Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so ill it hurts
From start to finish this is one of the greatest albums ever released and the Bestie's finest hour.
1994 was a great year for music and this was the best of the pile. It has perhaps the greatest start ever in "sureshot" and includes several moments of genius.
It covers so many styles its unture, from punk rock ("tough guy", "heart-attack man") to mellow musical...
Published on 25 April 2003 by Mr. I. J. Warncken

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars skip through
This is a brilliant album. It can be very heavy and also very mellow. I wish they had grouped the tracks together better as one minute you are enjoying a chilled riff then HEART ATTACK, HEART ATTACK YEAH! I like to skip though or program tracks, this is a piece of music history and one of those albums everyone under the age of 50 should own
Published 9 months ago by enter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageing Nicely :), 18 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always thought these guys were a bit of a novelty and didn't really rate them at the time but this album has immediately rocketed into my top 10 of all time!

Some songs sound a bit dated these days (about 4 of them), but the rest of the album is Rocking and very original and varied musically, some really chilled out funky tracks i wasn't expecting. i'm now going to get the rest of The Beastie's back catalogue.

BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (Audio CD)
The best of the Beasties albums, some fine tunes on here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever made, 30 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Ill Communication [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Ill communication is arguably the best album the Beastie Boys ever made and it was made to be listened to on vinyl. This is a 180g vinyl remastered from the original recordings. Great quality and great sound. This album shows the complete diversity of the beastie boys, going from hard rock to smooth acid jazz, and of corse the whole album has the main undertone of their singniture beat boy hip hop. Three MC's and one DJ, at the start they actually didn't show pictures of themselves as they felt that their main audience wouldn't buy their music because they were white !?!

This is an all time great, and a must have for a record collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (Audio CD)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Amazing LP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (Audio CD)
It's okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (Audio CD)
Perfect!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!!, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (Audio CD)
Love everything about the beastie boys
One of their best albums ever
Can't get the songs out of my head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance, but possibly over-rated, 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (Audio CD)
There are some real kicking moments on this album, for example the opening track 'Sure shot', as well as the blistering 'Root down', 'Sabotage', and the funky 'Flute loop' (which I'm sure has ripped off the flute part from the 'Badinerie' from Bach's Orchestral Suite no.2), but too much time is given over to aimless instrumental jams, and let down by a rather uninspired cameo from Q-Tip on 'Get it together'. And what is with most of the vocals being distorted to the point of incomprehension? Maybe I'm missing something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the proper version, not this sad shadow., 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ill Communication (MP3 Download)
Awful, awful, awful. A fantastic album that I've been meaning to buy again for years (still got the cassette!) but didn't realise I was buying the butchered "clean" version. Very sad, can't even listen to it but don't want to have to pay for a second one just to hear it as the artists intended. If I buy something called License To Ill, that's what I expect to get, not "License To Ill (half the lyrics missing, lazily hacked up for sensitive little ears)". Misrepresentation in my book, poor show Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ill Communication
Ill Communication by Beastie Boys (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews