Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The outstanding recording of the Triple Concerto
While most listeners will be most familiar with Beethoven's symphonies, he left a vast range of work which explores human emotion and the human condition. His Triple Concerto for violin, cello and piano was written in 1804, after his deafness had plunged him into the depths of depression and at a time when he had begun to rediscover both his confidence and his desire to...
Published on 4 Nov. 2004 by Budge Burgess

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good recording and performance, but beware!!
I bought this as it is a good pairing of two pieces I did not own on CD. Both the concerto and Fantasia sound pretty good and the performance is excellent.
However this is a live recording and I generally avoid these due to the (usually) poorer sound quality, but mainly due to the intrusive coughing/shuffling background noise from the audience. Also because of the...
Published on 4 Nov. 2007 by londo mollari


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The outstanding recording of the Triple Concerto, 4 Nov. 2004
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beethoven: Triple Concerto (Audio CD)
While most listeners will be most familiar with Beethoven's symphonies, he left a vast range of work which explores human emotion and the human condition. His Triple Concerto for violin, cello and piano was written in 1804, after his deafness had plunged him into the depths of depression and at a time when he had begun to rediscover both his confidence and his desire to express himself. It is a work which will tug at your emotions on many levels. A gentler piece of music than the symphonies, it has no less depth and power. The balance and contrast of the three solo instruments demands more concentrated listening than the symphonies, which, once you are familiar with, you can often allow to wash over you as background music while you read or write or relax. The Triple Concerto is at its most rewarding when you shut your eyes and listen to the performance.
With the release of a new recording by Warner http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/2564606022/omnigadrumcom03 - with Aimard, Zehetmair, and Hagen - I was inspired to revisit this production. Daniel Barenboim, Itzak Perlman, and Yo-Yo Ma are all outstanding musicians in their own right. Moreover, they are performers, never better than when challenging themselves with the vivacity and spontaneity of a live performance. This remains, for me, the finest recording available (though I would hasten to add, I have not heard them all, and my choice might be more personal than authoritative). The three of them achieve a wonderful balance despite their individual ability to dominate a stage. The immediacy and dynamism of the performance really comes across. The music is an evocation of the human spirit. It is uplifting to hear something so beautiful. It does leave me lost for words.
The Choral Fantasia (written in 1805) offered on this disc is well executed and, while it does not equate to the power and potency of the Choral Symphony, it is, yet again, an affirmation of the human spirit. A wonderful production which has to be listened to in peace and comfort ... preferably with a small tumbler of Talisker or some other malt whisky to hand. Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good recording and performance, but beware!!, 4 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Beethoven: Triple Concerto (Audio CD)
I bought this as it is a good pairing of two pieces I did not own on CD. Both the concerto and Fantasia sound pretty good and the performance is excellent.
However this is a live recording and I generally avoid these due to the (usually) poorer sound quality, but mainly due to the intrusive coughing/shuffling background noise from the audience. Also because of the applause at the end which ALWAYS starts before the final bar of the piece has drifted into silence, (some members of classical audiences love to show how clever they are by being so familiar with a piece of music they can dive in first with the OTT applause!) not allowing the listener to sit in peace and quietly reflect on the music just enjoyed.
If you look closely at the picture of the CD cover, you will just be able see at the bottom the words "live recording". Nowhere on the text details in the product description does it say this. Amazon's product details can be brilliant, but they are never consistent and for some items they are sadly lacking in any detail at all. It is a pity it would be such a huge task to have a consistency of detailed description for every item. Sigh, in a perfect world.
I know this is a personal gripe and may seem trivial to some customers but if you dislike live recordings don't buy this. If that does not bother you then I can recommend this CD as a good interpretation of two truly brilliant Beethoven masterworks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be heard!, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Triple Concerto (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous recording of a great piece of music.
If you have not heard it before you should take time to llisten to it. It is a wonderful combination of orchestra, piano and voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting pairing of Beethoven works, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Triple Concerto (Audio CD)
I love this CD. I was looking for a recording of the Choral Fantasy, and was delighted to find it paired with the Triple Concerto - two valuable pieces for my collection on one disc. The huge added bonus was the actual live recording, in 1995, by a group of my most loved soloists. Can't think what took me so long to find it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice recording, 27 April 2014
By 
K. Powles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Triple Concerto (Audio CD)
Having heard the pieces recently at a local orchestral concert, I felt I wanted a recording to play as required at home & this 'filled the bill'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Triple Concerto (Audio CD)
love Beethoven - no need to say more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Triple Concerto
Beethoven: Triple Concerto by Itzhak Perlman (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews