Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the film, you'll love this
As you'd expect, this is a CD of the soundtrack to the film Labyrinth. It features all of the well-known songs from the film, such as Magic Dance, as well as the instrumental pieces. If you're not familiar with the film, I'd recommend you watch that first, as the songs are linked to the film's storyline and would probably sound strange if you hear them for the first time...
Published on 10 Feb. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some credible Bowie songs, just forgottern by the world!!
Bowie not only starred in this movie, but wrote a handful of songs towards it also. They belong no-where else but on this CD and are urguably, all good songs, as bowie songs go, but the nice thig about this album is the tracks blend in turn from Bowie's 80's POP jives to Trevor Jones instrmental, eerie marvels, which are ever present through out the movie.
Listen out...
Published on 5 Jan. 2004 by John P. Galantini


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the film, you'll love this, 10 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
As you'd expect, this is a CD of the soundtrack to the film Labyrinth. It features all of the well-known songs from the film, such as Magic Dance, as well as the instrumental pieces. If you're not familiar with the film, I'd recommend you watch that first, as the songs are linked to the film's storyline and would probably sound strange if you hear them for the first time out of context. This is not a typical David Bowie album! Yes, the songs are silly and very, very 80s, but that's part of their charm, and you can't deny they're catchy! My only slight complaint would be that I'm not sure all of the instrumental pieces work as pieces of music independent from the film - I found some of them (particularly the ones used to create a sense of excitement or urgency in the film) a little disjointed without the pictures to accompany them. Still, it's good that this is a complete collection of the film's soundtrack. If you enjoy the songs in all of their silliness, then don't hesitate to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 1 April 2003
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
My daughter and I cant get enough of Labyrinth. Its our favorite film of all time. I have searched loads of places for the soundtrack and now we have it, we listen to it all the time. Being 20 and 2, we are never too old or too young to enjoy the classics...so on behalf of my daughter and myself...Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just superb, 25 July 2006
By 
Paul Clitheroe (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
So what is it, exactly, that gives Labyrinth its sheer brilliance? Is it the music, the story or David Bowie's domineering performance as Jared? It's hard to say, and the likely conclusion is that they all share the task of making a timeless classic, that nonetheless holds that 80s glamour. This movie could not be done today.

The soundtrack holds a tiny slice of the Labyrinth world. David Bowie is BRILLIANT. His songs make this album; superb, rocky interjections in an otherwise awesome bit of musical engineering courtesy of Trevor Jones (he does the 'non-Bowie' bits). This CD isn't just a soundtrack. It's an album in and of itself, and pure magic.

"It's only forever ... not long at all!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 23 Sept. 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
In 1986 Jim Henson's wonderful movie, Labyrinth, came out. A very entertaining movie, Labyrinth featured many wonderful songs by the great David Bowie, and now you can own the soundtrack to that movie. This CD has twelve songs from the movie, all of which are excellent to listen to even if you haven't seen the movie. My favorite is the wonderful As The World Falls Down, which is actually one of my all-time favorite David Bowie songs. So, if you are a fan of David Bowie, or just a fan of great music, then you must get this CD. My family and I highly recommend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 23 Aug. 2004
By 
C. Crabtree "ceci x" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This album is perfect for any "Labyrinthian". It contains all the songs from the film, and the scores behind the scenes, eg when sarah is running throught the beginning of the labyrinth.
my favourite song has to be "within you", since I know all the words, and most of it is a simple tune anyway so you can easily sing it without going out of tune. You can also play the parts of sarah and Bowie in it (within the privacy of your own room of course!!).
On the whole a great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beauty of the Labyrinth, 16 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
As a child this was one of the only films I ever watched. Now I have grown up, not much has changed. Except now I listen to the music via this CD.
The music is uplifting and you cannot help but smile at 'Chilly Down'. 'As the World Falls Down' really explores Bowies vocal talent as does 'Underground'. Each time I listen to the instrumental 'Hallucinations' I get shivers down my spine. You do not have to be an obsessed fan of the movie to enjoy the music as it captures a generation of fantasy films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 5 Aug. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I love the film, and this soundtrack (so central to the movie) brings it all back. The magic of the soundtrack is enhanced by that of the film, and vice versa.

Even if you have never seen the film, there are still some beautiful pieces on here, worth hearing in their own right. I can heartilly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some credible Bowie songs, just forgottern by the world!!, 5 Jan. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Bowie not only starred in this movie, but wrote a handful of songs towards it also. They belong no-where else but on this CD and are urguably, all good songs, as bowie songs go, but the nice thig about this album is the tracks blend in turn from Bowie's 80's POP jives to Trevor Jones instrmental, eerie marvels, which are ever present through out the movie.
Listen out on Chilly Down for the backing vocals of none other than Danny John Jules (aka The Cat from Red Dwarf). If only Terry Jones witty script could have been slotted into this album here and there, I may have given it one more star.
It's a great must have for Bowie fans and lovers of the movie, but certainly not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for a magic dance, 1 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
From great songs like 'Underground' and 'magic dance' from the greatly talented David Bowie to instromentals from the famous Terry Jones who also wrote the screenplay to the movie. Songs from the movie 'Labyrinth' great songs in a great film.
It includes 'As The World Falls Down' which is my faviourite love song of all time, combining an eerie element to a romantic theme. The combined geneius of David Bowie and Terry Jones results in a spectabular soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honestly...., 16 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Honestly this album will really only appeal to fans of the film and David Bowie. Being unhealthily obsessed with both I can say that this disc graces my stereo every few days. However if you are not a fan of the movie the 80's synth soundtrack will mostlikely grate on your nerves as there are only 5 Bowie tracks here. If you are a fan...shame for not already having it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture
Labyrinth: Music From The Motion Picture by Trevor Jones (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews