Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ALWAYS COCO
I was lucky i was at school pre mobile phone,when there was a vestige of morality,the pornography of celebrity a foetus,pre big brother and we were all mostly computer illiterate,i still am.These were the days i say as i put on my rather large rose tinted glasses.You came to school talking like a rapper stones would be thrown at you.I Should Coco is a classic british pop...
Published on 29 May 2011 by mister joe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a collection filler. Must have missed part ...
Bought as a collection filler. Must have missed part of my misspent earlier years. Ok for those who are "into this".
Published 1 month ago by Les Hooton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ALWAYS COCO, 29 May 2011
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
I was lucky i was at school pre mobile phone,when there was a vestige of morality,the pornography of celebrity a foetus,pre big brother and we were all mostly computer illiterate,i still am.These were the days i say as i put on my rather large rose tinted glasses.You came to school talking like a rapper stones would be thrown at you.I Should Coco is a classic british pop record that soundtracked my youth.And it stills pogos around like a kid with ADD who has drunk a litre of cola.Full of beans,cheek and humour it really is a wonderful album.Forget teen angst this is teen jinks.Incredible to think the boys were about 18 when they recorded this album.This is THE britpop album in the truest sense and if the albums of the time were trump cards you can have my Parklife and Definetly Maybe i will have your I Should Coco and Dog Man Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Albums Of The '90s, 3 Jun. 2003
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
This album is probably Supergrass' best (although 'In It For The Money' is superb too but this has more 'Mojo'). It combines classic punk with britpop in a unique way with VERY catchy songs which go by so fast that its easy not to recognise and appreciate the melodic complexity of them.
The album has alot of energy and is a very fun listen with tracks like 'Mansize Rooster' providing a very uplifting sound which features warm harmonised backing vocals that make you feel good and happy inside.
I recommend this album to any music fan and I would imagine you would have heard the single 'Alright'- well if you like that song (can't imagine why you wouldn't) then you will love this album.
I am proud that great artists like Supergrass are from Britain and i am very proud to have this album in my precious music collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Summer '95 all over again..., 25 Mar. 2004
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
Just bought this album last week after listening to "In it for the Money" and "Supergrass" on a pub jukebox last week. Once upon a time, I used to listen to a hell of a lot of britpop, but since then I've got into all sorts of things. Listening to the two albums mentioned above reminded me how good Supergrass actually are, so I bought it, and I think it's just fantastic.
Of course, everybody knows "Alright", but that's nowhere near the best song on the album. "I'd Like to Know" and "Mansize Rooster" are just about the most fun a tune can be, and that's what this type of music is all about. Since this album, Supergrass have grown into a much more mature (but no less fun) band, and this record shows pretty much their most raucous adolescent side, which is at times hilarious, and at others, just a clear ineffable British coolness. Admittedly, it tails off a little towards the end, but when it's on in the background of a party filled with 18 year olds, beer and maybe a little bit of other substances (such as those that Gaz was caught by the fuzz for), it's just storming all the way through. A definate for Supergrass fans, but for those new to the band, get "In it for the Money".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut, a Britpop classic!, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
Perhaps the most famous song on Supergrass' first album 'I Should Coco' is the evergreen classic 'Alright', an anthem of the Britpop era. The rest of the album, which contains further hits like 'Caught By The Fuss', 'Mansized Rooster' and 'Lenny' continues with the same raw energy and genuine excitement.

The whole of 'I Should Coco' can easily be played in it's entirety, and for an album that was released in 1995, all of the songs still sound as fresh as they ever did, and are incredibly catchy. Barely out of their teens when the Supergrass trio released this classic, it demonstrates what a talented bunch of young men they were, and deserve their place among the most popular and important bands of the day. What makes this an even more impressive album is when you consider that this polished work was in fact a debut!

If you only know (and like) the one song, then you'll definitely enjoy the entire 'I Should Coco', a perfect album to make you instantly feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars era-defining, summer indie pop, 11 Oct. 2004
By 
R. Barnes (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
this album summed up my summer of 1995; young and full of energy. Its the perfect mid 1990's adolescent album, full of punchy tunes and memorable pop records. The album's first song 'I'd like to know' is a perfect tune to jump up and down to, getting the blood flowing, followed by the young punky goodness of 'Caught by the Fuzz', the perfect anthem for every tearyaway youth whose going through their difficult stage! 'Alright' is the perfect summer pop song, whilst songs like Lose It and Lenny rock your socks off. the 2nd half of the album is abit calmer with more melodic rather than riff heavy guitar. Songs like She's so loose, Time and Sofa of my lethargy are great soulful tunes. All in all, this album is brilliant. Sadly they did deteriorate, though 'in it for the money' was a good album with a rockier feel to it, but 'Supergrass' was pretty bad. But go out and buy this if you remember 1995.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mental, 8 July 2008
By 
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
This is the fourth album of theirs I've owned and it's absolutely brilliant. In my opinion, this one falls short of their second work 'In it for the money' but not by much at all (which makes this album brilliant none-the-less and certainly not disappointing).

It is bubbly, youthful, lively, fun, vibrant, mad, silly, ......

But is musically very creative (not surprising for Supergrass). The messages throughout the songs are snapshots of adolescence given in a querky, jokey way (as are the songs musically!)

The high standard of music of these guys at their age for their 1st album is unbelievable - far superior than much of what other artists produce as their 1st, 2nd, 3rd or even 6th album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supergrass' first, and best!!!, 12 Jun. 2005
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
Debut albums are always hard. You have to nail it with great songs and build a good reputation at the start of a long career. I bet you that Queen and The Beatles would have jacked it in if their debuts were rated badly. Supergrass' debut album (now 10 years old) is absolutely brilliant. With fantastic songs coming left right and center. No matter how much you pay for this CD, you can bet you're in for a treat. It kicks it all off with one of the best tracks they've ever done-'I'd Like To Know'. A fantastic rock rampage with a funky instrumental at the end. Then, you have their first ever song-'Caught By The Fuzz'-a catchy tune based on a real event. Then another brilliant single that goes by the name of 'Mansize Rooster'. A bouncy song with a good drum beat that you just can't put down. At number 4 comes Supergrass' best-known song. 'Alright'. " We are young, we are free..." Pure genius at work. Then comes the fantastic rock piece 'Lose It'. And more catchy beats with 'Lenny'. 'Strange Ones' (another of their first) comes followed by another of the albums best. The ultra-fast and ultra-great 'Sitting Up Straight'. To slow things down, 'She's So Loose' and the laughably high-pitched singing of 'We're Not Supposed To' make a refreshing change of pace. The slow rock tune of 'Time' and the long beats of 'Sofa (Of My Lethargy)' and the great topper of 'Time To Go' end this album. After listening through it once. You'll see why it's so good...
Track Listing
1. I'd Like To Know
2. Caught By The Fuzz
3. Mansize Rooster
4. Alright
5. Lose It
6. Lenny
7. Strange Ones
8. Sitting Up Straight
9. She's So Loose
10. We're Not Supposed To
11. Time
12. Sofa (Of My Lethargy)
13. Time To Go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sophisticated rock result..., 8 Oct. 2002
By 
Kika (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
Easy-listening but still a musical result of the highest quality. We wouldn't expect anything less from these four guys that constantly struggle to outdo themselves. A wonderfull album which I recommend to everybody who enjoys rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet memories of my youth come flooding back!!, 14 Jan. 2009
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
Ahhhhhh its 1995 again. Endless parties, not a care in the world, no mortgage, no kids...... I digress!

Hearing these wonderful tracks bring such memories flooding back - the mid nineties, when brit/indie pop was at its strongest, I should Coco sums it all up for me.

I've just picked this CD up again after a few years on the shelf, and it still has the power to blow me away - its a classic, and at this price, it would be a crime not to buy it. Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I should coco - I should say so, 22 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: I Should Coco (Audio CD)
This album typifies the raw energetic sound that made Supergrass one of the best live band of the '90s. Gaz (who I happened to have gone to school with) was only 19 when "Alright" came out and this pop-rockin' generation defining song makes this album worth buying alone. If Roger Simmons (old music teacher) could see you now hey guys !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Should Coco
I Should Coco by Supergrass (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews