Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible debut album!!!
This has to be my favourite Crowded House album of all because each song is brilliantly written.
The best tracks from this incredible debut album are "Mean To Me", "World Where You Live", "Hole In The River", "Can't Carry On", "That's What I Call Love" and most of all the song that launched Crowded House to the big time worldwide, "Don't Dream It's Over". It is one...
Published on 4 Sep 2002 by Steve

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A debut
I came to this after listening to `Woodface' and `Together Alone' and, frankly, it sounds like a debut album. There's plenty of signs of talent but apart from `Don't Dream It's Over', `Hole In The River' and `Tombstone' the songs don't really make it for me.

Neil Finn is a terrific ballad writer but always struggles a bit on the faster songs, at least up to...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by A. Willard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible debut album!!!, 4 Sep 2002
By 
Steve (Leamington Spa, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
This has to be my favourite Crowded House album of all because each song is brilliantly written.
The best tracks from this incredible debut album are "Mean To Me", "World Where You Live", "Hole In The River", "Can't Carry On", "That's What I Call Love" and most of all the song that launched Crowded House to the big time worldwide, "Don't Dream It's Over". It is one of my favourite songs of all time as well as being my favourite Crowded House song.
I could give the album more than five stars because it is so superb. This was a great start for the band and I highly reccomend it to everyone who likes good pop/rock music and to anyone as a start to their Crowded House/Neil Finn collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky melodies, classic lyrics and a voice from heaven!, 22 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
Neil Finn has a real gift for songwriting, as Crowded House's debut album clearly shows. Having graduated from Split Enz, he teamed up with Paul Hester (drums) and Nick Seymour (bass guitar), moved to a cramped one room apartment in LA, and Crowded House was born.
From the confused, eerie tones of "Hole in the River", about Finn's aunt's suicide, to the classic, ethereal "Don't Dream It's Over", this album is full of music that surprises and challenges the listener, in the way that only Neil Finn and Crowded House know how.
The album, as a whole, is finely crafted, if a little rough around the edges, but that only adds to its charm. The lyrics tear up the rule book, one minute angst-ridden, the next minute hopelessly optimistic, seemingly laying bare the anguish, hopes and fears of Neil Finn.
As for the vocals, this man has a voice from the Gods. Capable of being sweet as honey, then raw and emotional.
Altogether, a classic album, especially for the band's debut effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IN THE BEGINNING..., 13 April 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
So this is where it all began.

As debuts go, it is pretty strong. The song writing is delightful from beginning to end and the vocals and harmonies are great.

This album put in place the building blocks for stronger and better albums, not least the classic Woodface but remains nevertheless a very good album which is well worth investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good buy., 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
I love this album.I got it for one song.but there is a couple more real good ones.Very good condition.Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Crowded House, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
Previously listening to CH's greatest hits a majority of the songs on here are very familiar but I do love this album. Don't dream it's over has always been a favourite of mine. Mean to me, World where you live and Tombstone are ones that stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly, The Greatest Album EVER!, 3 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
as you may or may not realise, this was CHs first foray into the music industry, and it was a HUGE hit in the US. now, they're not right about many things musically, but the US struck it true with this album!
firstly, the tracks on here are just dripping with passion, power and post-split enz experimentation. there is no doubt however, it is not as fresh as other albums, but this is purely due to its age. it is very eighties in it's sound, and that can initially put you off. however, dont be scared away, because there are classics in here!!!
the only drawback i can determine is the "Hole in the river", i thought it was just a little cheesy with all those strange noises for a song discussing the suicide of a family member. this is, however, the only drawback to this album, but there are bonafide classics throughout.
this is possibly the greatest album ever made, you MUST buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great cd of crowded house, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
delivery as promised and cd as described very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A debut, 24 Jan 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
I came to this after listening to `Woodface' and `Together Alone' and, frankly, it sounds like a debut album. There's plenty of signs of talent but apart from `Don't Dream It's Over', `Hole In The River' and `Tombstone' the songs don't really make it for me.

Neil Finn is a terrific ballad writer but always struggles a bit on the faster songs, at least up to `Together Alone' where it all came right.

Oh and for all you Paul Young fans out there, I'm afraid this version of `Don't Dream It's Over' passes water from a considerable height onto your hero's head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Album, 7 Sep 2005
By 
Jolene "sperrinbooks" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
This album has got to be the best debut album ever! As a big fan of Neil Finn and crowded house, this is one of my favourite albums. The songs are great with classic songs like Don't Dream It's Over and World Where You Live to the more upbeat Mean To Me. I recommend this album to anyone with an interest in music and great songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic tracks - Great albums came later, 17 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Crowded House (Audio CD)
This is by far the most popular Crowded House album in the States. It includes the huge classic Don't Dream It's Over & another lesser hit, Something So Strong. Despite there being other fine tunes on the album such as Mean To Me and Now We're Getting Somewhere, the overall quality does not match in any way what was still to come, merely hints at what would make Crowded House such a great band

This is not to say that the rest are filler tracks. If the last tunes are excluded, most songs are catchy with great texts. The production of many of them has, however, quickly dated. Case in point is the catchy Can't Carry On, influenced with the then current 80s sound heavy with synth and tin sounding production. And despite being very tuneful, many songs simply lacked depth which became later apparent. Those who have had the great fortune of owning the live CD available (limited edition) with their greatest hits collection hear how well Crowded House later turned mediocre songs on this album such as Hole In The River (which simply comes to life on that version) and Love You 'Til The Day I Die into great tunes.

With the exception of Now We're Getting Somewhere, most of the main songs on this album are included on the Recurring Dream greatest hits collection. I recommend purchasing that one for most people (being a Crowded House fan, I own all their records, including this one) and for those wanting more, pick the version including the live CD, which is outstanding. It is, however, in most cases very expensive. I give this album 3 stars to put it perspective of Crowded House's output, which on later albums became even better and more consistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crowded House
Crowded House by Crowded House (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews