might be a bit dodgy. I should imagine by now no-one would dare to speak out against his material,so now I've said that I'll leave it at that. This is a great album, it looks back but also looks forward, so the balance is perfect, great songwriting, add it to your collection, an essential for any Paul fan. This is a glimpse of what is still there, is ultimate masterpiece in music for the future is still to come.
Deano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flaming Pie
Flaming Pie by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews