Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!!!!!
Oh my God, This is absolutely STUNNING!!!!! I have to admit to being a bit of an anorak when it comes to vinyl but this 2012 LP remastered recording of Sgt Pepper's Lonley Hearts Club Band is just awesome!!!.
It was released on Monday the 11th of November and I was a tad sceptical when I got it this morning of how good it would be, how wrong I was!
Lets start...
Published 23 months ago by K Martin

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is the sound that good? I think not.
Are these new Beatles remastered cd's really that good? I purchased Sgt Pepper cd first and listened to it and didn't find it any different, just a bit more bass and that was all. I'm wondering what all the fuss is about and I found the packaging rather annoying and nearly damaged the cd getting it out of the cardbaord sleeve. anyone else feel the same.
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by Darren Hindmarsh


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Was 40 Years Ago Today, 1 Jun 2007
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
Well, almost.

What do you say about this truly iconic album, about which millions of words, both intelligent and otherwise, have been written and spoken by millions of people?

As a total package, it's brilliant, from the cover, to the cut-outs (which are much better with the LP version!) to the music itself. The sound, experimentation, the songs and the musicianship are stunning.

If you're at all interested in The Beatles, you already own this and arguments about whether or not it's the 'best' Beatles album (or even 'the best album ever') are irrelevant. But, if you're not that interested, or new to the music, I suggest this isn't the place to start.

Of course, A Day in the Life is probably The Beatles' all time greatest song, but after many hundreds of listens, I really think Revolver, its predecessor, and The Beatles, its successor, are more enjoyable albums and better demonstrate the genius of the band.

Anyway, whatever anyone says, this is still **#@! fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic pop-masterpiece, 27 Feb 2007
By 
Yovra (Driebergen, Holland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
The recent years haven't been kind to this album. Rubber Soul, Revolver and the 'White Album' are usually getting higher ratings in the list of rock-fans and pop-journalists.

Compared to Revolver, I always found the the friendlier and 'warmer' album. The one you'll be singing along. The hooks are great (Getting Better), some songs really rock (Good Morning Good Morning, the title song). Even the tracks that are a bit weaker (Fixing a Hole) are nice to listen to. The build-up is great; after the party of Sgt. Peppers we wake up (or dream away?) with the masterful A Day in the Life.

Pity this cd (along with the rest of the Beatles-albums) isn't remastered (yet); the original LP sounds way better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that changed the face of rock, 31 Jan 2006
By 
N. Turner (Gaborone Botswana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
I am over 50, so I'm a bit biased. I still don't see how anyine can give it one star, though, (I suppose you had to be there). "A Day in the Life" is probably the greatest pop/rock song ever recorded; just listen - really listen - to those lyrics, and the orchestration - it still makes the hairs on my neck stand up every time I hear it. That song encapsulates the Lennon/McCartney relationship for me more than any other of their compositions. John writing the bulk of it, Paul adding the middle section, both of them tinkering with the phrase "I'd love to turn you on..."and realising what they had just done...wonderful stuff.(The song was banned by the BBC by the way.)
True, there is some weaker stuff here, "When I'm 64", for example, is a bit whimsical. But the fact is that the sounds on this album were a revelation to the pop music world and nothing was ever the same after it. Personally, I never tire of Sgt Pepper and never will. It is a classic and deserves its place in history.
I have to say that I do not think that this was their best album, in my view that honour goes to "Revolver". But who cares. They were the band that re-wrote the rules of pop and rock music- particularly through Sgt Pepper.
One last thing - we should never underestimate just how much George Martin contributed to Sgt Pepper and the other great work of the band. It is notable that the weakest of their albums, "Let it Be", was not produced by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Benefit Of The Reader, There Will Be A Review Here!, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
For a first time listener, you might think this album isn't all it's hyped up to be. But believe me, this shook the world, and in my books still does. The way it's set out as a concert is so clever. The title track, the interval song (Being For The Benefit Of Mr Kite) and the reprise make it sound it so believable, and the pychedelic songs of 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds' and 'Within You, Without You' are brilliant. Macca has songs of the highest quality in 'Fixing A Hole' and the beautiful 'She's Leaving Home', while John's 'Good Morning' and 'Lovely Rita' are great. But the album is worth buying for two reasons - 1) to look at the album cover forever until it sinks in how amazing it is, and 2) to hear the greatest song ever written - A Day In The Life, a song that takes through an extraordinary dream, an up-beat 'woken up' phase, and culminating in a crescendo of musical instruments. Buy it, or be uninspired for the rest of your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GETTING BETTER ALL THE TIME, 1 Jun 2007
By 
Kenneth Melville (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
Listened to this album for the first time in years- quite simply-it's magnificent.

Trends change and attention seeking people will snipe...but when all is said and done..the quality of John,Paul,George and Ringo shines through.

A Day In The Life is stunning...i would recommend buying the album just for this track.

Mccartney dominates this album..but John contributes brilliantly...Lucy In The Sky..and the surreal Being For The Benefit Of Mr Kite take us on a journey...

Put on your headphones and drift away...you won't regret it.

Don't listen to me...listen to genius... and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sergeant only more so., 31 Oct 2009
By 
camsquirrel (Glasgow, Scotland, Europe) - See all my reviews
Hey come on, it's Sergeant Pepper, newly remastered and deliciously clear and perfect. You can hear things you haven't heard before in the background as people speak behind the music, and it's still Sergeant Pepper, it's still that album that had you lying on your bed playing one side over and over when you first heard it. If the other albums are as outstanding as this in their digital remastering then, oh boy, what a gift to the world as the Beatles continue to grow even four decades after they split up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was Pepper really all that good ?, 19 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of course it was !

Methinks that all these people saying they prefer other albums are put off by the overwhelming success that Pepper had. But if you strip all the success and all the hype away, you are left with great tunes, great production and great innovation.

Maybe McCartney was better on Revolver, but Lennon was better on Pepper. Maybe Lennon was better on The White Album, but McCartney was better on Pepper.

In truth, it always comes back to Pepper. An album with no singles, but brimming with invention. Personally, I wish they had replaced Within You, Without You with Penny Lane and Strawberry Fields Forever, which were recorded at the same time - that would have ended the debate.

But, even as it is, it is hard to make a case for there being a stronger overall Beatles album than Pepper. It is certainly my personal starting point for listening to the new remasterings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like an old friend that never goes out of fashion, 6 Jun 2007
By 
Simon Brown "simonrrbrown" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
I just bought this album for the 3rd time, (once on vinyl and 1 once on CD (lost it) and once again on CD). It felt really good to listen to it once again.

I have no idea if it was ground-breaking or a copy of other bands, and I don't care (I was only a 1 year old when it was released). What matters to me is that it's chock-a-block full of great music, lyrics that have become part of our everyday vocabulary, a good deal of humour and plenty of joy! It doesn't get much better than that.

For me, it is the quality of the music in this album which is the reason that we still buy it 40 years on. The quality of Herr Mozart's melodies has given them centuries of longevity - I have a feeling that the works of Lennon, McCartney, Harrison & Starr may well last that long as well.

Ps. I wish they would bring out a SACD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius of George Martin, 24 Jan 2004
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
Many people believe this album to be the greatest album ever made. But there was more to the creative genius of 'The Beatles' than Lennon and McCartney (and Harrison for that matter). What really made 'Sgt. Pepper' a quantum leap in the evolution of music history was the skill, artistry and production genius of George Martin. He was the master of the sonic soundscape that would define a generation, and turn into reality what Lennon and McCartney could only dream. You might argue about the true identity of 'the fifth Beatle', but this album demonstrates (for me atleast) that George Martin is the most deserving of that particular description.
Every track is now part of popular music legend. Ranging from the twee and silly pop of McCartney in 'When I'm 64', to the fascinating and brilliant 'A Day In The Life' (a song many people regard to be the greatest Beatles song ever written), 'Sgt. Pepper' represents 'The Beatles' at their creative peak. Controversy surrounded several tracks, not least because of veiled (and sometimes downright overt) references to drugs. The BBC infact banned atleast 3 songs for that exact reason, 'Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite' and it's references to 'Henry The Horse' (both Henry and Horse being alternative terms for heroin), 'A Day In The Life' for the lyric "Went upstairs and had a smoke/then someone spoke and I went into a dream" being perceived as a direct reference to marijuana use (and on public transport too!), and of course, 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds', which according to John Lennon, was NOT about LSD. Blinding coincidence though, you'd have to say!
But 'The Beatles' were experimenting with more than mere drugs when they made this album. With the expert guidance of 'straight man' Martin (from whom they would hide their joints during rehearsals like naughty schoolboys), 'The Beatles' tried everything to create an original masterpiece that would silence their critics, who couldn't understand what was taking them so long in preparing this album. But to Paul McCartney's endless joy, the end result was more stunning than even the most impatient of critics could have hoped for.
And then of course is the other thing that makes 'Sgt. Pepper' stand head and shoulders above the rest in terms of artistic achievement... the legendary cover art by Peter Blake. Packaged in a neat, glossy slipcase, the famous 'crowd' of living and dead celebrities is detailed on the reverse side, telling you exactly who is who. Indeed, this album is a shining example to the record industry of what you should expect from a CD. Like a DVD packed with 'extra features', this CD comes with a thick booklet with all the original lyrics and details of when the tracks were recorded, plus information about the album in general. Indeed, all that is missing is the original idea by Lennon to sell the album complete with coloured pencils and pictures to colour in. A bit impractical today perhaps, but it would no doubt sell like hotcakes!
'Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band' transcends every other album of it's generation for it's sheer originality and creativity, and (sadly) represents a musical peak that 'The Beatles' would never reach again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classical Music Of Tomorrow, 11 Feb 2007
I hadn't been born when The Beatles split. But, given my deep love of music, it was inevitable that I would discover them. And what a discovery.
Sgt Pepper is simply a work of genius at every level - songwriting, performance, production (thanks Mr Martin).
The Beatles had hinted at this arty, experimental direction on Revolver's 'Tomorrow Never Knows', but no one could guess at the sheer breadth of sounds presented here.
The title track is throwaway rock, but serves its purpose perfectly, to introduce the rest of the album. Then it's classic after classic.
My favourites are 'Getting Better', 'Within You Without You' (a lovingly warm sound; those indian musicians are incredible), 'Mr Kite' (you really can HEAR the sawdust!), 'Good Morning Good Morning' (Lennon at his most sardonic) and 'A Day In The Life' (yet another milestone) - hell, they're ALL wonderful.
Ignore those discraceful '4/5' ratings; this record hasn't remained popular for 40+ years through sheer marketing. In another 240 years it will still be highly regarded. Indeed, it will be regarded as classical music is today, no less. As will The Beatles' catalogue as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band by The Beatles (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews