Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums of all time
After people dismissed Radiohead as one hit wonders with the unprecedented success of Creep; a track that lifted an otherwise average debut LP into a multi-million seller, the Oxford quintet took decisive steps with their second album. Namely not to even attempting to match the direct, incisive genius of that one off hit and to concentrate on emotional diversity in their...
Published on 6 Dec. 2001 by Edward Turner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album
Really nice album by Radiohead, but after listening to OK Computer first, found it hard to get into in quite the same way!
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by Alice


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Mesmerising, 25 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
Without doubt one of the greatest albums of all time. Radiohead's best album. This is a must for anyone who wants music that expresses almost every emotion in each breath. Every song is unforgetable, but the most powerful are in my view are The Bends, bones, Black Star and of course Street Spirit (Fade Out). Do not overlook this awesome album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always good quality, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
Zoverstock are excellent.. Have never had a bad purchase from them.. Product always tidy and virtually as new.. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinda grows on you..., 28 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
I was planning on trying Radiohead out for quite a while, mainly because I finally wanted to see what the hype was all about. When I bought this album I already knew a couple of songs, like There There and Go To Sleep. Thom Yorke's voice gave me the creeps. This is really an album which requires multiple listens. 1st time round: hmmmm, not very impressed. all songs are the same speed. sounds a bit like Coldplay.
2nd time: getting better. Planet Telex is a cool song.
Anyway, after a few more listens the album really started to grow on me. It's really depressing though, so don't make my mistake and play it early in the morning. This album is really great and I'd recommend it to any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bends, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
peter Thompson "Retep" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
classic album, even if you are not a Radiohead fan this is still a classic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's certainly grown on me!!, 4 April 2003
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
I gave this album a hammering a couple of months back, but after several encouragements to listen to this, and OK Computer, by a friend, it appears I may have been to harsh. See, one of the things I didn't like about Radiohead was the fact that they wouldn't state who their real influences were (i.e U2) and this made me think that they were trying to use someone elses work and try to pass it of as their own. While, undoubtably, very U2-ish I have realised this isn't such a bad thing. U2 are one of the most influential bands of the 80s and 90s so I decided to except the Bends as what it is: A beautiful, intricate album that isn't as hard to get into as OK Computer. Songs like High and Dry & Fake Plastic Trees can become instant favourites with their easy melodies and flowing choruses. But the real beauty in this album comes from material like Street Spirit and Just. Two very different songs that can be categorised by their brilliance. Their are some dull moments on the album but apart from that it is a lot better than my first impressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have to read a review about this album,shame on you !!, 9 July 2006
By 
D. Cook (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
The Greatest album ever made !! (I think that just about covers everything).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 26 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
A wonderful album from start to finish. Best tracks are Planet Telex, High and Dry, Fake Plastic Trees and Nice Dream. Keep returning to it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make no mistake this is one of the finest albums of them all, 30 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
I'll be honest, I'haven't been a fan of Radiohead for a long time.My friend introduced me to The Bends a little over six months ago and since than I've become addicted. Six months down the line and I have all their albums and enjoyed each one enormously.So where does The Bends fit in? Quite well actually and like any of their albums an essential buy.
The album starts off brilliantly with Planet Telex, an epic spacey kind of song and is one of my favourite on the album. This is not the only great song,however.Bones, High and Dry, Black Star and one underrated radiohead song bulletproof I wish I was that is one of their better songs. However, the best is saved for last with the majestic and beautiful Street Spirit. Excellent lyrics and Thom's singing combine to produce an unforgettable experience.However, it's not perfect. The Bends, the title song,is weak and iron lung is average at best and I usually skip these songs.
So is it radioheads best? Is it better than Ok Computer or Kid A? Well no. it's not because they're better or anything it's because they are very different albums musically. The Bends is accessible mainstream rock while ok computer and kid a are far more more experimental and are not aimed at everyone.Buy it, as along with ok computer, kid a, in utero and appetite for destruction,it's essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bends (Audio CD)
bit loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bends
The Bends by Radiohead (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews