Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked his mid-90's Output, you will like this
This is Prince unfettered to the tune of 3 hours of music! Although you may appreciate the reason for some editorial input at times, it is nevertheless a wonderful thing to listen to if you are already a fan. I am not recommending anyone start their journey with him here - for me Graffiti Bridge, Batman and Purple Rain are the best way to do that. All my opinion only :)
Published 8 months ago by Ian Danton

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection.
The only words to decribe this album are that it is a work of flawed genius, but we have come to expect that from The Artist. The album is spread over 3 CD's, each being exactly 60 minutes in duration, with each CD having it's own style. The first CD has some gems like Somebodys Somebody, Betcha by Golly Wow, I Can't Make You Love Me and In This Bed I Scream. The...
Published on 24 Nov 1999 by dsinkins@aol.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection., 24 Nov 1999
By 
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
The only words to decribe this album are that it is a work of flawed genius, but we have come to expect that from The Artist. The album is spread over 3 CD's, each being exactly 60 minutes in duration, with each CD having it's own style. The first CD has some gems like Somebodys Somebody, Betcha by Golly Wow, I Can't Make You Love Me and In This Bed I Scream. The second CD has more of a sexual theme with tracks such as Sex In The Summer (complete with his then pregnant wifes ultrasound playing in the background), One Kiss At A Time, The Holy River and Friend, Lover, Sister, Mother/ Wife (this song was played at The Artists wedding). The third CD on this album is a little odd, with the style ranging from techno through to house, then rap, onto pop and then finishing with gospel! The standout tracks on this final CD are New World, La,La,La Means I Love U, The Love We Make and the fantastic cover of Joan Osbournes' classic song One Of Us. There are a lot of great tracks on this CD, but also there are a few that just don't make it. But Prince fans have learned to appreciate the mans inability to make a completely flawless album. Overall then, I would heartily recommend this album to any Prince fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Genius or madness... decide for yourselves!, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The singles Purple Rain, Let's Go Crazy, Sign O' the Times, The Most Beautiful Girl in the World and many, many others were truly great songs which proved that Prince could pull off a range of styles from rock to funk to soulful ballads with aplomb.

But, in my opinion, his albums have never been easy to listen to in their entirety due to a lack of coherency. In addition to the classic songs, each has contained weaker material - and there have been some tracks which I can only describe as bizarre dross... experimental over-long ramblings which go nowhere; seemingly endless high pitched wailing & screaming; weird electronica; or overtly sexual material which didn't hit the spot. He appeared to cross, then re-cross, the fine line that separates genius from madness during the recording of each album.

To my mind, with this release he is firmly on the wrong side of that line for the vast majority of the time. The 3CDs cover many genres (rock, funk, hip-hop, soul ballads, rap, gospel, experimental electronica) but most of the tracks are, at best, sub-standard. Yes there are still a few great songs - but most of these are cover versions (Betcha By Golly Wow; La La Means I Love You; I Can't Make You Love Me; One of Us). The rest of the album sounds like the sprawling, discordant, disparate output of an old prog-rocker who lost his mind after spending too long in the company of George Clinton & Sly Stone - there isn't enough quality to make a decent single disc from the three in this set.

Of course, we don't all like the same things and there will be thousands of people who consider this album to be absolutely brilliant, an essential purchase - I just think that 99% of them will have been die-hard Prince fans for the last 20 years because I really don't see this collection winning him many new fans.

In summary, this is one for keen Prince fans only. If you're a casual fan who loved the Hits/B-sides compilations or the Number One single Most Beautiful Girl in the World and want to explore the little man's work in more detail, then this is not the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked his mid-90's Output, you will like this, 25 April 2014
By 
Ian Danton (Omagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
This is Prince unfettered to the tune of 3 hours of music! Although you may appreciate the reason for some editorial input at times, it is nevertheless a wonderful thing to listen to if you are already a fan. I am not recommending anyone start their journey with him here - for me Graffiti Bridge, Batman and Purple Rain are the best way to do that. All my opinion only :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy this cd!!, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
This is Prince at his most creative, he was madly in love with Mayte and the songs just flowed.
Take it on your holidays, stand on the balcony and play Sex in the summer really loud!
At this price you cant go wrong!!
Just buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 2 Feb 2013
I have own this album since it came out, which is now quite a while and from the start it has been a favourite. It is a real shame that it is so overlooked. This is his 'Here my Dear' album and yes there is some blanks, but there are gems. His covers ( Betcha by Golly Wow on disc 1 and LaLa means I love you on the third) are delightful and touching, using the more fragile aspects of his voice. Disc two has three classic ballads that have stood the test of time for me: Soul sanctuary, the Holy River and Friend, Lover, Sister, Mother/Wife. The third album has the 'hit' (One of Us) which is not my cup of tea sentiment wise, but a good tune nonetheless (slightly spoiled by not being able to get out of my head the image of that dreadful woman who also sang it). Worth a mention are also Right back here in my Arms on disc 1, and My Computer on 3, both good middle of the road Prince songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all true Prince fans, 24 Nov 1999
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
After owning this album for sometime,and speaking as a true Prince fan ,this is a must for all fans.The variety of songs on this three cd compilation is awesome,from the 1st cd containing classic funk tracks such as Jam of the year with the artist playing some of his wildest guitar solos to a cover of What can i say to make you love me is such the variety.From the second cd containing such tracks as The holy river,and the 3rd containing a recent song from a well known tv advert,The Artist again shows that he is not afraid to experiment,be himself and record the music that he wants to record.After recent disappointing albums by his standards,this truly places The Artist back up there with the gods.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Talent, 2 Jun 2004
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
After a little while with being less thna enamoured with Warner Bros comes Emancipation. You expect the unexpected with Prince and here it is. 3 CD's, 180 minutes of music, even the odd cover and all the variety and quality you could ask for. The first CD would be the conventional pop album, the second a love tribute to then wife Mayte (check out Friend, Lover, Sister, Mother, Wife for confirmation that the man was in LURVE !!) and the third more experimental, and the best in my view. Not one for those with short attention spans but for music lovers this is a must. I rate this as his best album since Sign o'the Times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emancipation, 2 April 2006
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
I must admit, it's taken me some time to get into this album. It's the volume of material that slowed me down. Three cd's is an awful lot to take in all at once no matter how big a fan you are. But I guess that's Prince for you - music just pours out of him. And for that I am thankful! Emancipation admittedly has it's share of filler but there is some stunning material spread across these three discs. Like many I beleive the album would have benifited from a little quality control and could have been reduced to a truly exceptional single album.
The first disc is the one that sounds most like classic Prince and contains much of the best material. The opening track, "Jam of the Year" has an infectious groove and features some inspired piano playing. "We Gets Up" is as funky as hell - oh how this man can funk! "Damned If Eye Do" is a classic rock number that should please fans of the purple era. My personal favourite, "In This bed Eye Scream", is one of Prince's more personal songs, dealing with the breakdown of his relationship with Revolution member's Lisa and Wendy.
Disc two is basically all ballads. This may sound a little dull but there are some beautiful melodies here. Standout tracks include "Soul Sanctuary" and "Saviour." The third disc is a more up-beat dancey set. "Slave" is a stripped down track with an almost Sign O The Times-like demo quality. "Face Down" is one of Prince's better attempts at Hip Hop. The title track closes the album with a badass funky bass line that will not leave my head.
As mentioned before, three discs is a lot for anyone and therefore this album may not be for the casual listener. But if you're a lover of real music you should take the time to listen because you'll discover some truly amazing song writing here. If you already own a few Prince albums then you're probably already aware of the man's genius and will definitely enjoy much of this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab cd at an amazing price. Its Prince you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disks one and three 5 star, disk two, 2star, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Emancipation (Audio CD)
a fantastic collection of songs. Disk one has some classics, Jam of the Year, Get yo groove on and we gets up are just incredible. Disk two just has nothing on it for me. Disk three is in a totally different collection of styles but once u listen a few times also brilliant. Face Down and Emancipation stand out as being especially deserving of merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emancipation
Emancipation by Prince (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews