Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotive, intelligent and highly polished album
Although familiar with Robbie Robertson's more famous work, the soundtrack from The Native Americans was very much an impulse purchase. I'm pleased to say that it's a heart-warming and extremely soulful soundtrack which reaffirms both his songwriting prowess and high level of musicianship. By no means to everyone's liking, but certainly an intelligent and courageous album...
Published on 12 Oct 2001 by Julian Takacs (sales@talkingwe...

versus
4 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over hyped disappointment.....
If Robbie Robertson could have stuck to the excellently atmospheric instrumental songs like tracks 1 and 4, this could have been a 5 star review. It's a shame that most of the rest of the CD is murdered by songs with the most juvenile twee and embarrasing lyrics you are ever likely to hear, delivered in most part, by the most god awful vocals...the guy even gives up...
Published on 2 Sep 2001 by tiptopthai


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotive, intelligent and highly polished album, 12 Oct 2001
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
Although familiar with Robbie Robertson's more famous work, the soundtrack from The Native Americans was very much an impulse purchase. I'm pleased to say that it's a heart-warming and extremely soulful soundtrack which reaffirms both his songwriting prowess and high level of musicianship. By no means to everyone's liking, but certainly an intelligent and courageous album that merits further investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Plains relaxation, 3 Aug 2001
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
Robbie Robertson opens a window to a world of soaring eagles, endless skies, soothing winds and pure freedom. A native american by birth, he brings together a potent mix of wind and rhythm to capture a deep and intense mood of relaxation. Close your eyes and you are transported to a calming haze deeply redolent of woodsmoke, tree-sap and light breezes. Listen again and you will be soaring high above mountains, drifting on soothing thermals and spiralling chord-work.This is a cracking album for those seeking a different way to relax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truth and beauty, 2 Mar 2003
I recently purchased this CD and it immediately became an all-time favorite. It has a mix of sounds, with some performances by Pura Fe, Kashtin, and Coolidge, but the entire CD is imbued with a peaceful spirit that transports me to another time and place, a place of simplicity, truth, and so much beauty.
There are tracks that have fabulous guitar work by Robertson (like "The Vanishing Breed"), but the songs that captivate me the most are the ones in which he does the vocals. His voice delights me and the 2 spoken pieces, "Words of Fire, Deeds of Blood" and "Twisted Hair" are riveting.
The arrangements and musicianship are perfection. This is simply one of the most beautiful CDs I've ever heard in any genre, and that covers a lot of territory, as my tastes are varied.
The booklet insert, with poetry and imagery that compliment the CD info and lyrics is a joy...not to be missed are the insightful "tidbits" written by Robertson...(who would have known those were crickets ?)...the entire package is a work of art, exquisite and incredibly moving...and makes me grateful to be alive, and able to listen, learn, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 9 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
This album works on so many levels it may be unique. From historical narrative to present day perspective, it packs a punch, making Native American traditions alive and vibrant. This is partly achieved through an enchanting and exciting blend of ancient chants and rhythms with modern experimental studio tricks e.g. the last track with its background chorus of crickets. 'Mahk Jchi', probably the most well-known track, is incredibly moving with a vocal and beat that goes straight to the heart. (On YouTube you can see how this song even translates superbly into a Dutch choir piece.)

In conjunction with the music, the lyrics are spellbinding, whether telling of past events ('Ghost Dance') or current adventures ('Skinwalker'). In addition, it is recommended that you buy the album with the sleeve notes rather than just download the songs, for they are beautifully rendered, contain a lot of information and contribute hugely to the experience.

You don't have to be a Robbie Robertson fan to love this - I'm not - but he has done the world a huge service by bringing together such a range of talent and presenting this richness for all to appreciate. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gold, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Chris Taylor (NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
For me, this is one of the great overlooked albums. A coherent concept album full of great tunes and an entrancing atmosphere. I hadn't listened to it in a while and put it on again recently to discover depths to it that I'd previously missed. "Ghost Dance" is a stand out - plaintive cries to a throbbing back-beat. "Golden Feather" sounds like a melody you've always known, while "Words of Fire..." and "It Is A Good Day to Die" speak to the plight of the Native American Nations. If you liked Avatar then buy this, it's the authentic, compelling voice of a people trampled by the onward march of "civilization". Respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 26 July 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
Full of soul at amazing atmosphere its the nearest thing to RR's first solo album.
I really enjoyed the album, it has a haunting sound that you wont be able to stop listening to for a while!
Ant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Jun 2011
By 
Barry Spall (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
Only recently got into Robbie Robertson solo material as I bought the outstanding "Clairvoyant" Thought I would give this one a try and was really impressed.
Excellent blend of native american vibes with a bluesy feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive and thought provoking, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
L just simply loved this album and once again purchased it .There is real feeling and a deep sense of the spiritual.Being Irish I already have empathy for the plight of native Americans .Sadly the same greed shows in our modern world powerfilled freebooters riding roughshod over the less able.Its a Good day to die says it all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 7 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
Music for the Native Americans is a really nice fusion of Amerindian music with a modern rock beat. Shaman rock! Great music to start the day with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... because I heard one track on the radio and liked it, but I think the album is a ..., 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Native Americans (Audio CD)
I bought this because I heard one track on the radio and liked it, but I think the album is a bit mixed. Maybe it will grow on me.
I bought a used copy which was inexpensive, I was very impressed with the vendor, Hospiscare Shops Ltd, because they shipped quickly and the quality of the Cd was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music For The Native Americans
Music For The Native Americans by Robbie Robertson (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews