Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars priceless stuff
packed with rare takes and live performances, this is essential listening for the beatles fan. no greatest hits collection, this album feels more like being a voyeur to some of the most historic recordings done by the beatles. standout tracks include the instrumentals 'eleanor rigby' and 'within you without you' (have to be heard to appreciated), early versions of 'fool...
Published on 12 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Poorer quality then expected to CD case but overall good service
Published 26 days ago by Ruth Pritchard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mix of Beatle recordings, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
Just what I wanted to add to my collection of teenage memories. Even my Grand children enjoy listening to this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
Don't bother with the other two, just get this one. It shows them at their most inventive in the studio. Some absolute gems here - worth it just for a hard rocking freakbeat type version of Im Looking Through You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer joy, 15 July 2010
By 
Nicholas B. Gibbs "Nick Gibbs" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
A fantastic companion piece to the four albums it covers. The Beatles riding the wave of the greatest spring of joy and creativity ever heard in popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More to recommend than Volume 1, 24 April 2006
By 
Marc B (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
Incorporating the years 1965 to 68 this set covers the most creative period of the Beatles middle years. Although more interesting than Volume 1 you still need to wade through a lot of filler in search of gems. The glaring omission is the 15 min Avant Garde piece written for the Carnival of Light rave during the sessions for Sgt Pepper. It was omitted because Harrison didn't like it, hence the inclusion of the instrumental versions of Eleanor Rigby and Within you Without You. Here in lies the problem with the whole Anthology project, genuinely interesting selections omitted in committee meetings because certain members don't approve.
There are gems to be had though. The Strawberry Fields selections are over 8 mins long and are fascinating. They are especially interesting because they really highlight the crucial role George Martin played in the genesis of the final version. It was on his suggestion that the song begin with the chorus and the first two verses are broken up with the chorus there in improving the flow and structure of the song completely. Not to mention the amazing job done joining two takes of different tempo and key together to make the final master. Other gems include alternative takes of Norwegian Wood, I'm Looking Through You, an early version of Tomorrow Never Knows and 2 early takes of Fool on the Hill. The live tracks here are surprisingly good especially the Blackpool gig but the 1966 selections from Japan are poor compared to the live selections on Anthology 1. Pull all the gems together with the choice cuts from Volume 1 and 3 and you have a fantastically listenable playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anatomy of Genius., 12 Nov 2000
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
If you are, like me, a long-time Beatles fan, you will love this twist on what I personally believe to be the most experimental & brave period of the Fabs glittering career. Whilst most of the tracks are good (only a few clinkers, ie. the tedious "Green Onions" clone of "12 Bar Instrumental" are present), the real gold in these tracks is that they enable the listener to follow (or try & follow) the development of a particular song. Listening to some of the songs is like seeing old and well-loved buildings only half-built (ie "a Day In The Life"). In particular, listening to the basic unadorned take of"I Am The Walrus" is like suddenly finding your eccentric Auntie Nellie pruning roses in the nude...!
Musicians (pro- or amateur) will be fascinated by the alternative takes & half-developed ideas, trying to figure out the logic behind why certain ideas were dropped and others developed. And in case I've wondered off the point a little, I'll say it again, brilliant music, to be appreciated by EVERYBODY.
Get this, if only for a fascinating glimpse of the inner musical workings a bunch pop geniuses, illustrated & dissected in the manner of an anatomical text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Beatles music. (Don't we all?), 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
If you can't always get track listings on youtube, buying C.ds is still a good way,
of finding out about some of the other things bands like the beatles did,
many of their rougher recording takes, are great, and can be quite emotional.

The Beatles will never die!! No matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology 2 on vinyl more treat!, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought the anthology series (like most people in the 1990s) on CD, and they were good; but nothing compared to these beatifully executed vinyl versions. A must for any serious Beatles fan the anthologies bring you through their development, their early success, their increasing sophistication until we meet them in their pomp in Anthologhy 3 when they were both the most popular AND the best, most creative band in the world. Then once the apogee had been reached Lennon (wisely in my opinion) knew that the Beatles could do no more without repeating themselves and decided the "dream was over", but what a dream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology 2, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Robert Coley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extremely quick delivery which was well packaged. Item as described. Item well priced and really good value. I recommend seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles...Anthology 2., 11 Sep 2013
By 
Douglas W Koschel (ARARAT, Victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 2 (Audio CD)
It's easy to get hold of any of the Beatles' studio albums but albums like this (mainly for Beatles' diehard fans) will give you an idea of the atmosphere & banter which revolved around the production of their enduring albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology 2
Anthology 2 by The Beatles (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews