Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous!, 10 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
This is definately a fantastic CD. It is the most listened to amongst my huge collection. It is music that is chilled and best played on a hot summer's day. It brings many scenes back to you from the amazing film "Stealing Beauty". It takes you back to Italy and you become Lucy. Even if you have not seen the film, the music will mean something to you! The combination of older and newer music works well - for example Nina Simone and Portishead. This CD will open up artists to you that you never knew existed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If my life could encompass an album..., 3 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
I bought this album back in 1997, just after I'd seen the film. This album has everything you could possibly want from the onset. The sensually haunting first three tracks, go hand in hand with the bluesy smoothness of John Lee Hooker's 'Annie Mae' which echoes perfectly the seductive lure of the film. So too, stirring old classics (Nina Simone/Billie Holiday) mix, who would have thought it, superbly with the up-tempo beats, provided in the main by Liz Phair and the slightly dizzy sounds of Lori Carson. The enchanting tracks of 8 & 9 are perfect for chill out sessions and therefore makes this the most overplayed album I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have soundtrack, 4 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
This album encapsulates the mood of the movie, and brings memories of the beauty of Bertolucci's brilliant film.
If nothing else moves you, the Cocteau Twins 'Alice' will stay with you for days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 13 Feb 2006
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
I can safely say this is one of the most beautiful compliations I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. A perfect accomplise to the stunninly poignant movie.
Best listened to on a lounging around on a hazy sun drenched afternoon or staying up all night with a magical bout of insommia. You will not forget this CD in a hurry!
The enchanting and somewhat trippy ambiance of this compliation will draw you in within the first few bars of the opening track "2 Wicky" by Hoover and not let go until the fun filled "I need love" best known from the Ralph Lauren adverts is over.
The selection is perfect; sucessfully mixing tip hop (Glory Box), summery pop rock (Rocket Boy), jazz (Annie Mae) and old skool motown classics (Superstition). There is something for all tastes and I'm sure you'll be finding yourself checking out some of the unheard of artists listed. (This album is the soul reason I fell in love with Portishead).
In conclusion this album is not to be missed, I would buy it if only to listen to the bewitching eeriness that is "Alice" by the Cocteau Twins, the good old fashioned pianistic talent that is John Lee Hooker with "Annie Mae" or of course the hauting beautiful vocals of Beth Gibbons in the perfect "Glory Box" by Portishead.
Definatly not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best song from the film is missing, 8 Jun 2005
By 
Rod Parkes (Taipo, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the most eclectic soundtracks ever. While it is certainly enjoyable, I wonder why they omitted Roland Gift's lovely song that was played over the closing credits of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, sad, smooth, happy., 29 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best soundtracks, if not albums, about. It has something for everyone from jazz to rock. It'll have you singing and dancing and bring back memories of the beautiful film it accompanied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
Just a suitable compilation that suited our mood at the time. Now a great addition to our in-car selection to keep the other drivers at bay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diverse and enjoyable, 29 Oct 2013
By 
J. H. Mccarthy "Rex Glevi" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
I found this while looking for one of the songs on this compilation and so decided to try out the full album. Well worth it. I think that almost every track has merit and as a diverse compilation cannot bore. It is not "Now that is......music" or "Hits 1996" type of album but is crafted to follow and give backdrop to a movie. I haven't seen the film but the album is a definite hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stealing beauty, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
A good variety of different songs,my main reason for buying was the elizabeth fraser track.
Well packed and in very good time.
A very good bargin at the asking price.
Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant nostalgic listening, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealing Beauty (Audio CD)
Some great tracks on here that I'd forgotten. A bit of a trip down memory lane for the nearly-forty age group, as well as some classics. A great Summertime listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stealing Beauty
Stealing Beauty by Various (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews