Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate cake concerti
The bottom line with Nigel Kennedy's recording of these two classic concerti if that, if you like his style, you'll love this CD; if you don't, you won't. A full debate about the controversial violinist is well beyond the scope of an Amazon review but, basically, he has done to Mendelssohn and Bruch - the most common pairing of concerti to appear on a single disc - what...
Published on 13 Oct. 2005 by DocMartin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bruch is such a beautiful concerto and I am sure there must be another ...
.Didn't quite come up to expectations . It seemed a little hollow at first, not having the panache which Nigel always gives but it is an early recording and I probably expected too much. Bruch is such a beautiful concerto and I am sure there must be another recording out there which can pip this one
Published 18 days ago by J. Fleming


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate cake concerti, 13 Oct. 2005
By 
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
The bottom line with Nigel Kennedy's recording of these two classic concerti if that, if you like his style, you'll love this CD; if you don't, you won't. A full debate about the controversial violinist is well beyond the scope of an Amazon review but, basically, he has done to Mendelssohn and Bruch - the most common pairing of concerti to appear on a single disc - what he has already done for several of the violinist's repertoire, most recently the Four Seasons, which is reinterpret it in his own style. This either involves giving it new freshness and vigour or going totally over the top, depending on which camp you inhabit; there appears to be little or no middle ground.
Personally, I find Kennedy's style enjoyable only in very small doses - he does wring every ounce from the music, but it is rather like having chocolate cake the whole time: occasionally for dessert is nice, but one really wants something savoury for the other courses. One movement I can manage, two whole concerti give me heartburn and hyperglycaemia. So, if you like your classical music in yer face and on the max, this is for you; if not, can I recommend the technically brilliant and subtle Vengerov at less than half the price, the Hugget for those who want to know what it actually sounded like originally (nothing like Nigel, despite any claims to the contrary) or the sadly rare Zuckermann for those who want the definitive versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war horses for the violin, 9 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
these violin concertos are among the most popular in the repertoire so it is a crowded field out there. These are early Kennedy but his style doesn't seem to have changed much. He can play prettily enough if he chooses but he seems to generally prefer a cool classical restraint (his playing, which rather belies his behaviour on stage) and purity of intonation over overt emotionalism or rich tonal colour. I find this makes his recordings easy to live with (I exclude his astringently rhythmic Vivaldi from this generalisation) but those who prefer a sweeter heart-on-sleeve approach would no doubt look elsewhere.

For myself, I find his recordings consistently reliable and this one fits with the general pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in my opinion the definitive recording, 15 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
This cd really is a wonder. the mendelssohn and bruch concertos have never received such wonderful treatment as kennedy lavishes, in this all-round flawless cd. the pace of the pieces is just perfect, never rushed but never languid, and the technical skill of kennedy is, as ever, second to none. the intonation is absolutely spot on in all 3 performances. as for expression and tone, in my opinion no-one does it better than kennedy. just listen to the opening bars of the mendelssohn for evidence
those who dismiss kennedy as all image should listen to this and rethink. he really is a violin genius, and theres no clearer indication than on this disc. i cannot recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality recordings., 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
First class recordings of first class music played by a master. efficient service, what more can you ask for? Pattie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bruch is such a beautiful concerto and I am sure there must be another ..., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
.Didn't quite come up to expectations . It seemed a little hollow at first, not having the panache which Nigel always gives but it is an early recording and I probably expected too much. Bruch is such a beautiful concerto and I am sure there must be another recording out there which can pip this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable to listen too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun. 2014
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording., 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Unsealed CD with the cover damaged, which is a pity but the disc was undamaged. Exquisite renditions of Bruch's achingly beautiful and Mendelsohn's vibrant concerti. Joyous. Totally joyous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Great. I got this for my Mum as she loves Nigel Kennedy and she is thoroughly enjoying it. I haven't heard it myself but I know that Mum is pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kennedy at his prime set the standard, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Kennedy at his prime set the standard and this CD proves it I just enjoyed it and will continue to play it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos
Mendelssohn, Bruch: Violin Concertos by Jeffrey Tate (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews