Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, moving, brilliant.
A friend of mine once said that Radiohead were the kind of band who it was easy to admire, and yet difficult to like. I always agreed, preferring the accessibility of bands like Oasis and The Stereophonics to the intensive coolie labour it could sometimes take to listen to Radiohead. Then, last summer, I went to see Radiohead play at Victoria Park in London. And I saw the...
Published on 25 July 2001 by N. Gower-Jones

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I appreciate this album, but I just didnt really like it
With Radioheads 'The Bends' being a great album and 'High and Dry' being one of my favourite songs I was left really dissapointed by this album when I listened to it.
It just seemed to lack the same 'heart' of 'The Bends' and left me rather cold.

Now ive had numerous fans of this album tell me that this was the point of the album and its success in doing...
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by S. Mccarthy


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, moving, brilliant., 25 July 2001
By 
N. Gower-Jones "northern_jonesy" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
A friend of mine once said that Radiohead were the kind of band who it was easy to admire, and yet difficult to like. I always agreed, preferring the accessibility of bands like Oasis and The Stereophonics to the intensive coolie labour it could sometimes take to listen to Radiohead. Then, last summer, I went to see Radiohead play at Victoria Park in London. And I saw the light.
This album can ask a lot of the listener, but if you can really give into the music and just let it carry you off, you can become so consumed by these songs that you find yourself suddenly opening your eyes at the end of a track, blinking in surprise at the fact that you are actually back in the real world. They tear your soul open, and force you to confront those feelings for which you probably don't even have a name. Despair perhaps, numbness perhaps, but above all, the way it can sometimes feel just to be a human in the 20th Century.
It's hard to pick a stand out track (even the pretty much tune free "Fitter, Happier" makes for compelling listening), but "Exit Music (for a film)" is one of the most touching, fragile and beautiful songs you will ever hear. When you consider Thom Yorke wrote it as a soundtrack to the end of Romeo and Juliet, the lyrics become even more intense; "Today, we escape, we escape". "Don't lose your nerve. I can't do this - alone".
If you have ever felt alone, disenfranchised, pointless or depressed, this record will connect with you in a way you may have never thought possible. And that contact will make you feel better. Less alone. It makes you feel like there are other people out there who feel like this. It's a record which takes you on a journey through the darker parts of the soul. A record about how it feels to be human.
Oh, and it's very, very good (did I mention that?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought to see the acclaim., 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
I'll admit I liked Radiohead but I only knew the songs that appeared on the radio. OK Computer is often one of their more critically acclaimed albums and it's easy to see why. Stand out tracks are hard to choose as the album flows neatly into a complete package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is true - Best Ever Album, indeed!, 3 May 2014
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
No. Not the Beatles, not Oasis or Led Zep. OK Computer by Radiohead is indeed the most compelling case for "best album ever status".

It is timeless, and haven't aged a bit since 1997. It's been MANY years since i last listened to it, and was shocked by how good and modern it still sounds. Unlike many bands befor and since,Radiohead created their own sound and atmosphere. This is a brilliant and varied album, with great tunes and a lot of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thinking of a title is a little hard, 6 Jan 2004
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
i discovered the wonders of Radiohead when reading a certain magazines recent top 100 poll in which OK Computer was 2nd, The Bends 4th and Kid A 37th, or something like that. I had always had an impression of OK Computer as being a weird album of electronics and machines - this was prior to actually hearing any songs, a reader of this magazine had commented 'it is like floating down a river and being hit by a marshmallow'. Well. if you say so. As a result i purchased The Bends, Radioheads magnificent 2nd album, a 100 times better than their debut Pablo Honey, which while good in parts (Creep, Anyone Can Play Guitar and Prove Yourself) lacking a general consistency, that characterised their next 2, to make it a great album. So, The Bends proved to be an inspired buy packed with intelligent lyrics, mental guitar but also emotion. I then resolved to pluck up the courage to buy OK Computer. I still hadn't heard any songs - not having the music channels and they are rarely, if ever, played on the radio but i like to take risks and often this is the best way and i bought the album. Now if you are still with me i will explain why it is probably my favourite record ever. My first listen left me slightly unconvinced (as many do) however, my concentration on it was limited as i attempted to revise for my physics gcse. The next day i went for a walk with the dog and took my walkman loaded with a OK. Now if you ever want to get into a cd this is the best way - on your walkman. The music pumps straight into your ears, other sounds are blocked out and yopu begin to hear the little intricacys that make albums great - hidden guitar, wondrous vocals, a surprising drum beat. All of these hit me as i listned to OK Computer and since then more and more have come to light and that is the pleasure of this album - every time you listen to it something new and amazing can happen that you have never heard in it before. The 1st track 'airbag' is unfortunately perhaps the greatest let down of the album it just doesnt do anything special apart from the great lyric 'in an instellar burst, i'm back to save the universe' a great statement of intent from Thom Yorke as this album may not save the universe but it will restore for those who have lost their love and faith in music a little sanity. 'Paranoid Android' is where this album really kicks off - at just over 6 minutes long and in 3 sections that has led to the Bohemian Rhapsody comparisons but thankfully without the scarabuche bit. Jonny Greenwoods awesome guitar riffs lift this onto a different planet. 'Subterranean Homesick Alien' is surely one of the weirdest but best song titles in recent times and the song is equally as good, like the rest of the album containing beautiful, tortured lyrics with brilliant musicianship. Exit Music is surely the most beautiful song ever written it is packed with emotion and Thom's finally refrain 'we hope that you choke' along with the excellent acoustic guitars is simply undexcribable in terms of quality. 'Let Down' is another fantastic anthem 'let down and hanging around squashed like a bug in the ground'. It is followed by the exceptional Karma Police, and then Fitter Happier a change in style from the left field guitars to computerised voice lamenting the modern world but this shouldnt but anyone of as it is another highlight which segways perfectly between Karma Police and the up tempo if still downbeat and critical 'Electioneering' probably their fastest song ever. 'Climbing Up Walls' claustrophobic feel is the perfect intro to 'No Suprises' with the glockenspiel clanging and Thoms call for a handshake of carbon monoxide as long as he gets 'no alarms and no surprises'. Lucky the penultimate track would have been the perfect ending with an almost sing along quality but Radiohead lumped 'Tourist' on the end which in many ways doesn't stand up to the rest of the album - none the less this album is a must buy for any music fan there is no way that you will regret it - unless you dont like it - but that wouldn't happen, would it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overrated? 5 Stars is to small an award!, 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
After seeing all these 5 star awards and top marks in every magazine and tv show, I thought that perhaps this might be a good album. I was wrong, it is a SUBERB album!
Thom Yorke must be rewarded for having the most beautiful voice in the world. The way he manages with the vocals in "Lucky" where most other vocalists would undoubtedly have struggled is nothing more than magic.
The songs on this album clearly reflect on how harsh the world is. "Karma Police", the "anthem" from the album, is a painful and gritty song. "Paranoid Android" is the most superb song made up of 3 parts: Classic Radiohead introduction with a soft tune relying on Thom Yorke's vocals to make the song; Hard rocking middle, just like the "old" radiohead in the days of "Pablo Honey" & "Creep"; and the soft, heavenly chanting of the band, almost breaking you down into tears. "No Surprises", Radiohead's most beautiful song to date bar "Street Spirit (Fade Out)".
I was most taken back by the consistency of this album. "Airbag" provides a magnificent start. "Subterranean Homesick Alien" is a wonderful song satiring the supernatural conspiracies, however, it is a shame that it has to be directly after the superb "Paranoid Android", mainly because it is such a hard act to follow. Had it been later on, it would have been hailed as a much better song. "Lucky" & "The Tourist" provides a splendorous exit from the spiritual experience known as "OK Computer".
From start to finish, this album is a superb trip. At first, it may be hard to get your head around the depth of this cd, but once through the skin, the core is extremely rewarding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly, utterly fantastic, 7 Feb 2003
By 
Stephen Siragher "therajman" (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
Having listened to and adored the Bends, I made sure I bought OK Computer as soon as possible, in order to see just how Yorke and co. had progressed. It took me a few listens to get into it, but this really is a stunning album.
It's not unfair to make comparisons between this and Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon, nor is it unjust to compare the lyrics of Waters to Yorke. They are both fantastic rock poets, full of despair and hate, but never depressing, something which many people find difficult to accept. In fact, OK Computer begins on an optimistic note with 'Airbag' - Yorke has walked away from a car crash having been saved by, unsurprisingly, an airbag. Considering the album is about how technology has ruined our lives and how bad we all are, it's nice to start with something so uplifting. Don't expect it to last for too long, though, with the immense 'Paranoid Aranoid' - Bohemian Rhapsody for the nineties. An epic, manic, monster of a song with three sections (the last one being particularly haunting) and very disturbing lyrics. The bass line is superb and the band's arrangement of the whole six and a half minutes is perfect.
Things calm down a little with 'Subterranean Homesick Alien', where Yorke wishes aliens would take him aboard their airship and show him 'the meaning of life'. I will never hear the word 'uptight' in the same way! 'Exit Music' is a beautiful, moving homage to a couple running away, with a wonderful climax that really makes the hairs stand on end, before Yorke breaks down by wishing the listener 'we hope that you choke, that you choke'. Genius.
'Let Down' is the first upbeat song, with very dark lyrics, but the arpeggiac guitar and the synth solo at the end does not once make the listener feel downcast, in fact it is probably the happiest song on the album. 'Karma Police', a well-known track, is maybe a little overrated, but suitably angry and a little poppy as well. 'This is what you get when you mess with us'. Indeed.
'Fitter Happier' is a spoken interlude by an Apple Mac, whereas I have to go along with popular opinion and say 'Electioneering' is a poor track and out of place - raucous, satirical and maybe a little OTT. 'Climbing Up The Walls' is very, very scary, do not listen with the lights out! Hypnotic and ethereal, the other-wordly percussion and apocalyptic climax is a powerful experience.
'No Surprises' is the best track on the album - simply fantastic. The toy guitar with its lullaby motif and delicate harmonies in the background do not really go with the lyrics, which are dark as usual, but it is catchy, moving and very very clever. 'Lucky' is similarly superb, describing an air crash of all things, but it reduced Thom Yorke to tears first listen and nearly did the same to me. 'The Tourist' is a fitting closer, in 3/4 for a change and with an excellent jazzy chord sequence. It contains Yorke's key message for life - 'slow down, idiot, slow down'.
Overall, deserves more than five stars. I just can't stop listening to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not a Let Down, 9 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
This is Radiohead's and Britain's best album of the decade. It has absolutely no weak points. It is intelligent, lyrically precise and meaningful without being pretentious or (as some would have you believe) the least bit depressing. And musically, it is the work of craftsmen as well as artists. Almost nothing is left to chance, with every note, every instrument and even every silence planned and laboured over to get the maximum effect.
The melodies are rich and emotive, while on the base Radiohead have transcended normal rock sounds to include the more frenetic beats so characteristic of the best of 90's music. This is most evident in the looped opener, Airbag, a track which manages to be both "rockin" and funky at the same time. And the first few minutes of Paranoid Android are clearly a progression from the traditional rock beats to be found in earlier 'Head songs.
Compared with this, their previous two albums are merely introductions; exercises which were useful for refining their talents ready for their magnum opus. This is not to denegrate the Bends and Pablo Honey, but simply to emphasize the gulf between this work and everything that had gone before in the career of the band. This was where Radiohead came of age, achieving the highest success both in terms of popularity and musical accomplishment. The only downside is that they now have so much to live up to.... It will take something very special indeed to match OK Computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of mankind's greatest achievements. Period., 15 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. J. C. Craddock "jom484" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
OK, I have to be honest, I've listened to Radiohead since I was a very wee nipper sitting on my Dad's knee and I love 'em. Without Radiohead there would be no Coldplay, no Keane, no Muse and the interest in the Smiths would be considerably lower. Denying that Radiohead are one of the most influential, interesting and innovative bands in music's history is like denying that you don't need oxygen in your lungs - quite frankly - it's a fact of life.
It's often said that radiohead are depressing - I can see the point, but Radiohead songs aren't all doom, gloom and 'the end of the world is nigh' - you can save that for Muse. Infact, closer inspection of their back catalogue reveals intricate, beautiful melodies, riff laden,stadium filling rock anthems and satirical, meaningful and consistently brilliantly sung lyrics (courtesy of singer Thom Yorke) - EVERY SONG ON OK COMPUTER is a gem.
Now, this album won't be for everyone - but it bloody well should be - it's essential, it's avant garde, it's one of the best albums ive ever heard. I don't like everything Radiohead have produced, but this offering draws me back time after time after time without a doubt. It's the most life changing album ive ever listened to - and what you get from this album depends on how willing you are to actually listen to it.
Very few of the songs are about depressing subjects or even sung depressngly - on the contrary - Thom Yorke's vocals add a character, emotion and life into each song that ranges from down trodden and heart broken to world beating and all knowing. This is a fine album from one of the greatest all time bands.
Put down your Busted records, buy this album and actually listen to it
YOU WON'T BE DISAPOINTED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, A little more than "OK" Computer!, 21 July 2005
By 
4rt (Wessington, Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
Crikey! I bought OK Computer after all the hype about it winning "the best album ever made" on channel four, so for me it had a lot to live up to. And I can tell you, it not only lives up to its superb reputation, but absolutley beats it to a pulp!

This album Has a simply amazing set of tracks. Radiohead have pulled off A melincholy album, but have still kept it beautiful and without cheeseyness as with most sad albums. All the tracks have an air of beautiful sadness, and not a single track is done badly. Even "Fitter Happier" (a track spoken by an electronic voice)Is fantastically written. Also this is one of those albums where you dont have to keep skipping tracks to get to the one you like (which doubtlessly will be "Karma Police"), Every single song is brilliant. Once you press play on your CD player you will be sucked into listening to it, and before you know you will be at the end of the album! Its just one of those CD's that is just completely listenable to.

A Superb album which more than deserves its position as best album ever made. I would advise anyone thinking about buying "OK Computer" to stop thinking and start buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miserable yet Masterful, 8 Jun 2004
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: OK Computer (Audio CD)
Radiohead are the only band I'd say who survived the 90's with a good reputation and fame. This album is a very rare thing in music; a good and successful concept album. The concept is that of taking guitars and changing their sound and Radiohead, through musical genius take those new sounds and make an album of superbly innovative music.

There are, however, some criticisms of it I've heard since the critics turned on them and decided to reverse their judgements.

The first is that the backing beat to Karma Police and No Surprises is the same. However, Nirvana did this with Polly and Lithium and Nevermind was great.

The second is Radiohead write tunes which are hard to get into. I agree with this and find OK computer a bit of a flawed masterpiece as a result. It does have brilliant songs with good backing music. However, I have listened to this album hundreds of times and the message of anti capitalism or what not is as clear as mud on most of it.

I still say it is essential to anyones music collection, but I warn you it is a hard album to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OK Computer
OK Computer by Radiohead (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews