Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best from the best.
by this time in their careers, the beatles were striving for a different approach to their music; this album shows just that.

heavier guitar riffs, different kind of lyrics but also spending more time in the recording studio. the right decision in my view, as they had ceased to function as a live group due to the increasing noise of the fans.

as...
Published on 13 July 2006 by Mr. A. E. Ward Davies

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 73 stars for the music...Re-mastering is strange in places...
I've lived with the new digitally re-mastered Revolver for nearly a month and changing my review a little... (Date - October 7th 2009).

In comparison to the 1987 CD the sound is definitely fuller. On each track there is a better balance between vocals and instruments and more detail can be heard in the instruments too. (The 1987 CD higlighted the vocals a...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by M. Norman


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not as good as Abbey Road., 19 July 2006
By 
Dave Stewart (Glasgow, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
This album is excellent, but it's not as good as Abbey Road. Abbey Road is the best Beatles album, it is amazing. In fact - I'm going to go and listen to it right now!

But seriously - you're not musically educated until you've heard Revolver and Pet Sounds.

And Abbey Road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD...BUT THE BEST IS YET TO COME..., 24 Feb 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
The Beatles continue on their voyage of musical self-discovery which they began in earnest with their release of "Rubber Soul", which I consider to be a better collection than this one. Eleven of the fourteen tracks on "Revolver" were written by the prolific Lennon/McCartney duo, while George Harrison penned the remaining three.
The CD begins with a rousing bit of wit penned by Harrison, "The Tax Man", which I consider to be one of Harrison's best efforts. This is followed the mysterious and melodic "Eleanor Rigby" which is a terrific song, moody and provocative. The beautifully harmonized love song, "Here, There, and Everywhere', is followed by the strange, though imaginative, "Yellow Submarine". They also introduce a number redolent of a British music hall, "Good Day Sunshine". The track on this CD probably most reminiscent of their earlier efforts is "Got To Get You Into My Life".
This eclectic collection of songs shows that The Beatles were on mission to extend their range, a road which they were able to travel because of their versatility. While this is a very good album, I differ with most other reviewers in that I do not think it is their best. It is still too self-conscious and disjointed an effort. The best of The Beatles is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely important, but that doesn't mean you have to buy it., 14 Aug 2007
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
As a museum piece, this is an immensely important step in the evolution of the Beatles and popular music. But, for relevance to the songwriter's craft of today, really only the masterpiece 'Eleanor Rigby', the structure of 'Got to Get You into my Life' and the production values of 'Tomorrow Never Knows' count.

Just because this was a fantastic album in 1966, it doesn't necessarily make it a fantastic album in 2007 for the new listener. Most teenagers would much prefer a Beatles greatest hits album (such as 'One').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD...BUT THEIR BEST IS YET TO COME, 18 Sep 2001
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
The Beatles continue on their voyage of self discovery, which they began in earnest with their release of "Rubber Soul", which I consider to be a better collection than this one. Eleven of the fourteen tracks on "Revolver" were written by the prolific Lennon/McCartney duo, while George Harrison penned the remaining three.
The CD begins with a rousing bit of wit penned by Harrison, "The Tax Man", which I consider to be one of Harrison's better efforts. This is followed by the mysterious and melodic "Eleanor Rigby", which is a terrific song, moody and evocative. The beautifully harmonized love song, "Here, There, and Everywhere" is followed by the strange, though imaginative "Yellow Submarine". They also introduce a number redolent of a British music hall, "Good Day Sunshine". The track on this CD probably most reminiscent of their earlier efforts is "Got To Get You Into My Life".
This eclectic collection of songs shows that The Beatles were on a mission to extend their range, a road that they were able to travel because of their versatility. While this is a very good album, I differ with most other reviewers in that I do not think it is their best. It is still too self-conscious and disjointed an effort. The best of The Beatles is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatle metamorphosis, 19 July 2009
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
As other reviewers have pointed out, Revolver is somewhat a transitionary album, conceived as the Fab Four were evolving from mop-topped, stadium-filling rock 'n' rollers to the studio based experimentalists that produced their later, similarly groudbreaking work. Both are present here, and although it possibly doesn't represent the very summit of either incarnation, it's an album that showcases all their strengths.

The album begins with the stinging Taxman. Lyrically, it's a song that could have been written specifically to peeve me. As a) someone who works in Local Taxes, and b) a left-leaning redistributionist, I find the song's "hands off my millions" sentiment deeply irksome ("one for you nineteen for me", that only leaves the boys with enough to gold-plate everything they own!) but it's testament to how favourably disposed I am to Revolver that I love it, particularly the explosive guitar solo at the end. Harrison's other two contributions, I Want To Tell You and Love You Too, may not be quite up to that standard but are still impressive.

Lennon offers some pretty strong Beatle-Beat numbers; And Your Bird Can Sing, Doctor Robert and She Said She Said, but that doesn't mean he's just coasting on past glories. He helps invent big-beat and drone rock with Tomorrow Never Knows and I'm Only Sleeping.

Probably the star on this occasion however is McCartney, who contributes some of his most beautiful, humane work with Here, There and Everwhere, For No One and Eleanor Rigby, probably my favourite Beatles song of all.

That of course leaves the divisive Yellow Submarine, which I happen to like. Nothing wrong with a child-like quality; people like Daniel Johnston and Jonathan Richman have built careers on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By no means their best but..., 26 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
...let's not be silly.
This is certainly overrated in the scheme of all things Beatlish, but it remains a fantastic album hyped or otherwise.
Three "duff" tracks on an album of 14 songs can surely not be seen as anything but tremendous, and with the remainder containing heartbreaker "For No One" (Yes surpassed by "She's Leaving Home"), the rockin' "Taxman" (Yes, surpassed by "Back In The USSR" amongst many others) and [depending on the date and how I feel] their finest hour in "Eleanor Rigby" it is hard to do anything but grin when listening to this beauty.
So, not their best, but almost anyone would be more than happy to write an album that wasn't quite the best The Beatles have produced matey. But then, maybe I'm not a real F.A.N. *yawns*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their first genuinely awesome album, 3 Sep 2008
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
Really great tunes here! For a contemporary comparison I recommend Nick Worrall. His album is FREE to download as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album but hardly one of the all time greats!, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
Revolver is certainly significant and influential; it's even rather good. But how it consistently rises to the top end of these 'best ever album' charts escapes me. There are many good tracks to be found on Revolver (the best of which is 'Tomorrow Never Knows') but they're all very short and it's just not an album that I often want to come back to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars over rated beatles album: surfing on a wave of hype, 1 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
You can always tell a true Beatles fan by which album they pick as their favorite!
A blagger who wants in on the game will always goes for 'Revolver' .. yer real afficionado will either go for 'Rubber Soul' or 'The Beatles'
(that's the white album for you blaggers) There are of course some brilliant tunes on Revolver: 'And Your Bird Can Sing: I Want To Tell You: She Said: and the one chord wonder that is 'Tomorrow Never Knows' but you have to dig for fire through the sentimental slush and lumpy gravy that is 'Yellow Submarine' Gawd 'elp us!! the sickly 'Here There And Everywhere' and the big band pastiche of 'Got To Get You Into My Life' ... These tracks alone should be enough evidence to suggest that this record IS NOT their best work?
The first thing you notice about this record is of course the artwork: it's truly psychedelic AND in Black and White, a great sleeve: I think it's one of the reasons the album gets misinterpreted as a classic... Klaus Vorman I believe?? who later went on to play bass in Lennon's plastic ono band. Look: I'm the biggest Beatles fan in town, but, I'm tellin' it like it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Revolver? For the beatles!, 10 Feb 2010
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
Hi,
I've bought this CD because it is considered one of most important works pop's history.
Stop.
I don't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolver
Revolver by The Beatles (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews