Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
A much more accomplished album than their first with a very high quota of classics ("It Won't Be Long", "All My Loving","Not A Second Time"), very good cover versions ("Please Mr Postman", "Roll Over Beethoven" and "Till There Was You") and arguably no fillers - although "Little Child" and George's
"Don't Bother Me" are perhaps not in the same class as the other...
Published on 13 Oct 2003 by Mr. Neil R. J. Saint

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An aural awakening
Well after years of waiting we finally have the Beatle's albums re-mastered and, in some cases, sounding as fresh as if they were recorded last week.
Back in 1988 the Beatles album collection was rushed out on CD to take advantage of the new medium which was rapidly consigning vinyl to history. Unfortunately it transpires that in the case of The Beatles collection it...
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by Al-13


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 13 Oct 2003
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
A much more accomplished album than their first with a very high quota of classics ("It Won't Be Long", "All My Loving","Not A Second Time"), very good cover versions ("Please Mr Postman", "Roll Over Beethoven" and "Till There Was You") and arguably no fillers - although "Little Child" and George's
"Don't Bother Me" are perhaps not in the same class as the other songs. A worthy album to mark the start of Beatlemania!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Four-Track Available, so STOP MOANING!, 9 Nov 2009
By 
S. Muzyka (Rugby,Warwickshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
It's impossible not to love this energetic early offering. The Beatles own compositions are more assured than on the debut, showing how fast they developed as songwriters, and the cover versions are first rate. I defy anyone not to be swept along by the exuberant blasts through 'Roll Over Beethoven' 'Money' 'It Won't Be Long' etc. George makes his songwriting bow with 'Don't Bother Me', a moody, atmospheric piece that is very different from what Lennon/McCartney were coming up with, which helps to create slightly more variation on this album compared to the first. As for the new Remaster, it's very good but still a bit bass-light compared to other albums. A word to those complaining about the stereo mix still being left/right and nothing in the middle, it could not be done any other way. Contrary to what you may have read on this page by others, the Beatles did NOT have four-track facility for this album, they were still using two-track and consequently when mixing for stereo the music could only be seperated the way you hear it to make it stereo. 'Money' is the exception as it was impossible to create a stereo mix without synching two seperate two-track mono mixes together which is why it sounds very different to the mono. Because of this limited technology, a more palatable stereo re-mix cannot be done. It's unfortunate that the mono mixes are not being made available seperately but thats EMI for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute gem in stereo, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
"With the Beatles" was the first LP I bought way back in December 1963. And of course it was in magnificent mono! When I began to replace my Beatles LPs with CDs in the 1990s I was disappointed that the first four albums (including "With the Beatles" were only available in mono. With the release of the remastered versions in September of this year, I was overjoyed to find that ALL the albums were now available in stereo.
And what a gem this album is in stereo.
The songs are still great - it seemed that "It Won't Be Long" was on Two Way Family Favourites every Sunday, the Rolling Stones covered "I Wanna Be Your Man", but the song people seemed to rave about was "All My Loving". All these sound even better now they are in stereo. But my personal favourites in stereo when compared with the mono versions are:-
"Money" which is RAW, and has a different mix
"Please Mr Postman" which is my favourite from the album and
"Roll Over Beethoven" which definitely sounds totally different in the stereo mix.
A gound breaking album (for its time) which used the same formula as "Please Please Me" but included no singles so was excellent value for money.
My only criticism - perhaps the singles ("She Loves You/I'll Get You" and "I Want To Hold Your Hand/This Boy") could have been included as bonus tracks, together with "One after 909" from Anthology I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 of the phenomenon that was the Beatles, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
Another selection of wonderful music from the masters. With The Beatles, the follow up to Please Please Me. They took a bit longer over this and produced some of their most memorable performances. No single taken off this album in the UK but All My Loving is as good as any of the singles they ever did. I believe John's vocal performance on Money is as good as anything he ever did. Great rock voice. It Won't Be Long/Not A Second Time, two more lennon and McCartney classics. Then you have the brilliant cover versions of Please Mr Postman/You Really Got A Hold On Me/Devil In Her Heart. Great follow up to a great album showing what master songwriters they were. This was the last album to showcase their early stage show. They covered some great tracks, usually doing it better than the original. The Beatles showed that from now on they could not only sing other peoples songs better, they could also write better songs than anybody else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the bass drum!, 16 Sep 2009
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
This was the first Beatles LP I owned, I loved it 30 odd years ago and I love it now. Everything sounds glorious, but the Bass Drum... BOOM! It has never sounded as BOOMING as that before. If you buy it you'll love it. If you've never heard it before and you're just getting into music...buy it now. Please Mr Postman! Money! Not A Second Time! All My Loving! (How can that have never been a single?) Who cares about the separation? Listen to it on speakers, don't keep it to yourselves.
It's just FAB! I'm emptying my piggy bank, going to have to get them all again. Makes me feel like 14 again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A single-less collection of value and energy, 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
The Beatles were into value for money. That's why they tried to not put singles on albums. In the case of With the Beatles, that's exactly what they did, and the result is an electrifying experience from start to finish. The powering intro-song of It Won't Be Long gains attention leading into a collection of songs from their early set. Highlights include Lennon's raw singing, Harrison's ace playing (an underrated guitarist who focused on music, not cheesy virtuoso playing-I hate "virtuosos" you're greasy and cheese-masters), Starr's perfect feel and McCartney's soulful singing and quality basslines. Regarding the tracks, Til There Was You is an awesome reproduction of a song from the Music Man musical with its timing and fab acoustic solo. The raw Please Mr. Postman could make a was dummy dance whilst All I've Got To Do shows Lennon feeling what he sings ("I'LL be there!"). You Really Got A Hold On Me stands out as possibly the best cover the fabs did whilst the closing track of Money is exhilirating. Put it on, press repeat all and listen to the raw early fab four displying, if not what they did live, then the energy they could produce even on record. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A STRONG FOLLOWUP ALBUM - REMASTERED IN STEREO (FINALLY!), 24 Feb 2010
By 
PETER XUEREB (SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
The 2nd album from The Beatles finds them more self assured in the studio and the performances here show it. There are more original tracks and they are stronger than those on Please, Please Me. Paul's "All My Loving" for one would have been hit single (as it was in many other countries) though it was eventually further released on an EP of the same name in the UK & other territories such as here in Australia. That they chose not to release a single off this album speaks volumes for their prolific work ethic and productivity. The classic "I Want To Hold Your Hand"/"This Boy" 45 was actually released a week after this album came out.

I again listened to this on headphones. Due to the 2 track recording technology of this album the remastered sound is along the same lines of Please, Please Me, though it's actually an improvement in many ways in that the Instrument/Vocal left/right mix doesn't seem as pronounced even though it's still there. The echo while on some tracks isn't as evident either. In fact "Money" has a more centred stereo mix and sounds very strong because of it. Others such as It Won't be Long, All My Loving, Don't Bother Me, Not A Second Time, You Really Got A Hold On Me, Till There Was You, Please Mr. Postman & Roll Over Beethoven among others really benefit from the remastering. What is really evident to me is the thump from Ringo's bass drum...it never sounded more solid in previous issues. George's guitar work is outstanding and his development is very evident. John was very a very dominant vocal force on these early LP's (up until around Help!) and he sings lead on most tracks.

I've been comparing the 2009 Stereo & Mono remasters with their 1987 counterparts and the results are interesting. Overall both newly remastered versions sound fuller while the 1987 (Mono) CD sounds a little shrill by comparison. There are some differences in a couple of the mixes on this album particularly on Money where the guitar comes in prominently after the opening piano riff whereas on the Mono it's not as evident.

This is an ideal starting point for those new to the Beatles as it really captures the excitement of those times. With The Beatles 2009 remastered is an ideal addition to your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second album builds on the first, 10 Jan 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
The Beatles consolidated their reputation as a great rock'n'roll group with this album. Of course, very few people think of them that way now, but nobody knew then just how much their music would change as the sixties progressed. Like their UK debut, Please please me, this album contains a few covers and a selection of original songs, most of which have faded into comparative obscurity.
It won't be long, All I've got to do, Don't bother me, Little child, Hold me tight and Not a second time are all brilliant original songs, but how often do you hear these songs? Very rarely, except on this album. I've got a lot of Beatles tribute albums and I've heard a lot of other covers of Beatles songs and these songs are rare, to say the least.
There are two original songs that you are likely to have heard somewhere. All my loving was included in the Red album and has also been covered a few times. I wanna be your man was an early hit for the Rolling Stones - it was their second UK hit and just failed to make the UK top ten - an improvement on their previous record, which stalled outside the top twenty. Yes, the Beatles really did help the Stones on their way to superstardom.
The album includes three covers of Motown songs. At the time, Motown records did not chart in Britain - perhaps they weren't even given UK releases, so these and other covers helped to make Brits aware of their music. If it weren't for this Beatles album, a UK breakthrough by Motown might not have happened in 1964. Please Mr Postman was an American chart-topper for the Marvelettes, an outstanding Motown group. The song eventually reached number two in the UK charts via a cover by the Carpenters. I enjoy all three versions. The Marvelettes is the best, but not by much. You really got a hold on me was a huge American hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles. Money (sometimes titled Money that's what I want) was the very first American hit for Motown, way back in 1959. This song was eventually a top five UK hit for the Flying Lizards, a punk rock group. I can't stand their version but I've heard several other covers and I love them all.
Three other covers complete the album. Roll over Beethoven is one of Chuck Berry's classic songs. Devil in her heart is a gender-adjusted cover of Devil in his heart by the obscure girl group, the Donays. Till there was you is from the show The music man. It is not typical of this or any other Beatles album, being a ballad more typical of the thirties and forties (albeit updated for the sixties), but I love it.
This album, with some changes, became their American debut album. It was titled Meet the Beatles. Five songs were dropped and three others added. Several other Beatles albums were altered for the American market but all the CD releases are based on the UK versions.
On first listen, this album may appear ordinary compared to their later music, but don't be deceived. There's a lot of brilliant music here, especially for rock'n'roll fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, admittedly, 20 Oct 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
When I was three or four years old, my mother would give me my toy drumsticks and a solid, plastic-covered pouffe to hit, then play this LP on our Bush record player. She knew that it would keep me occupied while she did the housework. So, yes, I'm biased. I suppose it's 'Please Please Me' part two, but not quite as tentative. John Lennon is in his rock 'n' roll element, hollering his way through the earthier numbers in a manner that helps explain why The Beatles were screamed at.

Contrary to other opinions, 'It Won't Be Long' is for me as exciting a track as, say, 'I Want To Hold Your Hand'. Certainly, this album, dating from around the same time, is cut from a similar cloth. 'All I've Got To Do' just allows you to get your breath back before the classic 'All My Loving'. These early songs are what The Beatles were originally about, one potential hit after another. George Harrison's first recorded effort, 'Don't Bother Me', is also impressive as well as imaginatively arranged. The harmonica-drenched 'Little Child' closes the initial run of original material, all of it great fun.

Of the three later self-penned tracks, 'I Wanna Be Your Man' is the most memorable and gave The Rolling Stones their first top 5 hit. 'Hold Me Tight' is a rousing uptempo song, while 'Not A Second Time' is the one mediocre song. I can't even recall it from my pre-school days.

The six covers reveal the full range of the band's influences, from the exciting Chuck Berry item, 'Roll Over Beethoven', to two girl group songs, two Motown classics and the non-rock 'n' roll 'Till There Was You'. It's easy to forget that this generation had pre-rock influences.

Not The Beatles' greatest album, but cutting edge for its time and still a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It sounds like exotic birds", 22 Nov 2013
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: With The Beatles (Audio CD)
"In twenty years time, nothing of them will survive." (F. Newton, New Statesman, November 1963.)

Fifty years ago today (November 22nd), the most eagerly awaited event of the decade so far occurred; the release of The Beatles second long playing record. Not only was it highly anticipated by the (mostly teenage) record buying public, when it did hit the shelves it stunned the music industry two fold:

1. The sleeve broke new ground, being a complete departure from the blandness that was commonplace (and has been copied a multitude of times since).
2. Against usual record company procedure, neither of the group's two previous singles were included (nor was their soon to be released fifth).

What was included in the 32:44 running time left many competitors with their head in their hands (and after this, there was no competition). A follow up LP is always difficult (and usually, if an artist got that far, not much care and attention was lavished upon such a thing) but this was different. With half the songs again self-penned, and opening and closing with two rousing rockers, `With The Beatles' was a huge step forward in their song writing and application. The thing that made everyone sit up and take notice was that the group could afford to leave a sure-fire million selling single in `All My Loving' as a mere album track. Anyone else would have fallen over themselves to have released that.

Using the same sequencing formula as their previous long player (that is, opening and closing with something wild), from the fourteen tracks, the only aberration is McCartney's dreadful out of time and rather tuneless singing on 'Hold Me Tight'. It makes you wonder whether that was the experiment all along, as there was certainly time to redo the vocals, as this song had first been recorded back in February. Notwithstanding that, what with the `Aeolian cadences' (and half a century later, people are still none the wiser) of `Not A Second Time', the first foray into blues with `Little Child'; the unexpected `Till There Was You' highlighting the group's versatility, George's debut as a writer and even Ringo doing well on `I Wanna Be Your Man', was it really a surprise this was the first British pop long player to sell a million copies?

Previously, backing vocals were either non-existent or scarce in their use; The Beatles changed all that and this showcases just how important this was to the group that, after all, were not only a quartet but also a vocal quartet at that. Unlike any other group before or since (the only exception I can think of is probably The Monkees), the singing was shared amongst all of them, as it would be throughout their time.

Whatever the idea behind what was contained within the sleeve, and we can only review this retrospectively, there isn't really any discussion needed to know that this was far ahead of the times. It also showed they were no `flash-in-pan' and made people wonder what was next. (Within ten short weeks, everyone found out.) The days of record company guided groups, agent led puppets and the careers of anodyne `Bobby' singers was well and truly over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

With The Beatles
With The Beatles by The Beatles (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews