Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rock album I own
The story goes that, on the back of a rough-edged recording presented to Capitol Records as the follow up to 'The Dandys Rule OK', the record company threw it back in their faces and told them to go write something decent, and quickly. These recordings, often referred to as The Black Album, slid unnoticed into history while a new CD was frantically created on a tiny...
Published on 26 July 2004 by Mark Thomas

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Production ruins some great tunes
There is much to recommend on this album - from the opener "Be In", the album draws you in with its' swirling, dense sound. Sadly, the production is a big let-down here - the instruments are difficult to distinguish, the backing vocals are too low in the mix and the whole album sounds dull and fuzzy as a result. No comparison to 13 Songs From Urban Bohemia,...
Published on 5 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rock album I own, 26 July 2004
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
The story goes that, on the back of a rough-edged recording presented to Capitol Records as the follow up to 'The Dandys Rule OK', the record company threw it back in their faces and told them to go write something decent, and quickly. These recordings, often referred to as The Black Album, slid unnoticed into history while a new CD was frantically created on a tiny budget and at high speed. Come Down is that product - hastily re-arranged, rammed together, cut up and released. It's a wonder then, that it sounds like such pure, unadulterated musical genius, years in the making.
I first borrowed this album from my library, and listened to the first track 8 (yes, EIGHT) times before I could bring myself to move onto the rest. It's a sound all of its own (if you except Love and Rockets and The Velvet Underground), so smooth, gradual, soaring and crashing, the likes of which I had never heard before - it was a totally new musical experience and I loved it immediately.
You may vaguely recognise some tracks on the CD from backgrounds slots in various popular and not-so-popular films and TV adverts - Not If You Were The Last Junkie On Earth, Boys Better, Every Day Should Be A Holiday have all been used at some point, primarily because they're the most listenable tracks on the album with much more variety and layers than just those songs. It's sleazy and clean-cut, self-indulgent and generous, esoteric and mainstream, all in equal quantities. Listening to the whole thing in one slew can be a very private, and very rich, experience - the band have created an enveloping, almost tangible sound which engrosses the listener in a grunge world of self-analysis and personal enjoyment.
If you ask people if they've heard the Dandy Warhols, they'll probably mumble something about "...the tune from that mobile phone advert...", but this album is really the heart and soul of what the Warhols are all about. It's fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Rocky Power Pop., 30 July 2013
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
A marked improvement on their previous effort. The vocals are stronger, the songs are catchier, lyrics funnier and smarter. A band has 10 years where they're at they're at their best, this is where they started to get into the zone experimenting with different elements, different genres and styles. This is more an experimentation album, they really no 3 songs even sound like they belong on the same album. I say 3 songs because they're usaully in a couplet of similar styles, e.g. Green + Whipping Tree, Pete International Airport + Creep Out.

Even if you're not a fan you'll have a few new favorite songs after 'come down'. This album really does have everything the dandy's then become know for, this set up their legacy for future albums.
TRACK TO TRACK
1.It kicks off with Be-In an introduction of ambient sounds, then the guitar kicks in and a nice drum beat
2.Boys Better a groovy power pop tune with slick keyboard and guitar riff
3 Tongue in cheek Minnesota and the trumpet which accompanies many other of the dandies best songs appears here the track flies past. Catchy, funky and funny.
4.Orange a slow gloomy psychedelic tune with a dominant drum beat.
5.I Love You is fantastic complete with breathy vocals and heavy guitar is a hypnotic creepy love song.
6.Last Junkie is a in your face power pop song against junkie's it sounds good and has a strong meaning behind it.
7.Everyday should be a holiday' Starts with sweet sounding guitar riffs which Hendrix would be proud of. A typical song about partying but it's a lot of fun and a perfect summer song.
8.Good Morning starts with a simple chord progression and then slowly more sounds are added building up to an orgy of sounds including one of Pete's sexiest sounding solos. You'll be singing along in no time, this is a great as Courtney sounds like he's just woken up which suits the song perfectly.
9.Whipping Tree - The finger picking sounds nice and the music sounds psychedelic and Courtney mumbles some of his finest lyrics, it'll take you a few listens to get into it though.
10.Green a perfect accompaniment to Whipping Tree as they're are very similar and that's a good thing, dreamlike and psychedelic.
11.Cool as Kim Deal returns the album back to rock from the first drum beat you know you're in for a treat and then the keyboard works as it did in boys better.
12.Hard On For Jesus - It's bad because I'm a christian and yet this is one of my favorite, other than the title this could be passed off as a christian rock song. Once again a great riff and keyboard accompaniment also nice vocal harmonies.
13.Pete International Airport - You can get bogged down in the music and the length and lack of singing can be off putting however this is a superb spaced out instrumental with an array of ambient sounds. Perfect for when you are relaxing and just lazing around.
14.The Creep Out - It's Creepy, trippy and a damn good way to end the album. Dandy's best instrumental piece.

Buy the album. You will find at least 5 songs that will become your favorites and you'll love the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Day should be a new Dandy's Album (well once a year would probably do), 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
I originally brought this album on cassette(there's one for the kids), that's how long ago it was.
The reason for initially buying this album was because I heard the "last junkie" & "Holiday" singles, which were great catchy indie pop song.
Whereas, the rest of the record is what I would label "Stoner Rock", but great "Stoner Rock". So expecting one type of album I got something completely different & much better!
If you like this record, you should also check out their "13 Tales from Urban Bohemia" & "Welcome to the Monkey House".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sound, 22 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the stregth of 'Not if you were the last junkie on earth' and a vague recollection of liking 'Every day should be a holiday'. I was hoping it would be ok but I'll admit to fearing a waste of money. I could not have been more wrong.
On first listen it was obvious that the whole album flowed wonderfully in one harmonic experimentation. As I listened over and over to it I quickly fell in love with the fascinating sound of each song. The lyrics and chords are irrelevant, it is the SOUND of each of these tracks that hooks you. My favourite band is Blur and I love hip-hop, alternative and acid house but THIS is by far one of my most favourite albums of all time. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come Down is up!, 2 Mar. 2003
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
With the gentle hippie intro to "Be-In", it sounds like the Dandies are coming down big time, but it builds into some swirling, pulsating rock, mesmerising in a psychedelic way. The quality is sustained by the more conventional "Boys Better", which mimics Neil Young's powerful style, and the immaculate opening trio is completed by "Minnesoter". "Good Morning" shows REM where they have gone wrong, but "Pete International Airport" could almost be Gong. Most of the album is bright and charming, fully focused and more carefully thought-out than the debut, with thoroughly infectious and enjoyable hooks all the way through. It sounds anything but what it is: an album hurriedly thrown together from the broken wreckage of failure by four hedonists on the brink of catastrophe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pop album in years, 16 Jun. 2000
By 
A. Douglas (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
One of those rare albums where any of the songs would have made great singles, The Dandy Warhols Come Down is a fantastically upbeat, rocking pop album. It makes a pleasant change if you (like me) normally prefer bands such as Mogwai and Sonic Youth. Ignore the previous reviewer. The fact that he likes Green Day and Blink 182 says all you need to know about him. Listen to the samples then make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good CD, 20 Dec. 2007
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
One of America's best bands, yes definatly. Their album 'Come Down' is better than the rest and is a winner.
The good new wave/rock/Techno style of all their songs makes it easy to like and the funny take-it-out-on-the-world lyrics are just as good. I love this CD and I can garentee that you will like this. Say hello to your new favourite band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like all their albums?, 3 Feb. 2013
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
well I do, so i'll give it a five to bring the average back nearer to where it should be.
Their output remains high quality even now and I listen to these, sonic youth, pixies, QOTSA and grandaddy when I want a little different americana in my ears from time to time.
Granted they're no blink-182 though, more's the pity..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pschychedelia, 16 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
Warning.... If you aren't fond of pschychedelia avoid this album, and please do not slam bitter critizing out on the internet, and moarn about the bucks you spend. As the dandies have said before they don't make singles, they do albums. If you foolishly think otherwise, then you will feel conned. Because this album weighes way more than the poppy harmony of "Junkie." Not to offend that song, cause i like it as well, but it just doesn't reflect the rest of the album. My favorites on this record are "Good morning," and "Green." But hell who could pick JUST ONE??? Buy, bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of America's Best Bands, 1 Mar. 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco/Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ...The Dandy Warhols Come Down (Audio CD)
The Dandy Warhols are not deep lyricists, but that is far from the point. The band is nothing short of amazing. Containing a strong bass beat and layered guitars, the Warhols provide true dance party music. Mostly known for the party hit, "Every Day Should Be A Holiday", the rest of the album is just as much on par. "Boys Better" has a sexy thumping bass drive and the electronic keyboards add a singeing emphasis. Many will not enjoy the 'sound effects' that introduce some songs, but they are actually great lead-ins. Not all the songs are hard rockers, as the great acoustical compositions, "Whipping Tree" and "Green" show. "The Creep Out" closes the album with a slow crescendop rising beat and some weird, but effective sound effects that here, do add to the song. A great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

...The Dandy Warhols Come Down
...The Dandy Warhols Come Down by Dandy Warhols (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews