Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey to a state of wisdom
Standing Stone is a tremendously focused piece of work, and what it's focused on is the story it has to tell. That story is told in another form in the Standing Stone Poem, an original epic tale marked by a very distinctive tone that combines narrative compression with verbal gusto. One can almost see McCartney up to his elbows in adjectives, throwing them into a...
Published on 3 Mar 2000 by C. Cleveland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good classic outing from Paul McCartney
This is a great cd that came from Paul McCartney that grows on you the more you hear it .
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Robert Lismore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey to a state of wisdom, 3 Mar 2000
By 
C. Cleveland (Dryden, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Standing Stone is a tremendously focused piece of work, and what it's focused on is the story it has to tell. That story is told in another form in the Standing Stone Poem, an original epic tale marked by a very distinctive tone that combines narrative compression with verbal gusto. One can almost see McCartney up to his elbows in adjectives, throwing them into a bubbling pot on the stove with glee in his eye, and serving the resulting dish to his guests with several flourishes. And this image captures, for me, something of the experience of listening to the music as well. But it is not necessary to read the poem first-- I had been listening to the music in fascination for at least six months before I read the poem. The music itself is action packed and adventure filled, and communicates itself with no wasted gestures. Every note, theme, tempo change, and instrumental color has a purpose, and conveys emotional images which progress from chaos through a magical journey which ends in a resolution which has nothing to do with rest, but with traveling onward in a transformed state. It is a journey through high adventure to a state of wisdom. The theme of the work is how the human capacities for wonder, curiosity, and perseverance can win triumph from the forces of darkness. It is about how victory can be achieved by wits, and courage, and good timing, rather than swords and gore. It is also about what the prize for victory is--about love in peace. McCartney has always been naive in the best sense of the word--neither ignorant nor cynical, but open to experience, willing to be affected. That naivete, combined with his considerable musical ingenuity and exuberance, have produced a series of musical scenes painted with equal delicacy and power, and united by haunting melodies and a strong narrative drive. I have really never heard anything quite like it before, and recommend it to your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Standing Stone" Stands Alone, 17 July 2001
By 
Topaz (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Perhaps I shouldn't admit that the CD cover photography caught my eye first, but there you are. However, listening to Sir Paul's opus is a massive experience of thoughts and images. I, too, have not yet read the poem because the music itself tells the story. Not being the least bit musical myself, I am overwhelmed by the fact that a work as expressive as this was produced by someone who doesn't read or write music, even after all these years. Sir Paul is truly a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good classic outing from Paul McCartney, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
This is a great cd that came from Paul McCartney that grows on you the more you hear it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and this beautiful collection is a genius having some fun as only ..., 6 July 2014
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
The man is a genius, and this beautiful collection is a genius having some fun as only he knows how...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul McCartney's Standing Stone, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Surprisingly good composition from someone who is more and best known as a band member from The Beatles. A combination between (serious) classical music and somewhat like an original soundtrack. It contains various types of spheres so I think it's like a musical journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars redrider, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Congratulations paul along with all concerned in the making of a truly wonderful cd. Pauls melodic prowess
Shine like a light throughtout and the finale is just beautifull moving and uplifting to the spirit and we really get an insight on pauls love and humanity I defy
Anyone not to be moved. Buy and just enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 2 Oct 2014
By 
P. Dawson "pogdiwsn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Not for me can't find anything in it shame I had high hopes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Cochrane, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Some obviously like this but not to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give your ears a real treat!, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
This delightful orchestral masterpiece has marked Paul McCartney out as a very talented composer, and storyteller through music. To fully appreciate this music, you have to read the poetry that comes with it. Indeed, the opening movement has all the power and chaos that represents the moment all beings are created, and then from this chaos comes order, in the form of a huge crescendo into a C-major chord. The "Human Theme" that follows the growth of cells is another fantastic moment.
I see Standing Stone as a wonderful follow-up to Macca's premiere orchestral work, the Liverpool Oratorio McCartney: Liverpool Oratorio(which also has some delightful moments). I also see Paul McCartney as, maybe, one of the greatest English composers of our time. Buy this recording, and give your ears a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's been there before, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Standing Stone (Audio CD)
Its not so strange that Paul McCartney has dabbled in a non rock area-as far back as 1966 he was given a commision to compose some music for a rather daft film called The Family Way and of all the Beatles he learned most from George Martin.
However as one reviewer states here "buy Revolver or Rubber Soul instead---don't waste your money"-this has to be the stupidest comment ever as the main audience for this kind of thing is the Beatles fan/collector.
Judging this blind and heard without prior knowledge as to what it is the music is very close to that of Charles Ives-the Grandfather of Americana.It could also be Penderecki in parts-both these composers used massive orchestras and choirs.
The booklet includes the prose written by McCartney as program notes-the sounds made by the choir are not these words and are closer to wordless (oohs and aahs)
A few of McCartney's paintings are shown as well as his own explanation of what its all about and the research he did for the prose and that this work is the result of 4 years.
Like the History Channel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul McCartney: Standing Stone
Paul McCartney: Standing Stone by Sir Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews