Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.86+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2001
When I originally purchased this CD, I wondered what it would be like, as I have performed in it, and watched the film, and I was astounded to say the least at the pure brilliance of this recording, and how it portrayed the characters emotion. The voices/accents were particuarly commendable especially the Artful Dodger - Brilliant!! I would reccomend this to anyone who has either seen it and liked it, loves musicals, or anyone who enjoys listening to good soundful music!!!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2003
This is the revived version of the classic 'Oliver' musical that was based on 'Oliver Twist' by Dickens. It is a triumph! I absolutely love it! With music that lifts you up and stirs the emotions. We are invited to follow Oliver, a small timid orphan, on his journey in search of love. Along the way we meet such wonderful characters as Fagan (played by Jonathan Price), the artful dodger, Nancy(played by Sally Dexter) and the terrifying Bill Sykes (played by the wonderful Miles Anderson). It is truley a heart warming story that is told so beautifully as only music could! It is like one of those films that you can watch over and over again - each time you listn to it you find something new and wonderful! Don't let faffy school productions put you off such a beautiful musical! Top class!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
This was bought as a present for my granddaughter who is taking part in a school production of 'Oliver' soon.She is delighted to have received this and says it is helping her with preparation for the show, later this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I find this a brilliant recording. made by the original cast. Lionel Bart is one of the greatest songwriters this country has produced, and this recording does his music justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I've bought my children up listening to this music at home and in the car on days out. we have all enjoyed Oliver for many years so it evokes lovely memories for us as a family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just love the songs from Oliver, this cd is brilliant. Love the cover, its a cut put London skyline, quality of recording is excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
:)Play was excellent success, children really enjoyed it, they were all stars. Used CD for rehearsals. :0 XXX xx xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Only bought as i had a part to learn, not my kind of thing but is okay if your into this musical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
We first saw this show with some of our children back in 1994 and bought the CD to relive that fantastic production, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. It has been played many times.

Fast forward to 2010 and we took our eldest granddaughter to see the latest production at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane in July.
It was every bit as good and we enjoyed it just as much.
Another powerful production and magical, magical performances of these much loved songs.

Therefore I have bought a second copy of the CD for her to listen to.

Every piece is a gem made memorable by the performances we have seen and the brilliant music and lyrics. What fun!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
its a very good production
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)