Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting demos, rehearsals, alternative versions
There are some treasures on this set:
The demo recordings at George Harrison's Esher home included on this set show The Beatles' genius at being able to develop an idea and turn it into a song. It is also a great experience to be able to listen in on the rehearsal for John's simple song Goodnight.
The widely-distributed bootleg of George singing While My Guitar...
Published on 20 Jun 2003 by Gontroppo

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Musical archaelogy vol. 3
If you're looking for a quick way to get an overview of the work of The Beatles, the anthologies are not the ideal starting point. They are certainly of historical interest, but only really work as companion pieces to the studio albums. And with very few exceptions the best versions made it onto those studio albums, not onto the cutting room floor.

With that...
Published 14 months ago by Torben Madsen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
Brilliant item, perfect quality and great communication from seller I will recommend to everyone.
My husband has had loads of listening pleasure and couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought I knew all the Beatles's songs, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
Here we have studio recordings. Sometimes John goes wrong and starts again. Sometimes there are comments in the background from Paul and Ringo. There are songs on here that I have never heard. Sometimes they have not decided on the words so they John goes lah lah lah. I listen to this in the car and every day there are surprises. Despite it being just studio recordings the sound is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology 3, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Robert Coley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely quick delivery which was well packaged. Item as described. Item well priced and really good value. I recommend seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
good quality sound from one of the best groups ever. Love the different build up of songs that make this a timeless piece of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UK vinyl, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent product, for the Beatles Anthology UK vinyl is the way to go, unfortunately the US vinyl sucks of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alt takes and a few lost songs., 31 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
I love the beatles; so this was a must have for me. All three antholoies; were in fact. I have numerous bootlegs with these same songs too. But this was the official release of some of them. Strangely many missing songs; mainly from the get back sessions are not on this one and they should have been. you can get those songs on bootlegs still but some were completed songs like 'I lost my little girl' and others. this one however is two cds of the beatles alt takes mainly and that's a good thing for a beatles fan. casual fans may want to stick to the regular releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Musical archaelogy vol. 3, 25 May 2013
By 
Torben Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
If you're looking for a quick way to get an overview of the work of The Beatles, the anthologies are not the ideal starting point. They are certainly of historical interest, but only really work as companion pieces to the studio albums. And with very few exceptions the best versions made it onto those studio albums, not onto the cutting room floor.

With that out of the way, let's have a look at volume 3, which contains outtakes from the time of 'The Beatles', 'Let It Be' and 'Abbey Road'. It's a bit of hit and miss, really and these outtakes do very little to enhance or detract from my perception of The Beatles' last three albums.

What is interesting though is the inclusion of versions of 'Junk' and 'Teddy Boy' which would later surface on McCartney's solo albums as well as Harrison's 'All Things Must Pass' which of course would end up the title track for his solo album. (Why this was never a Beatles song continues to baffle me).

Elsewhere the anthology is marked by the same things that marked 'The Beatles' and 'Let It Be' for me: the material on the whole is not quite up there with what came before and after ('Abbey Road').

A fascinating listen, but relatively little is lost by sticking to the studio albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mish-mash - but an enjoyable one, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
As with all of the Anthology series, there is value and enjoyment in hearing early takes of Beatles classics. There is interest in hearing the boys talking during the recordings. It's fly on the wall stuff.
But I do find the album difficult to listen to as a whole (perhaps you aren't supposed to). It rarely flows.
I rate Anthology 3 as a historical item, an insight into the creative process - the music itself is very patchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From A Beginning to The End, 16 July 2000
By 
Christopher Morris "twister84" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
Usually in a trilogy of compilations the third album is devoid of the quality in the first two. This would especially be expected when all the albums were double CDs. But then this is The Beatles. And anyone who thinks The Beatles couldn't cram six CDs full of quality, and still leave you wanting more, needs their heads examined. So buy all three today. You won't regret it. Unless it turns out that you needed that money for a life saving opeation. Nah, you still wouldn't regret it. You'd just lie on your death bed listening to Octopus's Garden, having a ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as any Beatles album!!, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Anthology 3 (Audio CD)
An exciting exposure of the best band ever at the peak of their powers!!!!
These 50 tracks include several songs that develop into later solo releases - "Junk" & "Teddy Boy" for Paul McCartney, "All Things Must Pass" & "Not Guilty" for George Harrison - as well as the rambling "What's The New Mary Jane" which was never released before. It is fascinating to directly experience what the band was going through at this time as shown in "Happiness Is A Warm Gun" where John exposes his obsession with Yoko Ono in his prototype lyrics. In songs such as "Mean Mr Mustard","Why Don't we Do It In The Road" and "Oh Darling!" the lead composer is shown to really struggle with the development of lyrics. George's compositions are of most interest though, as in the version of "Something" that is here Harrison rather overeggs the lyrics and shows it to be light years away from the finished classic it later becomes. However, the simpler version of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" is far better here than the finally released version that is ruined by the overelaborate Clapton guitar solo.
A compulsory purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology 3
Anthology 3 by The Beatles (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews