Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2001
They are one of the best quality bands around - why has no-one heard of them? Everclear combine a brilliant mix of guitar riffs and drumwork with Art Alexakis unrivalled lyric writing skills to produce tuneful and meaningful music that is impossible to get out of your head. The title track, 'normal like you' and 'amphetamine' are my favourites but all of the songs are superb. If you are just getting into Everclear, this album is the best to start off with, as it is just so damn enjoyable to listen to! The tunes just keep coming and you soon find yourself singing the songs all the time. Buy this record - and see why Everclear deserve to be recognised up there with the best of them.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2001
This is by far one of Everclear's best cd's! It's not too poppy like vol 1 it's great! it has hits like "i will buy you a new life", "father of mine" and "everything to everyone". One hit wonder, amphetamine, so much for the afterglow, normal like you and sunflowers make this cd great. Not just to be purchased by die hard everclear fans but by anyone who wants a good alternative cd
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2001
This is probably Everclear's best album just edging out SFAM vol 2.It's got a good mixture of soft 'I will buy you a new life, why I don't believe in God' and some harder stuff 'SMFTA, Amphetamine' but my favourite songs are the last 2 (sunflowers and like a california king) plus the hidden track which i think is called 'I will be hating you till Christmas'.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2001
My first impression of this CD was that it was a reasonable rock album, but it grows on you like a huge wart. Years later, this still remains one of the most played CDs in my collection. There is not a bad song on it. There are very few albums that I own where I can listen to the whole thing all the way through without skipping at least one track - but this is one of them. Personal favourite tracks: "Why I don't believe in God" and "I will buy you a new life", but that hardly seems fair to all the other great songs. Hats off to Everclear for possibly the best album in my collection. Buy it! Buy it now!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2000
When i first put this ablum in my c.d. player, i thought it would be another album that i bought that only had one good song on that i liked, as i'd heard 'amphetamin' before. But from the first song, the title track to the ablum 'so much for the afterglow' to the bonus track at the end, i was boppin' my little socks off. All the tracks on the album are very good, and a couple superb (them being 'so much...' and 'amphetamin'). even the instrumental is good. This is the greatest album i've ever bought. it even just beats 'how to make and influence people'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2000
It is so hard to even start to say who should listen to this. It is a brilliant album. It has guitar, rock, emotion and great lyrics. It is one of those cd's that you listen to over and over again all the way through. The lyrics are strongly meaningful about Art Alexakis's(the lead singer) life. Even if you've never heard or heard of everclear it is massively expected that you'll listen to this non stop until the day you get another brilliant everclear cd.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2001
When I bought this cd I played it near-continous for months. Even now I listen to it regularly (two years on) - its just that good. All the songs are quality. They are brilliantly sung, and well written (forget Cobain, Art Alexakis is the best singer/songwriter of recent times), and the guitar and drum work are as good as you'll find. I can hardly believe that SMFTA is not widely known, its a classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2001
This album offers an excellent blend of many styles. Some classic rock, some great punk riffs, even some country; and of course the superb instrumental track el distorto de melodica. Sophisticated and intelligent, yet catchy and memorable. I would try to compare this to other groups, but it is impossible. Everclear have excelled themselves by creating a new breed of rock!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 1999
This album is without a doubt one of the greatest recordings of our time. It is an album which, unlike many, you can thoroughly enjoy when you first hear it. It's emotional deepness, lyrical sincerity and tremendous rock riffs make you keep playing it over and over. I haven't changed the disc in my car stereo for months!
Well worth buying. Don't hesitate!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
This must be one of the all time classic rock albums. Every song is delivered with power and emotion - there is a real opportunity to connect with everything Art says. The album is great through out, there are no dips in performance at all. If you are to buy one record in the next year make sure it is this one - it could change your life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)